We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local SeaFood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Fish Bar & Grill

Crazy Fish Bar & Grill
802 Henry St, Lake Wales, FL 33853-4502
863-676-6361
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Lake Wales
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Local SeaFood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We asked our Air boat tour guide from Alligator Cove Tours were the locals eat their Sea food, he said that they go to a small place off the Hwy, down the road called Crazy Fish. We pulled in and were friendly seated and served quiet well, the menu and food was excellent, very original, not like the Restaurants in Orlando. We felt very comfortable there. The prices were good, portions were big, and flavor was perfect. Everything was made from scratch.... we really enjoyed ourselves... Carlos L.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAlpin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped here because the parking lot was full, certainly there is nothing about the building that would make you want to come in. Inside it's the usual Florid seafood décor; lots of nets and cute fish things. But the food was terrific. My linguine with grilled shrimp was perfectly cooked with a rich, buttery sauce and lots of grated cheese, worth the extra pound I gained. My partner's salad with grilled grouper was moist and tasty. And the key lime pie we shared was smooth as silk and so light. That alone is worth the visit. Portions are a good size. Service was reasonably fast considering they're so busy. The hostess and waitress both were memorable personalities, also efficient and attentive. I wish we had an excuse to go back that way because I'd eat here again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good but not great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ordered the seafood gumbo, very good; the scallops basket, good but a tiny bit overcooked; and the grouper basket, too dry from over frying. The slaw and fries that came with the baskets were good. The atmosphere was cute inside, plenty of seating. We went after a visit to Bok Tower, it was about 4:30, we were hungry as we had no lunch. More people started to arrive as we ate our meal. Staff were slow to clean off tables after the dining patrons left, usually not cleaning until someone came in and requested the table. Very quite, as jukebox only, and I notice a server that came on duty before we left who started to play songs. Staff very friendly! If I lived in Lake Wales, I would visit a couple times a year. Add a glass of wine and our meal was $50, a bit on the expensive side for what we got.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hard to Notice but well Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ate lunch here two years ago by chance and always wanted to go back. Were driving by in slow traffic, looked down the hill and saw a lot of cars in parking lot and "funky looking" building that was hard to see because of a viaduct but decided to try it. The inside is not plush but is colorful and we had fried fish and salad and they were delicious. After driving by it several times I finally found it again and it was great again. This time we had salads and the large serving of sautéed shrimp, scallops and calamari on my salad were plentiful and cooked perfectly as was the large piece of broiled grouper on my wife's salad. If you want fresh, perfectly prepared seafood, this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Crazy Fish Bar and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant when we want fresh fish. When you walk into this restaurant you walk into the nicest people that work there. Then you decide what you want off that menu and I guarantee you that you will think they went out and caught it right then and there. It is that fresh. A great place to take friends and family to when they are visiting Florida. Try and get there early because it is not a big place. You will not be disappointed if you visit here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Fish Bar & Grill also viewed

Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 
Lake Wales, Central Florida
Lake Wales, Central Florida
 

Been to Crazy Fish Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Fish Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.