We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY AND GREAT SERVICE!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 Harden Blvd., Lakeland, FL 33803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lakeland
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“GREAT STAY AND GREAT SERVICE!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels by Marriott and am typically satisfied with the service. I must say that this was one of the best locations I have had the opportunity of staying at. The service was great. The hotel was clean. The customer service was superior. There were several groups that stayed a the hotel, which is expected during the summer. One group in particular was a bit unruly and made hotel guests uncomfortable with heavy public drinking, loud music for the entire weekend in the lobby and pool area. The group almost made it impossible for other groups to enjoy their visits because at one point they blocked most of the pool area off and prevented other hotel guests from comfortably enjoying the beautiful pool and jacuzzi. To help the situation, the hotel staff did have to step in, and that was greatly appreciated. Once the hotel management stepped in, I must say that my stay improved 100%.

The breakfast each morning is delicious. They offer pancakes, waffles, some of the best eggs I've tasted in a while, fresh fruit, and several othe options. The breakfast was far greater than what I would have expected. The rooms were well maintained. I had the pleasure of using the wash room and was satisfied with that experience as well. The overall stay, staff, hotel, and service was great. Also, the hotel is located in front of a great outdoor mall that has a movie theater attached. There is a grocery store and a Target across the street. Restaurants are next door. Pretty much everything you need is in close proximity to the hotel without having to get on the highway or travel far. In the past, I have blogged about hotels and I must say that the service, cleanliness, and overall experience is close to that of the 5 star hotels I have stayed at in the past. Also, the hotel is about 40-45 mins from Disney World and probably 30 from Tampa which is not too bad, especially if other hotels are booked up. It's a nice getaway. Thank you for the experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
12
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Giving it a one star is being generous. Not a family friendly hotel at all. The General Manager does not even know what customer service even remotely is. She is not well groomed, is very unprofessional in her ways and really needs to revisit what the first Marriot core value is - PUT PEOPLE FIRST! Her abusive tone, mishandling of room charges, and poor interpersonal communication needs to be addressed by Corporate or Larry Blumberg & Associates management team who are the owners of this establishment. It is well demonstrated by her untrained front desk staff that she does not groom her own personnel as well. The breakfast was horrible, but the cooks were very personable. They close the lobby at 9 PM which is where the business center is located, and if you do not leave the lobby they threaten to call the police. I don't understand why they have 12 tables, a fireplace and a large screen television there if you are not allowed to use them. The front desk clerk told me she did not want to have to clean any mess up. We were watching a baseball game on the television. This hotel obviously CANNOT handle multiple groups of people. There were at least three different groups of people staying at the hotel at one time. Poor Poor Poor.......and i am a Marriott Gold Reward Member!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional Director of Operations, LBA Hospitality at Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment with regards to your recent visit to the Residence Inn Lakeland. It is only when a guest informs us of an issue that we can take corrective action. We take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. I can assure you that we have reviewed your comments with the General Manager and her staff and have taken the appropriate action including retraining where necessary. I hope that, on your next visit to the area that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence and display to you our true “Legendary Hospitality”

Spurgeon Nisbett
Regional Director of Operations
LBA Hospitality
spurgeonn@lbaproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Legoland. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, but busy. There is a huge shopping complex behind the hotel and an Olive Garden is going on next door. There is a Courtyard directly next door and a Chili's just a few more steps down. The hotel is what you would expect from a Residence Inn. Nice room, plenty of space. We arrived as Taco Night was shutting down and breakfast the next day was acceptable as well. You do have to make a U-turn to get to the hotel if you are coming from Tampa on the toll road. And don't forget your rolls of quarters - the toll both is 50 cents and unmanned without a change machine. The pool was a perfect fit for our needs as we could unwind after a long drive. Legoland was a short drive the next day - we checked out and left after breakfast and were at the park before they opened at 9.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

As for Residence Inns this is just average. It comes with free wifi, free breakfast, free parking, along with a suite. Nothing really jumped out about this hotel. My main issue was what they called a fitness room. It was more a running room. The good part of this hotel is the location. There is a nice little outdoor mall within walking distance. Plenty of choices for food but not so much for shopping. My concern was where to eat which we had no issues with when we got there.

All and all a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here two nights to attend a Detroit Tiger's spring training baseball game and Legoland. We had a two bedroom suite that worked perfectly for putting our kids down at a reasonable time for exciting vacation days. The pool and pool area is very nice for enjoying the warm Florida air outside. There was also a sperate deck adjacent to the pool for relaxing outside. The Publix supermarket is across the street. There is also a mall and many restaurants nearby. Would definetly stay here again. Just a side note if you have small children, there is a very nice playground in downtown Lakeland - Barnett Family park.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stay at Marriot properties often and I love them. I was on a business trip on March 12th 2012 and the Hotel we were booked at was set up by the event planner. Well it turned out that the hotel had bed bugs. So I politely checked in to the Residence Inn and had a wonderful stay. I had a studio suite. It was very clean and comfortable with lots of room and great ammenities. I travel to this area often and this will be where I stay from now on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The suite setup of Residence Inns works well for us as a couple with a small child, and this one is a solid representative of the brand. We stayed here during a 2-day visit to the new Legoland Florida - it's an easy 30-minute drive or so to the park past some very pretty homes and scenery.

We were really impressed by the staff - they were friendly, efficient and helpful across the board. When we checked in, we were given a room that smelled of stale cigarette smoke, and the front desk quickly accommodated our request to be moved. Our replacement room was clean and nicely appointed. Like all Residence Inns, it has a kitchenette with full fridge, microwave and dishwasher, which always comes in handy for snacking, takeout leftovers and washing things like souvenir cups and coffee tumblers.

The outdoor pool area looked appealing, although it was too cold to swim while we were there. The lobby and breakfast area are cozy and inviting. The free breakfast and dinner buffets weren't quite up to the quality we've enjoyed at other Residence Inns, but they were OK.

The hotel sits on a busy highway and backs up to a shopping mall and a number of chain restaurants (Longhorn, Chili's, Macaroni Grill, etc.), with a Target and a Publix supermarket across the street. While this is great in terms of convenience, you also may have to deal with some road noise. Request a room on the mall side of the hotel, if possible.

If we visit Legoland again in the future, we'll probably be back for a second stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland

Address: 3701 Harden Blvd., Lakeland, FL 33803
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lakeland
#11 Business Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for comfortable Lakeland, FL hotels, you'll love the Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland. Our all-suite, extended-stay Lakeland, FL hotel combines the comforts of home with a passion for making every guest feel welcome. We're ideally located near The Lakeland Center, Lakeland Airport, Lake Myrtle Sports Complex, Legoland Florida, and Joker Marchant Stadium - the Detroit Tigers' spring training home. We're also close to Publix, Amazon, and Stryker. Midway between Orlando and Tampa, Florida, our hotel in Lakeland is a perfect home base for trips to Busch Gardens, Sea World, Disney, and Hard Rock Casino. Our spacious suites offer free Wi-Fi, fully-equipped kitchens, separate living and sleeping areas, and sofabeds. Start the day with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Unwind at our Manager's Receptions with complimentary light fare or BBQ, as well as beer and wine. And bring your pet - we're pet-friendly. Few Lakeland hotels can match our attention to detail, so book a suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Residence Inn Lakeland
Lakeland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.