We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away in a corner of the Merchants Walk Shopping Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Forno

Il Forno
3615 S Florida Ave, Lakeland, FL 33803
863-607-6030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 372 restaurants in Lakeland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hidden away in a corner of the Merchants Walk Shopping Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Il Forno Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria is a consistently good place for lunch (or dinner).
Hidden away in a corner of the Merchants Walk Shopping Center (across the parking lot from Hobby Lobby) you might not notice the place it if you aren't looking. However, if you like good Italian, this is a place you will want to check out. We invited some friends over from Winter Haven to meet us here for lunch on 05/17/2013.

Always a good selection on both the lunch and dinner menus. I frequently get Lasagna, but having had it earlier this week, I went for their Meat Calzone ($7.49). Wife had her usual of Penne Pasta with Chicken and Broccoli ($7.99). My Calzone was large and filled with sufficient amounts of cheese and meats. (I have leftover for tonight.) Next time we’ll split one. You can add a small side salad for $0.99.

Lunch can be had for as little as $5.00 (pizza slice & drink) up to about $10.00. Dinners are naturally more but larger portions and include the salad. Lunch would be a $ while Dinner's $$.

Service was fast and friendly and our waitress kept our drink glasses filled (always appreciated).

When we want Italian, Il Forno is always on the list of possibilities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    27
    17
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visiting Lakeland outstanding authentic Italian food awaits you at IL Forno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a local shopping center is a little piece of Italy.
If you want to bring the family and kids in a casual environment this is it.
From the incredible soup to an outstanding Shrimp special offered and chicken francaise.
Every dish or pizza that walked by our table had us wanting a taste.
The service was impeccable and the owner who visits tables really made you feel comfortable.
Don't miss them gem tucked away in the Hobby Lobby shopping center.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food anytime I have been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very good mom and pop restaurant. Any time I have gone the food has been excellent along with the service. I have gone both for lunch and for dinner and the food has always been prompt and very tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simple and casual... the best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Surprising to find some of the best Italian food outside a "major" city, even bigger Florida cities... This fun restaurant is tucked into a shopping center (lots of free parking) and has a simple, clean, friendly atmosphere. It is family friendly, but can get noisy... in a good way. The staff is amazing and the food is beyond excellent. Each dish is prepared to order, and most special requests can be accommodated. Mic, the owner, is on site and takes a personal interest in all his diners... we love going there and all the different dishes we've tried... a can't miss if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little mom & pop Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of our favorite local eateries. Always fresh. Larger portions (enough for leftovers). Great pizza. Great for families with kids. Even good (appropriate) music. I detected some Dean Martin in their line up of Italian singers/songs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Il Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.