We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable & clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green Gables Inn to your Saves list
Green Gables Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21380 US 27, Lake Wales, FL 33859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“comfortable & clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Clean and friendly. We were on the way to Orlando.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We were visiting relatives in the area and stayed 2 nights at the Green Gables Inn. The room had a King Bed, TV, Bathroom, Small refrigerator and microwave. Room was clean but the smell from the "carpet-fresh" or what ever they were using to freshen up the room was a little overwhelming. We had to open the windows to air the room out for a while.
The staff was friendly. They served coffee and juice with pastries every morning.
Pool was clean. Nice lake out back for fishing.
This is a clean basic motel. Good for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAtraveler-4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

My family gathered here as we began a family reunion in June, staying 2-3 nights in four rooms. It is an older property, but VERY CLEAN, including the guest rooms and the bright and sunny lobby/breakfast area. The pool was sparkling and we had it to ourselves. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and the continental breakfast was average - fine.

The rooms in the section we stayed open up to the pool via sliding glass doors. This was perfect for swimming with kids (or for anyone) and made trips to the pool almost effortless.

The refrigerators/microwaves in the room were a very nice touch..

For the rate, this was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My husband and I and our 20 month old daughter visited family in Lake Wales in June 2007. Green Gables was located conveniently close to where we were spending most of our time, right on Route 27. Given the close proximity to the major highway, our room was surprisingly quiet (at least from street traffic), though the walls are a little thin and we could hear our neighbors and what sounded like people hanging out outside. The room was clean and had a small table with two chairs, which came in handy for dinner. We got takeout from the restaurant right next door, which was great food for a really great price. We rented a crib from the inn, which turned out to be a pack n' play. I liked that much better than the rickety cribs you usually get from a hotel, though the cardboard-like "mattress" seems pretty uncomfortable. Also, I fortunately had packed one of our own crib sheets, otherwise my daughter would have been sleeping on the mattress itself - so bring your own crib bedding! The bathroom was clean, though the shower head was hung so low even I had to duck to wash my hair. They gave us a Florida Visitors package upon check-in, which had some sample size toiletries, snacks and tourist attraction information. They gave us plenty of towels and soaps/shampoos. Very courteous staff. We'll definitely go back there when we visit family again. One thing to note is that the property is divided into two buildings. One building faces the pool (which we didn't use, so can't vouch for that but seemed fine) and the other one is adjacent to that, but away from the pool. We were in the one that was not on the pool. I would think the one on the pool might be louder, but then again, I'm not sure when the pool closes so it might be a non-issue for the evening. Just something to know when making a reservation. We weren't offered a choice and as this was our first time staying there, didn't know to ask.

  • Liked — Great for the price
  • Disliked — No frills - not necessary for our trip though
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn

Address: 21380 US 27, Lake Wales, FL 33859
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Gables Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Green Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.