We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME TIME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate River Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate River Ranch to your Saves list
Westgate River Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 River Ranch Blvd, Lake Wales, FL 33867   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME TIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wholesome family Fun time! Great Way to break the routine and lots to do. my husband loved that we were stay within budget and my 4 year ol daughter is still talking about it 1 week later. we will def. be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Saloon they have on site :) GREAT TIME
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are excited to hear you had a “fun time” at the Westgate River Ranch Resort. Our Resort offers a great amount of activities for the whole family to enjoy. It’s also pleasing to know this experience formed awesome memories for your daughter. We would love for you to come back soon.

Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After spending 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend with family and friends, I can say we really got to experience the Ranch and many of its activities. Besides the numerous pursuits offered, from skeet shooting, horse back riding, zip lining and boating, to a real Rodeo on Saturday night, there are numerous accommodations available. We were a group of 22 families with kids of all ages, and were able to enjoy the resort in different ways: some of us more rugged families opted for basic camping while others went more upscale in 'glamping' style. Some stayed in the lodge, while others rented cabins or larger families chose the 2 bedroom fully equipped cottages.
The cabins, or as they were called 'rail cars' were apparently a recent addition and were perfect for my husband and I with our teenager- fireplace, separate bedroom with a very comfortable kingsize, and 2 bunk beds. The cabin came equipped with small kitchenette area w full sized fridge, and there were 2 large wall TVs.

Room Tip: If you are a family with no more than 2 kids, then the 'rail' cabins are a great place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re glad to hear you and your party of twenty-two was able to enjoy the numerous pursuits offered as well as the different unit accommodations. Our Resort offers a wide range of fun-filled activities friends/families can come together and have a fun filled outdoors vacation experience in addition to experiencing a live Rodeo every Saturday. Please comeback and visit us soon!

Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two weeks ago my family, neices and nephews spent the day at the ranch. It was superb.
Many interesting and fun things to do.
From boat ride and zip line to horseback ride and more. It was well worth the time.
Will encourage everyone to try it once and the experience will definitely make you want plan a longer stay and share with friends.
Bob, Jodi and team were all wonderful. Very friendly and informative.
Activities team were very responsive and patient.
Experience a time to remember......

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We’re so glad you had a good time at the Westgate River Ranch. Our Staff main goal is to ensure all of our guests and owners have a memorable experience. It’s good to hear they provided you with informative and friendly service. We have so many activities on site that there’s something for everyone to do. Our team awaits your next visit!

Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

So, where to begin. On a Friday or Saturday night (especially Sat) this is a great resort for kids and family. They do a rodeo on Sat night and other things. On the other days of the week it is absolutely dead and the closest town is around 20 miles. So you're captive. One restaurant. It's not bad and the prices are fair. Everything else is pay extra for and it's not cheap. Considering that to trade into this is around $1000 a week, or to rent directly can be $300 a day, you'd think at least the internet would be included but no. It's another $9.99 a day. I travel a LOT. I own over 20 timeshares. It is incredibly rare in this day and age to have any place (even hotels) not have open internet as standard instead of ripping you for every penny they can. For me...if the internet is not included I automatically give the worst rating I can to a place. Hence the zero. If they had the net this would've been a 9-10 on Saturday, 2's for the rest of the days due to nothing to do.
At least with net I could have relaxed and got some work done on the porch but not at $10 a day. One last thing. The 1 bedroom units are excellent. Bigger than most timeshares. Real nice. The studios are super tiny. Actually smaller than the crappiest hotel room you can think of.

It's too bad. This place could be great. As an aside, if you're going to golf... Lake Wales CC is amazing. A Donald Ross course about 20 miles away. Cost $20. Round, cart, driving range. Unbeatable.

Room Tip: ONLY take a 1 or 2 bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying With the Westgate River Ranch. We greatly appreciate your fair and honest feedback. Our Westgate River Ranch Resort offers a wide range of activities for all ages to enjoy. Although there is an additional fee to participate in our activities we do offer discounted Adventure Park Passes which allows our guest to enjoy certain activities of their choice thought out there vacation. We certainly understand the frustration you may feel from not having complementary Wi-Fi. However one of our popular features offered is the ability to unplug from any technology; which helps many of our guests have a better vacation experience. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment and frustration you may have felt during your stay. Nonetheless, we are thrilled to hear you thought our one bedroom accommodations were “excellent” and our Resort is great for family vacations. It would be our pleasure to have you visit again.

Sincerely,
Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

One member of our party was disabled so we requested accessible facilities in the Saddle Club. Not only was our 'cabin' beautiful and spacious, my friend commented that they were the best accessible facilities she had ever used. Mr Tommy even unlocked the gate at the Petting Zoo so we could drive the golf cart closer to the pets for my friend.The airboat driver and the swamp buggy driver also helped her get into the vehicles. It was a wonderful weekend, as usual. My husband and I come to River Ranch several times a year in our RV, and we are never disappointed. Thanks, Westgate, for making it even better!

Room Tip: So many choices of accomodations…..from rustic to glamorous! Just ask…our cabin faced the buffalos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thank you for your response. We’re so thrilled our staff was able to provide you with a memorable stay. We love to make our guests feel like they are at home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Our Harley Owners Group just completed another successful and fun weekend at Westgate River Ranch. We have been going there for years. The sales staff do a great job of blocking our rooms. Jodi White and her staff at the front desk are the best! They are efficient, pleasant and very helpful. The rooms, cabins as well as camping facilities have recently been renovated and are the best. The General Store is open until 11 p.m. and is well stocked with groceries, supplies and firewood. I cant wait until my nest visit.

Room Tip: The cabins are wonderful if you have a large family or a few families sharing. Rooms by the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We’re so thrilled you had a successful stay with us. It’s great to hear our staff was able to exceed your expectations. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I rented a 2 bedroom lodge that was amazing! Wrap around porch with buffalo to watch grazing while having my coffee!
The rodeo was so much fun.
I would highly recommend trying all the amenities from skeet shooting to the saloon party!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate River Ranch, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your response. We’re thrilled you made use of all our facilities! We feel honored that you would recommend us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate River Ranch

Address: 3200 River Ranch Blvd, Lake Wales, FL 33867
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate River Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 1,700 beautiful acres in Central Florida and just an hour from Orlando, Westgate River Ranch provides fun and adventure for the entire family! The perfect backdrop for your vacation getaway, Westgate River Ranch boasts Western-themed accommodations, an abundance of recreational activities, and unique opportunities for families and friends to spend quality time with each other. The wide range of recreational activities at Westgate River Ranch include horseback riding, nature hikes, fishing, swimming, boating, airboat and swamp buggy rides, trap and skeet shooting, hayrides, cookouts, a petting farm and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate River Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate River Ranch Hotel Lake Wales
Westgate River Hotel
Hotel Westgate River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate River Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.