We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay for Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2953 Ridge Way, Lake Wales, FL 33859   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
NYC
1 review
“Great Place to Stay for Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The staff was very courteous and accomodating. The rooms are very clean as well as the pool. Only downside is the location which is easy to bypass on the road since the hotel is in the back of a shopping complex.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    37
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
24
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

From check-in to a very early breakfast, the staff at this hotel obviously likes their jobs! We stayed at this hotel just one night as we traveled within FL to enjoy the Easter sunrise service at Bok Towers. We were also celebrating our wedding anniversary. The online service reserved a quiet corner room just for us, and the check-in staff congratulated us on our anniversary upon arrival. Newer hotels are always nice, but this one does have very nice linen and the bed was very comfortable. The room was clean; also quite spacious and we were able to bring our bicycles in without crowding ourselves. Although we felt the price was a little high for a room next to a Home Depot, it is peak season, and the pickin's are slim right in Lake Wales.
Even though the buffet doesn't start until 7AM on Sundays, it was ready and plentiful before 6:30 AM on Easter Sunday. The buffet hostess came to our table to make sure we had what we needed and gave us each a chocolate egg as she wished us Easter greetings!! Genuine and sincere staff = great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We spent only one night here but would have enjoyed staying several days if time permitted. We wanted to visit Bok Sanctuary in Lake Wales and wanted a place nearby to stay. We had a suite which included a sitting area with a convertible couch, a chair and ottoman, a table and 2 chairs, a bar sink, small fridge and small micro. The bathroom was large with granite counters, large mirror, great lighting and huge walk in shower. The king bed was a pillow top and very comfortable. Pillows were the standard not so great pillows you find everywhere and the only down side of the hotel. We were on the 3rd floor and even had a view of Bok Tower. There is a nice dining room where the above average breakfast, which is included in the price, is served. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, fixings for sausage biscuits, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, tea, coffee and to die for warm cinnamon buns. Front desk staff was very pleasant. There is also a small nice pool and a small exercise room. For some (not us) the location might be a down side as the hotel is set back from the main road behind a gas station with convenience store, next to a Home Depot and within walking distance of a Publix. There is construction going on behind the hotel where a Kohls and other stores are being built. None of those things were an issue for us and there was no noticeable noise from the construction which was on going while we were there. You get good value with a beautiful room with an easy drive to the many things to do in beautiful Lake Wales. Thanks to the people who reviewed this location before us which helped us decide to stay here. Whenever we return to the area this Holiday Inn has our business.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

we booked this hotel online for trip to the 12 hours of Sebring race. It was farther away then we thought (50 minutes -1 hour) but it was reasonably priced. Other race fans were there as well.
We were very pleased with our room and the way the hotel was kept. Staff were very helpful.

Rooms are nicely furnished.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Well located with restaurants nearby as well as a shopping mall with cinemas.
Breakfast was good, well maintained. My only complaint would be 2 out of 3 mornings there was no yogurt.
Conveniently located for visiting nearby Bok Gardens and just a short run along the highway to other destinations.
Very quiet at night, did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

I stayed here on a recent business trip and was blown away. It is a very nice new hotel, but the extras make it something special; big 37" LCD TVs, mini-fridge and microwave, DVD player in each room and a complimentary movie library available to guests. I have never seen this level of "extras" in a mid-price hotel.

The rooms are very quiet, as all the walls appear to be concrete. Very nice beds/mattresses, and the furniture seems very upper-end as well. The staff was friendly and the place was spotless (it is only a few months old). Standard HI Express breakfast with the cinnamon rolls, and the usual amenities like exercise room, pool, business center, etc.

I highly recommend this place if you are in the area. I know I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We've been coming to Lake Wales for years to visit friends and have been looking forward to this hotels opening. Since we travel with our dog we have had very limited choices and how have found our 'home away form home". The rooms are big and comfortable, the breakfast goes above and beyond (especially the cinnamon rolls) and the staff is the most friendly, wanting to please group of people we have had the good fortunate to meet in our travels.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyyone in the Lake Wales/Winter Haven area and our dog recommends to all her fellow canines.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven

Address: 2953 Ridge Way, Lake Wales, FL 33859
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express - Lake Wales is a brand new 82 room, interior entrance, hotel that offers a hassle-free guest experience, that will make you feel like you are visiting home instead of being on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales n - Winter Haven Hotel Lake Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.