We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad beds, poor quality for a Marriott” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

Save Saved
You added Orlando Marriott Lake Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Lake Mary
Stuart, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bad beds, poor quality for a Marriott”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am a platinum with Marriott, which is their highest level. I have never seen a property with such awful beds. Also the fitness center faces the sun in the afternoon, and there are no drapes or shades on the floor-to-ceiling windows. I could not even begin to work out in there because of the blinding sun.

Will NEVER stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
DavidK,

Thank you for the comments from your recent visit to our hotel
and I truly appeciate the feedback.

Our recently renovated fitness center does not have draperies
as those were removed and deemed old fashioned! Since I have
not heard negative comments that the sun has been a problem
I will certainly look at some different options that may be available.
I am sure the time of year and day must have played a large role
with the winter setting sun. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

Your comments about a less than satisfactory bed will be investigated
but since this review is anonymous I would love to have you
email me personally so I can correct the issue in your exact room.

Please let me know if I may "Make it Right" on your next visit to Lake
Mary! And as a Gesture of Good Faith I will personally make sure you are
upgraded to the best room available and will guarantee the bed will
be up to your standards. A Marriott Platinum Member deserves a Platinum
Experience!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo,

General Manager, C.H.A.
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

bruce.skwarlo@marriott.com
407-995-7004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    80
    24
    9
    1
See reviews for
47
27
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and made our most recent visit in late November 2012. The hotel remains a beautiful property and a friend who also stayed there at my recommendation the same weekend commented how wonderful the hotel was. The only negative to me that was not evident on prior visits was the fact that rooms with two beds contained doubles rather than queen sized beds. King bedded rooms did not offer a sofa bed so we had to double up since there were three of us in my family. This made for a poor night's sleep and I guess prior visits were either solo or two person visits since we never ran into this issue. My suggestion thus is to look elsewhere if you have a family of 3 or 4 but definitely stay here if there is 1 or 2 in your party.

Room Tip: Avoid the double bedded rooms if you have three adults in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
SilverStar092,

Thank you for staying at the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary last month and for your
positive comments about the numerous visits to our hotel.
I was excited to hear you rated us as "wonderful" in past visits but of course
completely understand your preference towards having a King Bed in your room
as well.

Next time you need a King Bed with a sofa bed please feel free to contact me personally
and I will do whatever I can to get you an upgrade if possible. If not we have a lovely
Residence By Marriott right next door which can also accomodate your bed needs as well!

Hospitably Yours.

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
407-995-7004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great location, great service, great grounds.
Staff was accommodating in getting an early check in and the request for concierge level since I am a platinum Marriott reward member. The concierge lounge had great selections of nibblers and soft drinks. They also had a paying serve yourself bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Ltorres,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and feedback from your recent
visit to the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary.

I was happy to hear you were able to check in early and that the service you received
exceeded your expectations! Please come back and visit us soon!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed that now one was available to help with our bags when we checked in. The location was fine for our purpose but I guess we expected more. Our room overlooked the roof of the convention center. The hotel was clean and orderly as all MARRIOTT hotels are. The traffic in the Orlando area is a challenge. We don't know how people live here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
TN,

I would like to thank you for your candid observations and comments from
your recent visit. We typically have Bellman scheduled from 6:30 am to
11:00 pm at night so I am not sure why you did not have that service available
to you last night! I would like to apologize on behalf of our team because this is
certainly not up to our standard nor the impression we strive to achieve.
I was happy to hear we were clean and orderly but I will assure you that we
will do better on your next visit!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really nice modern looking along with features such as a coffee bar downstairs and club lounge for all you Marriott rewards people. Great business hotel and good for families too. My room was excellent, clean new furniture etc...
I won't bore you with details since everything I experienced was really good even the bath products are spa quality

Why stay? A very good Marriott brand

Why not? If you want to be close to Disney you may want to drive further into the Disney area

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
StevenN,
Thank you for the Great comments and we are very happy that you
Enjoyed your visit to the Olando Marriott Lake Mary!
We agree that we are close enough to the attractions but certainly
On the quieter side of Orlando !

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo , C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband attended a conference here. We arrived early, but there was a room available for us. The room was large and comfortable, and we appreciated the fact that the Internet was free. My only complaint was that there was no refrigerator. Even though there was a conference, the hotel was not noisy or crowded. In fact when I went to the pool, there was only one family there. We liked the fact that there was a nice choice of restaurants within walking distance. They gave our group a very reasonable rate for such a nice place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Batmom,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to he Orlando Marriott
Lake Mary. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our quiet pool area
Despite the busy conference activities. Next time you visit please ask the front desk
For a refrigerator and I am sure they will be able to accommodate you!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very pleased with my week long stay at the Lake Mary Marriott. The real stars are the staff. During the week I had interactions with a few at the front desk, the maids, the hostesses at the concierge lounge - and all were extremely pleasant, helpful and professional. The room was large, meticulously clean, quiet and every thing worked. The concierge lounge was a wee bit of a disappointment. During the breakfast service, there were not enough tables/seats to accommodate the customers and the food/drink selection is very limited. It was a little better in the evening - fewer people and slightly more interesting appetizers. I did not eat in the lobby restaurant but did order room service a few times and it was surprisingly good (tasty, hot and on-time). [There are several very good food options (at least 15 restaurants) within an easy walk. Especially liked Liam Fitzpatrick's across the main street. Avoid Fishbones at all costs.]

The outdoor pool is sparkling clean and large enough to swim real laps. The gym is the usual small room crammed with treadmills.

The property is not particularly convenient to Orlando attractions - at least a 25 minute drive to nearest park. This wasn't a problem for me but might be a consideration if the parks are your destination.

I would stay here again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Even numbers look southwest. Odd look northeast. Concierge is on 9. The parking lot can be busy at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
MikeBoston,
Thank you for the nice review and honest feedback regarding your
Recent visit to our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your
Visit and the surrounding area attractions on the quiet side of
Orlando!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo ,C.H.A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orlando Marriott Lake Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

Address: 1501 International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake Mary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Mary
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orlando Marriott Lake Mary 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated Hotel in August 2011! Top Guest Service Award Winning Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Orlando Marriott Lake Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary Hotel Lake Mary
Marriott Lake Mary
Lake Mary Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;