We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best company/factory tour... worth it if on the way to somewhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Florida's Natural Visitor Center

Florida's Natural Visitor Center
20160 US Highway 27, Lake Wales, FL 33853
863-679-4110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 10 Activities in Lake Wales
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not the best company/factory tour... worth it if on the way to somewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family makes a point of finding factory/company tours when we travel to other states. We have two kids 8-9 yrs. This one was not super exciting for any of us. Very small and not able to see any "real" working action. The visitor center is across the road from the actual factory and company. The 14 minute video was good... will give them that but beyond that if they are going to try to attract more families and not just senior citizens I think they need to do a bit more. They gave our kids a coloring book... but our girls would have loved to have purchased a t-shirt... none in kid size beyond like a size 4. Our daughter kept looking for a souvenir and pretty much everything she picked up was made in China and yet the movie tries to brag about "local, local, local for the company"... how about the visitor center has USA things. Would not go out of our way for this factory/company tour but we can cross it off our list for something we did, it was free and we did not buy any of the made in china items as we try to support our local country, lots of great things made here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must stop if you're looking for more info. on oranges!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we were driving through all the orange groves in the area, we had a lot of questions. We stopped here to have them all answered. The short film was very informative. We enjoyed this place. There were different orange trees on the property to view and their growing season. We also enjoyed sampling the different flavored juices. We also picked up several boxes of juice nuggets.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent learning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Not only do you get to sample some of the best juices in Florida, but the staff has all the information about oranges you may want to know. The 20 minute video gives you a real good idea of what it takes to grow a crop of oranges and process them into juice. They waste none of the orange. Juice, animal food, furniture polish, and fertilizer are some of the uses.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stop by the grove house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Like everyone has said this is a nice little free stop off. We watched the movie, looked around, and sampled juice. They had some oj/fruit juice blends we can't get in our area which were very good. They let my kids go out and pick valencia oranges from the trees around the grove house. They ladies in the house were very helpful and friendly. The citrus coated popcorn is very tasty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A good way to spend a free 1/2 hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are out in this direction it is well worth stopping. The visitors centre is made up of a theatre showing how the juice is made ( approx 15 mins) and an area that has numerous films eg on history, nutrician, packaging etc, there is also a shop and an area you can taste the juice. Not a bad way to spend a few minutes but don't go out of your way to get there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida's Natural Visitor Center also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to Florida's Natural Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida's Natural Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.