We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bagels ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toojay's Gourmet Deli

Toojay's Gourmet Deli
419 Lake Ave, Lake Worth, FL 33460-3806
561-582-8684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 218 Restaurants in Lake Worth
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Just Google it
new jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best bagels ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a wondeful place for breakfast. I've never had a bagel before with so much in toppings (poppy seeds) that ir seemed like there were 2 tops instead of a top and a bottom. Delicious. Wonderful service as well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very rude hostess - OK food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was a waiter at a very nice restaurant for over 15 years, and know a thing or two about the restaurant business. I was also the manager for a few years. It is VERY important that the hostess greets you with a friendly smile and makes you feel welcome when you first walk in. The hostess at this restaurant --- a miserable older woman --- made us feel like we were bothering her. When she tried to put us at a table near the back, I asked her very politely if we could sit somewhere else. She did seat us at another table, but she gave me an attitude, pretty much threw the menus down on the table, and walked away. No "Enjoy your dinner" or "Someone will be right with you" from her mouth. WOW!!!! I still have no idea why we stayed. But we were hungry, and tried to pretend it didn't happen. The food is just OK. They could offer us free food for the next 10 years, and we would still never go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Consistent, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've been going to this restaurant for years, and are never disappointed - whether we are eating there or taking food out. The menu is extensive, the food is always good and the staff works so hard to please customers. The deli options are vast; the soups, salads and main dishes are consistently good. This is not an expensive restaurant, and the value is good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Open on Xmas day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

As this was the only restaurant open on Xmas day and it also did a Turkey dinner, my other half loves Turkey, we decided to give it a go.
We had to wait about half an hour for a take as they, as you can imaging, it was really busy, so half an hour was fine.
Sadly when we went to order they had run out of Turkey, on Xmas day, who did the ordering, as I said earlier, it was the only place open in Lake Worth, so we ordered other main courses, they food was ok, no more than that, big helpings and fairly cheap, so you can see why people go here, and go out with doggy bags.
It does seem to attract a slightly older clientele.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice for a change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Not the best restaurant I've ever been to but great for a sandwich , breakfast or a light lunch . Well worth the money

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toojay's Gourmet Deli also viewed

 

Been to Toojay's Gourmet Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toojay's Gourmet Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.