We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brogues Downunder

Brogues Downunder
621 Lake Ave, Lake Worth, FL 33460
561-585-1885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 233 Restaurants in Lake Worth
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Live music, good drinks, good service. It is always fun to go there. ;-) Down town Lake Worth is small but with really nice places to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average/Decent Food. Nothing great or bad to say.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food was fairly basic and was good. Service was good. Nothing too special about Brogues, but if you want bar food and a beer, this place is just fine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A Very Good Neighborhood Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

One night my wife was in the mood for a hamburger which is unusual. We went to Brogue's Down Under to try it. It opened as an Irish bar and then changed hands and now has an Irish-Australian theme. The happy hour runs from 11a.m. to 7p.m. For house wines and well drinks. We've eaten there three times since we first went. The burgers come with fries lettuce and tomato and some onion. The burgers are excellent and the service rate. Our checks before tax and tips have run from $35 to $45. We each had two drinks so I consider this a very reasonable place to eat. It's in downtown Lake Worth on Lake Ave. There is side street parking and parking lots behind it. Try it you'll like it

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Totally enjoyed everything about Brogues....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had dinner here by chance and it was absolutely FAB!!! Husband loved his chicken curry dish,my friend had the shrimp skewers and I the beef skewers......we all just about licked our plates clean!!! Everything was great tasting and cooked to perfection. The chef is great here and all that work in the kitchen that helped prepare our meals. We had a new waiter "Don" who was in training and did a great job and we also got to meet the owner who filled us in on the whole operation. We would have never guessed that they had a large banquet room and there was a private party going on. We will be back for sure and wish them the very best!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Used to like this place, heard new owners in the last year. Food has really gone down hill. Maybe it was the night, but the fried fish tasted like older burn oil.
Fine location on Lake Ave. always jumping! Parking as always a problem, especially on the weekends and in -season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroguesDownunder_12, Owner at Brogues Downunder, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi ,
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Our Fish and Chips is our most popular on the menu. Our oil is changed once a week. So not quite sure what the problem was. Hopefully you will give us another try.

Thank You

Tania Gerst
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brogues Downunder also viewed

 

Been to Brogues Downunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brogues Downunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.