We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Ranch is moving forward....finally!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo to your Saves list
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 River Ranch Blvd, Lake Wales, FL 33867   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“River Ranch is moving forward....finally!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been a timeshare owner for the last 10 years at this beautiful location (Westgate River Ranch) and we are so glad that we hung on to our investment because it is really starting to pay off for us. The staff is quickly ironing out the early on glitches that we use to face when we first purchased here.

We just spent the last 2 weeks on property and we were thrilled to see so many improvements and happy families enjoying all of the amenities. Because I am a female veteran (and I represent veteran families in the Sarasota/Manatee and surrounding areas), we are always so proud when we attend their fabulous rodeo and see that our military veterans and God are both honored and recognized!

But please understand that a dude ranch is NOT for everyone! If you need to constantly be going somewhere and doing something to keep you occupied, and you need to be plugged into a network at every moment of every day, than you need to go somewhere like NYC for your vacation.

Here at the Ranch, you will encounter God's beauty at His finest. In the morning, you will see and hear the sounds of the Ranch waking up (the buffalo, the horses with foals, sand hill cranes, cows, peacocks, steer, etc.) and then begin to see activity unfold as the guests and the employees begin their different activities for the day. For some tourists; that might be on the golf course, in a boat on the River, or on the back of a horse. :) But it's all there for you, right on site. Remember to bring whatever you need because you are 30 miles away from the nearest Walmart. :)

At dusk, you will see the magnificent skies rolling towards the west where the sun is just beginning to gently set on the horizon to signal the end of another River Ranch day. The quietness was so very comforting to us as we prepared to bed down for the night in the luxurious cabins...our home away from home.

We took over 1,000 pictures during these 2 weeks and each one is more beautiful than the next. We checked out all of the various lodging choices and we loved the idea of the "glam camping". We'll have to try that next but each night, they were already filled to capacity. And they are going to add tee-pees to the Ranch this fall. How cool is that? Who has ever gotten to sleep in a tee pee?

Please keep up the good work West Gate, and we would be remiss is we didn't say "thank you" to the Ranch's wonderful GM (and Pastor) Mr. Ray Duncan and his beautiful wife Jodi for taking care of our family's every need.

To Terri in the General Store...you are an asset to the property. The cowgirls at the front desk were very pleasant and a real hoot. To their sales and marketing department (Lisa, Dottie, etc.) thank you for your knowledge and cooperation to help us to reach out to all of our military veterans...and to Miss Camille (Glam Camping Concierge Services) you are the bomb!!!!

Our only suggestion we have is to "better open up the lines of communicate between all of your various departments". We would hate to see you GROW too fast and not continue to give great services to your visitors and owners. And please bring back the owners lounge/breakfast so that we can hang out together and share stories of where we are from and how we are going to spend the day.

Room Tip: There is something available for everyone's budget here. As always, have the staff show it to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    24
    10
    13
See reviews for
72
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went glamping with my family for spring break earlier this year, March 14-16. It was awesome and we had a blast! The glamping area is great, a nice gated area with private bathrooms for each glamping tent! Staff will deliver you breakfast each morning (4 cinnamon rolls, fruit, coffee and orange juice). That was a pleasant surprise. We brought our own breakfast but never had to eat it. We also brought our own smores stuff, but they gave us a great kit when we checked in. We brought our own bikes and the whole area was bikeable. We did go on the hayride and that was a little boring, wouldn't do that again. But the rodeo was really fun. We went horse back riding, on an air boat, swam in the pool, kids went zip lining.....I don't even know how we fit it all in. You get a king size air mattress and two twins, all elevated off the ground. There is a mini fridge and AC, oh so important in Florida. What was so cool, was that the kids could run around, and they were safe. They could walk over to the fenced area and pet a horse, which was right next to our tent. This was definitely the best way to go "camping". We will most likely go back in two years for spring break again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went on a vacation with my husband, mom and 3 kids and they have so much to do here! Great value for the money spent! Every day there is an activity from the adventure park to the rodeo petting zoo marina etc.! I mean it's so quiet and relaxing and you don't want to leave! They have a party on Saturday after the rodeo and the kids dance while the parents watch and sit around the campfire that's offered every night to roast marshmallows and tell stories. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from the city and really let go and enjoy yourself! By far well worth it!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The set up of this place is great and seemingly very organized. When we arrived however the "adventure park" was closed even though it was within business hours and there were no signs stating when staff would return. There were horses tied up in several places unattended for decent periods of time. I paid for a pony ride for my son but never got one as there was no one manning the pony ride station during several attempts. The trail ride was nice and one of the guides was friendly and talkative which was nice. I just felt like there was so much potential for a great experience that was untapped possibly due to short staffing. I'm not sure. We did enjoy seeing the animals and riding the horses.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
99!
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I brought a European friend for a 2 night visit for an Old Florida countryside experience. The entry to Westgate gives the impression that the property is expansive and accessible but all structures and camping sites are miniature, bunched together versions and built along the entry road, in plain view of passing traffic and there is nowhere to walk other than along the paved road. The petting zoo was small and contained few animals. The zip line was closed as well although it made no difference as it runs about 30 feet. Trap and skeet shooting was closed. Trail rides were unavailable except the day I departed, but too late as 165 children had booked all the horses. It rained the entire time I was there, through no fault of Westgate, but all the attractions were closed and they provide NOTHING to do in inclement weather, not even a lending library or a few DVDs. The front office manager agreed this is a problem that hasn't been addressed. The General Store sells dried up pizza and burgers and a shelf of camping goods plus a disturbing number of toy guns. The gift shop next door remained closed the whole time despite it's posted hours. Tiny swimming pool and no towels provided that I was aware of. There is a saloon on site with random hours that doesn't serve food and the only place to eat is Westgate's Smokehouse Grill, which dishes up petrified, previously microwaved meals. It was truly the most godawful meal I've had in years. The cook had a laugh at my complaint and offered no apology when I politely spoke to him about the poor quality. It's a good half hour drive to find a restaurant anywhere in the area and I wish I'd brought food for the mini fridge.

Our room in the hotel section was comfortable although very dark and the toilet seat would have benefited from a change some years ago. A bunch of drunk salesmen insisted on having loud conversations outside our room in the middle of the night and weren't inclined to keep it down or move on. In chatting with another couple there who are Westgate timeshare owners, they remarked that the River Ranch site falls below the standards of other Westgate timeshare sites. Westgate River Ranch & Rodeo was an expensive shock and I was embarrassed to have brought my friend there. Their brochures and website present an unrealistic picture. Spend your money elsewhere unless you want a cramped, chain experience with no rustic authenticity and little concern for customers.

In closing, I was given a very small refund on my nearly $400 bill for two nights (room only),and the F&B Mgr promised I'd receive reimbursement for our meal (sans wine which was also dire, but go figure) within a few days. Getting it was like pulling teeth and more than a month later I received partial compensation after chasing it down again.....miraculous as they'd written an incorrect zip code on the envelope even though I'd provided full info twice.

Just a little cautionary tale if you're considering this place.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in is at 4pm...they neglect to tell you everything fun for the kids (adventure land) closes at 4pm...check out next day is 10am and adventure land opens at noon, kids didn't get to rock wall climb, zip line, mechanical bull, petting farm...tried to make reservation for horseback next morning before we left, stables also closed at 4pm couldn't make reservation..showed up at 8am next morning to stable had one slot for 1pm....VERY DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had driven past the entrance to this resort on a couple of occasions and wondered who would ever go there considering it is in the absolute middle of the State of Florida not close to anything else, but I sure am glad that we decided to take our daughters there for a weekend their birthdays. The Ranch is the perfect place to come relax and unplug, as they offer everything from guided horseback trail rides, to swamp buggy tours to a full rodeo on Saturday nights. The girls had a blast and we simply could not do everything we wanted to do in one weekend, so we will have to go back.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the 2 bedroom cabins make sure that they don't have a connecting door to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo

Address: 3200 River Ranch Blvd, Lake Wales, FL 33867
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 1,700 beautiful acres in Central Florida and just an hour from Orlando, Westgate River Ranch provides fun and adventure for the entire family! The perfect backdrop for your vacation getaway, Westgate River Ranch boasts Western-themed accommodations, an abundance of recreational activities, and unique opportunities for families and friends to spend quality time with each other. The wide range of recreational activities at Westgate River Ranch include horseback riding, nature hikes, fishing, swimming, boating, airboat and swamp buggy rides, trap and skeet shooting, hayrides, cookouts, a petting farm and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate River Ranch Hotel Lake Wales
Westgate River Hotel
Hotel Westgate River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.