We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not a Marriott property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

Save Saved
You added Orlando Marriott Lake Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Lake Mary
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
776 reviews 776 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Definately not a Marriott property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is very pretty pulling up to it and inside the common areas. The hotel rooms are another thing, upon checking we were given a corner suite, decent size room and at a quick glance seemed nice. After spending sometime and un-packing things we noticed that the duvet was filthy. Hair on it and not from your head, the mattress iteself was hard and lumpy. They changed out the duvet for us with no concerns. Bathroom was very poor condition. The shower head had so much calcium buildup on it that it was turning green. The shower curtain was not long enough to stop water from getting all over everything and the towels had seen better days.
I would highly recommend finding another hotel in the area, this Marriott doesnt even deserve a fairfield inn on the marque.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Wick1979,

Thank you for the honest feedback and I can assure you that we
take your comments very seriously and will address this today!

Thanks to your observations we can immeadiately place this room
out of service for the appropriate repairs and assure noone else will
experience these problems. Please accept my sincere apologies
and if you would like to contact me direct, I would personally like to
speak with you and assure you this will not re-occur.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, CHA
General Manager
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    80
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
47
28
10
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott during our recent stay. I was very pleased with the property. I was able to get a good rate and the property is very clean, Nice clean rooms and the service is A+. Would recommend this propert to friends and family and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
DennisM,

Thank you for the A+ review from your recent stay at the Orlando
Marriott Lake Mary! We truly appreciate you allowing us to host your
family on the next visit to the North Orlando area.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family last Thanksgiving. The hotel was a bit pricier than the ones I usually stay in, but it does have a lovely interior. Their Christmas decorations were up and they had a beautiful tree decorating the lobby. The staff was also very friendly, especially the barista who worked at the Starbucks down stairs. The rooms were average. They were the typical Marriott style with nice beds and furniture. However not all of the lamps in our room worked properly and from certain angles you could see old stains on the wall.

The toilet, however, was the real issue. When we first came in, my aunt went to use the restroom and noticed that the bowl was stained. We commented on it to room service and they pointed out that the red ring was likely due to rust deposits. Granted, rust build up is likely to happen, but in a nice hotel like this you'd think they'd pay closer attention to details like that!

Other than that, the trip was fine, although the fact that there was no continental breakfast bothered me. There was a breakfast buffet in the lobby, but it was $13 a plate. The on site Starbucks was a better option, but you couldn't really get a full meal from it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello Newstarr,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent visit to our Hotel.
I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the Holiday decorations
but was disappointed that you experienced a problem in the bathroom.
Thanks to your feedback we have corrected the issue so nobody else
will be negatively impacted!
I will also make sure our Barista is acknowledged for her very pleasant
level of service.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am a platinum with Marriott, which is their highest level. I have never seen a property with such awful beds. Also the fitness center faces the sun in the afternoon, and there are no drapes or shades on the floor-to-ceiling windows. I could not even begin to work out in there because of the blinding sun.

Will NEVER stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
DavidK,

Thank you for the comments from your recent visit to our hotel
and I truly appeciate the feedback.

Our recently renovated fitness center does not have draperies
as those were removed and deemed old fashioned! Since I have
not heard negative comments that the sun has been a problem
I will certainly look at some different options that may be available.
I am sure the time of year and day must have played a large role
with the winter setting sun. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

Your comments about a less than satisfactory bed will be investigated
but since this review is anonymous I would love to have you
email me personally so I can correct the issue in your exact room.

Please let me know if I may "Make it Right" on your next visit to Lake
Mary! And as a Gesture of Good Faith I will personally make sure you are
upgraded to the best room available and will guarantee the bed will
be up to your standards. A Marriott Platinum Member deserves a Platinum
Experience!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo,

General Manager, C.H.A.
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

bruce.skwarlo@marriott.com
407-995-7004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and made our most recent visit in late November 2012. The hotel remains a beautiful property and a friend who also stayed there at my recommendation the same weekend commented how wonderful the hotel was. The only negative to me that was not evident on prior visits was the fact that rooms with two beds contained doubles rather than queen sized beds. King bedded rooms did not offer a sofa bed so we had to double up since there were three of us in my family. This made for a poor night's sleep and I guess prior visits were either solo or two person visits since we never ran into this issue. My suggestion thus is to look elsewhere if you have a family of 3 or 4 but definitely stay here if there is 1 or 2 in your party.

Room Tip: Avoid the double bedded rooms if you have three adults in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
SilverStar092,

Thank you for staying at the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary last month and for your
positive comments about the numerous visits to our hotel.
I was excited to hear you rated us as "wonderful" in past visits but of course
completely understand your preference towards having a King Bed in your room
as well.

Next time you need a King Bed with a sofa bed please feel free to contact me personally
and I will do whatever I can to get you an upgrade if possible. If not we have a lovely
Residence By Marriott right next door which can also accomodate your bed needs as well!

Hospitably Yours.

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
407-995-7004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great location, great service, great grounds.
Staff was accommodating in getting an early check in and the request for concierge level since I am a platinum Marriott reward member. The concierge lounge had great selections of nibblers and soft drinks. They also had a paying serve yourself bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Ltorres,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and feedback from your recent
visit to the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary.

I was happy to hear you were able to check in early and that the service you received
exceeded your expectations! Please come back and visit us soon!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed that now one was available to help with our bags when we checked in. The location was fine for our purpose but I guess we expected more. Our room overlooked the roof of the convention center. The hotel was clean and orderly as all MARRIOTT hotels are. The traffic in the Orlando area is a challenge. We don't know how people live here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
TN,

I would like to thank you for your candid observations and comments from
your recent visit. We typically have Bellman scheduled from 6:30 am to
11:00 pm at night so I am not sure why you did not have that service available
to you last night! I would like to apologize on behalf of our team because this is
certainly not up to our standard nor the impression we strive to achieve.
I was happy to hear we were clean and orderly but I will assure you that we
will do better on your next visit!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orlando Marriott Lake Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

Address: 1501 International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake Mary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Mary
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orlando Marriott Lake Mary 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated Hotel in August 2011! Top Guest Service Award Winning Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Orlando Marriott Lake Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary Hotel Lake Mary
Marriott Lake Mary
Lake Mary Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.