We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the desperate stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green Gables Inn to your Saves list
Green Gables Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21380 US 27, Lake Wales, FL 33859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Miami Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only the desperate stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

When our WALLET DISAPPEARED from the room, the management immediately went into DENIAL MODE rather than investigate, or at least humor us and tell us that they would investigate.
We ended up filing a police report, just to force them to respond and to keep a better eye on their security, for the sake of future travelers.
According to the ratings on Hotels.com this dump does not even make one star!
Walking in to the room, there were hairs on the bathtub ledge, and the bathroom chrome was not clean. That is what was visible- imagine what was lurking.
The towels were grungy, the cute folding it in a bow could not hide it.
The state of the bathroom made the rest of the room kind of creepy since rugs and bedspreads conceal alot.
Breakfast: coffee styrofoam cups were 4 oz cups. Food was packaged fast food, no fresh milk- it was pretty lame.
But nothing was as bad as the management just shrugging off the missing wallet.

Room Tip: watch your wallet and maybe choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First impression i was weary. But when I walked into the lobby and it was super clean and smelled wonderful I knew it would be fine. The owner was super friendly and they have easy truck parking for any other driver out there. If you need clean, affordable, and a good breakfast. This is it. No signs of bugs and the pool was clean and nice to relax in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Rather than go 3 more miles to the Holiday Inn (and 3 more miles back in the morning to our destination, Bok Tower Gardens), we tried Green Gables (and yes, the gables are even lit up at night in green neon). Pleasant management, quiet (after turning off fridge) but dark room at the back overlooking greenery, a bit old and musty, but 2 big pluses over many more expensive places: a window that opens and a bath plug that works. A bit of white paint, a couple more pillows, and we would gladly return. Good steakhouse next door.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Im a truck driver which means i had to park in back lot...after walking in pouring rain to front desk the clerk was very accomidating...walked to room in pouring rain w baggage in tow only to find the room had noe sheets or blankets so he gave me another room. Upon entering the room now soaking wet i found a sandwitch in microwave. The bathroom towels were stained and the shower had luke warm water(turned hot water fawsett on only)...they were knocking on my door 30 minutes before checkout and when asked for a 1 hour extention they refused....i paid 70 bucks for 12 hour stay that was less than acceptable....never again. The pictures must be from 1980.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Green Gables Inn several times when I visited the Frostproof, Florida area. I have always had a great time. The rooms are wonderfully priced. They could use a bit of renovation but they are working on that. The staff is great and considerate. Location is super considering there is really nothing in the Frostproof area worth staying at for events and this is an easy drive. Super restaurant located in parking lot with extensive menu and full bar (be careful, though, they close early and sometimes without warning when it's slow). I would highly recommend this hotel to someone seeking decent hotel accomodations.

Room Tip: The double queen rooms are bigger and seem to be in better shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our first night started with a cockroach the size of Texas and a frog in the room. Although the owners are nice, the overall experience was not good. I bought a can of wipes and used most of them cleaning up before I touched anything. And I am not usually one of those types. Poor cleaning. Will look for another option next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I raved about this place two years ago and was happy to visit again. However, I agree with the other recent reviews. I was somewhat disappponted because the hotel didn't seem to have - I don't even know what to say - the same owners were there, and they were friendly, but that was about it. It seemed a little run down & kinda uninviting. My husband & I had driven down from New York for my sister-in-law's funeral. I was happy to leave when another relative offered us lodging.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn

Address: 21380 US 27, Lake Wales, FL 33859
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Gables Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Green Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.