We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but a chain restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
3700 Lakeside Village Blvd, Lakeland, FL 33803-7949
863-686-7500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 372 restaurants in Lakeland
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, but a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I am from the north so I did not realize this was a chain until we got there. But overall had a very pleasant experience. Staff was friendly but not terribly attentive. Food was very good and there was a large selection. The food is considered Tex Mex and that's what this is. But still yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    76
    58
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We go here on a regular basis and have always had excellent food !! I try to have something different every time I go and have never been disappointed. Service has always been excellent. They are busy quite frequently but we have never waited longer than what they said. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the enchilada selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visit this place frequently. I love to mix and match the enchilda options I have not had one that disappointed me.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We pre ordered for a group of eleven and also had the banquet room. Following their caterers advice we had ample great tasting food with plenty of variety. The appertisers, chips, salsa, and quezo were great and the service very good. Also the price was very reasonable - much less expensive than if we had all ordered off the menu instead of using their catering option.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“National Margarita Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went for National margarita day and we lucked out. the normally priced 10$ margaritas were all $5.95 that day. On top of that, if you sit at the bar or on the patio, you can get $3, $4, and $5 apps, like nachos, bacon wrapped shrimp w/ jalepeno, and single tacos from 5pm-7pm daily. Definitely check it out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.