We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonalbe priced but has problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Lake Mary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Lake Mary to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Lake Mary
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Greenwood Blvd, Lake Mary, FL 32746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Lake Mary
Melbourne, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“reasonalbe priced but has problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Have stayed here before but now am seeing lack of maintance. Fawcets are driping and a large crack in the window glass. The place has gone to the dogs as I noticed several rooms with constantly barking dogs. The hotel is smoke free but the smokers have taken over the pool area so others can not enjoy it without choking on their smoke. Room was very noisy as it was right on the interstate. Staff was not as friendly as before. They seemed to have the "thats just the way it is" attitude with not soultion offered. Will most likely not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lake Mary, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear pkmule,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sincerely sorry to learn that your stay did not meet with your expectations, and you can be assured that each of your comments have been taken into consideration and shared with the appropriate departments. In the meantime, we do apologize we have fallen short of your expectations but can assure that such lapses are isolated occurrences. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest.

Thank you again for your patronage, and we look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    27
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
31
26
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We live in Lake Mary and booked a room here for a family member who stayed 3/8-3/12. He raved about his room, which was a queen with the small kitchen, completely supplied with refrigerator, stove top, micro wave, all utensils. One night we noticed a bus pull up full of teenagers - the next day it was told to me that he didn't hear anything in his room - the walls are so insulated. It's in a nice tree-lined area a mile or so off Interstate 4. It is used it appears, as extended day as there are several large companies that have buildings nearby. it's generally on a street with some office buildings but close to shopping and restaurants. Based on what I heard from my brother-in-law - he loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndllakemary, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lake Mary, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your positive feedbacks on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience at The Candlewood Suites-Lake Mary. We take a great deal of pride in our operation and your comments serve an an important testimonial that we are meeting our objective and hope that your next stay with us will be equally amazing! Hope to see you soon!

Best Regard,

Frony Office Manager
Candlewood Suits-LakeMary
407-585-3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a wonderful stay. It took a few minutes for someone to become available to check us it, but that was the only negative. Had a one beedroom and a studio suite, both were of a good standard, clean and fresh with good facilities. As a Priority club member I got a coupon for some free drinks from the larder and most impressivly, two parking spaces reserved for priority club platinum members, that made my day.

I thought this was a wonderful hotel for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My family and I stayed here after Thanksgiving for one week until we had to head back to Salem, Organ. We were not expecting much at $64 bucks a night and in a small hotel, but I was impressed ! First off, the area around the hotel was neat and clean, I think we were in a business park. We pulled in late around pm and wasn't sure if the desk was open or not, but we were greeted by a nice lady. She looked very busy at the time and so it was nice that she turned to us as her top priority. Since I was a PC member, she offered us an upgrade, but I declined as I just need the two beds for my family. I usually stay in Holiday Inn's, but there wasn't any around the Lake Mary area, except for an Express. I'm glad that I picked this hotel.

The rooms were nice, the tv's were outdated, they were not flat screens, but that was ok since we had a DVD player and a full kitchen, witched we used allot. They have a DVD list at the front desk area, but the movies were older, so we just went to a "redbox". We used the Kitchen allot though. they have breakfast on the weekdays and it's free, but after 3 days of the same stuff, we just made our own bfast with eggs and sausage, mmmmm, using the stove top burners. The beds were full size, but were very comfortable. Housekeeping didn't service our room, I think it every 8 days since it was an extended stay. However, the clerk at the front desk had no problems sending up fresh linen to the fourth floor.

They offered plenty amenities. You get free washers , internet, pool, and a 24 hour store using the honor system. We didn't use everything. The pool would have been great to use, but they said it wasn't heated, so that was a bummer.

Overall, the experience was outstanding, I didn't think I would remotely get so much service for such a small price. Only downside I experienced was the pool not heated and the rooms felt a little outdated with a box TV set. Would recommend and stay again !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Very disappointed. The room reeked of a horrible smell like vomit and vinegar. Though I was on the first floor and the window opened, I wasn’t about to use it because there was no screen. I was promised several times that a screen would be put it. It never was. I was offered another room, but being disabled, it would have been a hardship having to move all of my belongings. I wasn’t offered any kind of assistance.

If I was told one more time, “it’s not my job”, “we don’t do that”, or “if we do it for you, we have to do it for everyone”, I think I would have jumped out of the window. The manager was never available, or wouldn’t talk to me, so I couldn’t even be sure my concerns were heard. My paper works which contained personal information was lost by the office, but they should no concern or gave any explanation.

I’m from the north, and expected some - kind, southern hospitality. Instead, I received the typical, self-righteous, arrogant, “oh well…..” attitude so commonly known in my area.

When I told the front desk I was checking out early and was very dissatisfied, the clerk gave me a supercilious, pompous wave of the hand, as to say by-by.

The town of Lake Mary is beautiful. The hotel is very attractive from the outside. There is a free breakfast Monday – Friday, though no one told me this. I happened to find out several days later. There’s free laundry, and an adequate gym. The best part is the 24 hour pantry/store that works on an honor system. They have a great selection of items and a reasonable to highly priced, but I liked the honor system.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCARE at Candlewood Suites Lake Mary, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear 308johns308,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We recently stayed at the Candelwood Suites for a 30 day stay - fantastic people, clean, well maintained rooms.

Will definitely stay here again. Way to go guys!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Candlewood Suites at Lake Mary. This brand is an “Extended Stay”. My wife and I stayed at this property from June 26th to the 3rd of July. We had never stayed at this chain of hotels before and we were interested in the commodities of the kitchen and the rates offered. We paid $61.00 for the room. This property features a 3 story building in a very informal atmosphere. There is a small are directly in front of the door to unload your belongings and then park the car. I will break up this review into sections given the complexity of the property.

Location, location……..
The location of this hotel is not great for someone that is not familiar with the area, it is nestled in a corporate park which houses Scholastic, Progress Energy and McGraw-Hill. This is not a hotel for tourists or for leisure travelers to the Orlando area. It is difficult to get to if not familiar with the area as it does not have easy access from I-4. It is close to commercial area which features your usual fast food places and a near-by Publix supermarket. Seven-Eleven is about 1 mile away. It is very, very far from the theme parks as Lake Mary is located on the North side of Orlando and the Theme parks on the South side of the city. To anyone who has not been to Orlando, the distances are great. While we were not in town for the theme parks we did drive there for a couple of nights and it took us an easy 45 minutes from the hotel to the theme park areas. If you are a business traveler with practicality in mind and the ease of commute to any of the corporations located near the hotel then the place is great for you. All others, head down I-4 and get a room closer to the Theme parks.

Hotel Property –
The property itself was kept clean and orderly, no garbage and the grass was kept cut and nice for the time we were there. There is a very big dip in the parking lot when entering it, be very careful – there is even a sign in the lobby that warns you of this “ditch” at the entrance to the property. The building is reasonably decorated for the person that likes to have that…we did not care for it. There are free washers and dryer and they work perfectly fine and a small gym for the guests, they feature a “Take a book, leave a book” section for the guests and the front desk also has a free DVD library which for the most part features very old movies. Nothing that a good visit to a Redbox cannot fix. The pool is small and not really aimed for any person that would like to take the time to sunbathe. My wife and I got in the pool after 4 rainy days and we found all kinds of bugs floating around and several ants roaming around the area. I also got a rash from the water. However I would like to point out that the rash was most likely because of the rain that we had the previous days.

The room –
The room is small with just the right furniture – One “recliner” chair that does not recline, your bed, one night table, an alarm clock, work desk which doubles up as your eating table and two chairs, The tv stand and 3 drawers for clothes. Upon walking into the room my wife and I detected a rather faint, stale, unpleasant smell. We attributed it to the fact that these small rooms have kitchens and people cook all kinds of things on it. It has to stay in the carpet or something. Throughout the length of our stay the smell got worse and we had to continuously open a window and leave the AC on to have the room ventilated.

It is practical with all kinds of Utensils and the like for all your cooking needs. We never used the Dishwasher, I can’t tell you how it was. Bathroom was clean and with no issues whatsoever. There is no Ice maker in the hallway, the refrigerator in the room makes the ice when you put down a small lever in the freezer. If you like to have tons of ice in your drinks and like the feeling of "Water on the rocks" (as I do) make sure that you put down the lever as soon as you walk into the room and keep it there for the remainder of your stay.

In retrospect, my wife and I agree that we could do better than that property for our next “extended stay” adventure. As this property was average and was not up to our very basic standards. Contact me if you have any more questions about this property, I’d be glad to help.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Lake Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Lake Mary

Address: 1130 Greenwood Blvd, Lake Mary, FL 32746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake Mary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Mary
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Mary
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Lake Mary 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection. The Candlewood Suites hotel, Lake Mary-Orlando Florida wins Intercontinental Hotels Group's Torchbearer Award! This award is given to the top 5 hotels who have demonstrated excellent service and quality. The Candlewood Suites hotel Lake Mary - Orlando Florida is conveniently located off I-4 and Lake Mary Blvd, exit 98. This beautiful property is nestled in the center of a lush landscaped business park, just a short walk to Scholastic Book, ATT/Cingular Wireless, Progress Energy, McGraw Hill, and many other companies. All major attractions are within 15 to 20 miles of the hotel (Disney World, Sea World, Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, MGM Studios, Animal Kingdom, Epcot, Downtown Disney, Blizzard Beach, Typhoon Lagoon and the Orlando Convention Center. Our guests enjoy free high-speed Internet, can cook a meal in their fully equipped kitchen, relax by our tranquil outdoor pool, borrow a favorite book or movie from our free lending library and purchase food and beverage items 24 hours a day from the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. The Orlando International Airport and the Sanford Orlando International Airport are conveniently located to the hotel and provide easy access to the Candlewood Suites Hotel Lake Mary - Orlando Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Lake Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Lake Mary Hotel Lake Mary
Candlewood Lake Mary
Lake Mary Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Lake Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.