We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visit to Old Florida” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Johnny

Catfish Johnny
2396 N C 470, Lake Panasoffkee, FL 33538
(352) 793-2083
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Visit to Old Florida”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not too far off of I-75 on C 470 lies a touch of Florida history. Catfish Johnny offers deep fried catfish plus other treats form the fryer. This is a pleasant place to visit...a trip back in time. The food? Maybe a little over cooked, but the atmosphere makes up for the cuisine shortcomings. Worth a visit for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

3in my party had all you can eat catfish they were just right size, cooked well and hot. The place was standing room only but it was Friday night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Florida Eating at it's BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wanted to introduce out-of-State friends to Florida eating, and we hit it at it's best! Johnny & Pat welcome you to sit a spell and taste some of the very best catfish we have to offer. Staff was really hussling when we showed up at 5 pm on a Friday, watching them is like seeing a well-oiled machine run - a thing of beauty! I split the Seafood Platter with my friend, and still took some home! Catfish were the BEST I've ever had! Ocra terriffic, poppers - very good. Ashley served us ice cold beer, The wife had Shrimp dinner, which she said was very good too. The last in our party had the 'All-you-can-eat," Catfish platter (we thought they'd go out-of-business) but true to they're word, the fish kept on coming. Tender & tasty. As always Johnny stopped by the table to tease us, while old customers came up to say goodbye, as they were Sno-birds and were headed North. All said they'd miss him and his cooking. It was very good. Oh, and on Tuesdays they have "Musical Jam-sessions" for free.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“a must eat in lake panasofkee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

if you want to eat in a place where the people are friendly, the food is good and the beer is cold, eat here. If your lucky....and I usually am when i come down to visit Johnny is there and will sit down and chat. his eyesite is not so good...but he has a really good memory...he remembers what we talked about 6 months ago and has great stories!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Got to check this one out, you want believe how many people eat here in this little town of Lake Panasoffkee. Good food GREAT PEOPLE

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Johnny also viewed

 
Lake Panasoffkee, FL
 

Been to Catfish Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Johnny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.