We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knockout corn on cobb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish City Grill

Fish City Grill
1485 Town Center Dr, Lakeland, FL 33803-7966
863-683-1243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 372 restaurants in Lakeland
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Knockout corn on cobb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

They spice up the corn and grill it. Absolutely tasty, I was impressed. The grilled salmon was also good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    29
    18
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FRIED PICKLES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our kids loved the fried pickles and we loved the fish and chips - the service was great - the atmosphere was fun - the place was clean and within walking distance to shopping and the hotel - YUM!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good first impression!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This restaurant has an excellent choice of foods including a completely separate gluten-free menu ( great for my daughter) and a decent section of "non-swimming food" for landlubbers. I had a cup of their gumbo. Delicioso! Dark, fragrant roux, not too much spice and very satisfying both in taste and quantity. I also had the shrimp po-boy sandwich and it was also quite good with perfectly sauteed shrimp and a garlic aoli dressing. My wife had clam chowder which for Lakeland was the BEST we have ever had here being topped only by the chowder we get in Portsmouth, NH. They also serve a "roasted jalapeno pepper soup" which my daughter had, and I sampled, and it was surprisingly mild and quite tasty. Granddaughter had red beans and rice with Andouille sausage and it was fabulous; she ate it all.Server seemed a little perplexed at times and food was not delivered to everyone at table at same time so a little improvement there needs to happen but it was busy and she was obviously stressed. Four people in party and we were out the door at $58.76 plus tip! I also like the idea that this restaurant supports local charitable causes on the first Tuesday of every month with a portion of their evenings proceeds going to that charity. I applaud and support them for extending a helping hand to the locals and making it a continuous and ongoing activity for them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Good Eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a pleasant dinner with a group of nine. Service was excellent until it came time to pay and then our server disappeared for about 15 minutes. The favorite dishes from our group were the Shrimp and Andouille Mac & Cheese, the salmon with veggies, and the roasted jalapeño soup. Amazing!

We ate during Happy Hour and enjoyed house margaritas, Hurricanes, beer on tap and several tasty fried appetizers. The fried pickles and oyster nacho's were early favorites.

I am not from Florida and the Fish City Grill was clearly a winner and warrants a return trip. The menu even has a few great selections for those who are not fans of seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“For us not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We found this place to be below average. Weekend visit for late lunch while out shopping. Could have been a bad day--seemed like employees were in a mood....poor service, and food was just ok-sorry

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish City Grill also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Fish City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.