We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a large group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
3700 Lakeside Village Blvd, Lakeland, FL 33803-7949
+1 863-686-7500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 382 Restaurants in Lakeland
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We pre ordered for a group of eleven and also had the banquet room. Following their caterers advice we had ample great tasting food with plenty of variety. The appertisers, chips, salsa, and quezo were great and the service very good. Also the price was very reasonable - much less expensive than if we had all ordered off the menu instead of using their catering option.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    72
    22
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“National Margarita Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went for National margarita day and we lucked out. the normally priced 10$ margaritas were all $5.95 that day. On top of that, if you sit at the bar or on the patio, you can get $3, $4, and $5 apps, like nachos, bacon wrapped shrimp w/ jalepeno, and single tacos from 5pm-7pm daily. Definitely check it out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great first visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was pleasantly pleased with this eating establishment. Our server was prompt, courteous and efficient. The restaurant is very well decorated AND clean.
Very nice variety of food items. Our meals were of good quality - delicious - and prices were acceptable.
We will be going back next chance we get.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Americanized food, fair service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to Abuelas for the first time. Hostess was polite and provided seating as requested. Our server answered questions about the menu. They brought thin chips and 3 different salsas. None were too hot for me. Server brought food in a timely fashion, but two of four orders were not as requested. The person who assists with bringing food from the kitcken, dropped a saucer of salsa on one of our party. She didn't seem to know what to do. I asked for a damp towel. She brought wet napkins.

The cuisine is not authentic Mexican, but the atmosphere is pleasant enough. They have a front porch where customers can have pets while they dine.

It was an ok experience for me. Not good enough that I want to return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton TN
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Crap food for that price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Don't know why I expected authentic Mexican food from a chain. Wont do that again... Bland, bland bland, need I say more? Nicely decorated, but thats all I can say good about it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.