We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lake Mary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lake Mary to your Saves list
The Westin Lake Mary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2974 International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Lake Mary
Winnipeg, Mb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I used Priceline for a Saturday night stay and got a good price for a very nice hotel worthy of it's 4* status. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room darkened at night for a good sleep. There are some restaurants within walking distance but we chose to use the hotel's shuttle service to anywhere within a 5 mile radius. We had dinner at The Greek Village and highly recommend it for a reasonably priced, well prepared Greek meal. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete V, General Manager at The Westin Lake Mary, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and the surrounding amenities.
We hope to serve you in the near future.

Pete Valenzuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    86
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
99
30
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Paper thin walls, rooms done late, minibar stocked upon request... Not really a premium hotel worth the Westin brand but for us thanks to our client rate it was very cheap.

Paying full price would be silly.

On the positive side, the trainee staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights. This hotel is all about convenient location, across from a strip mall with good variety of food and entertainment, and literally right off the highway that takes you to all the main towns around. The room was spacious and clean, although we never got turn down service and the maid never once knocked to replace linens during the regular rounds. We decided to skip calling the front desk, and instead only asked for new towels.
Bed and mattress were very comfortable, although they could improve the quality of pillows. I agree with other reviewers on two important points: paper thin walls and sudden bursts of hot water while taking a shower. The former was not a big deal because most guests were out during the day and returned to sleep at night. The latter proved to be an issue, especially when showing with hot water, my back got scalded and then the temperature went down never to return to a normal hot.
The lobby area is ample and clean. Did not use the gym, but noticed how unguarded the area was. Saw a whole family barefoot, the mother on the treadmill and kids lifting weights, without a single person around to warn them about the dangers of the obvious. The pool area was big, but the water in the pool was ice cold and the hot tub too small for the number of people present. Equally reduced was the number of available chairs (I counted ten in the main area, some more in the private back deck) so not very practical if you get down there after ten in the morning. People were forced to put their belongings on the floor before going in the pool.
At night, when my friend tried to place a wake up call, he had to call seven times and seven times put on hold by the front desk attendant. No hotel this size should have only one person working the desk, no matter the day or the time.
This hotel has great possibilities but there are some detail they need to tune before they can be considered a memorable destination. With so many options around, they cannot afford to be so careless with what they offer.

Room Tip: If you want to rest, book a room the farthest away from the pool area, which coincides with poor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just had the most fabulous family wedding at this exceptionally lovely hotel. Most of the guests were relatives from all over the US, Norway, Canada and Australia so it was the perfect venue for everyone to congregate at. The facilities were very clean, linens of the best quality, fresh water bottles daily and the customer service at the front desk(Anthony among many others), the shuttle service and Connie at the front bar were outstanding and since travel was such a huge expense for most of the guests, the specially negotiated event rate was very reasonable. The close proximity to a unique cluster of restaurants, shops and even plazas was much appreciated and provided options for smaller group outings, meals and services such as health and beauty needs. Congratulations to the whole team that made this experience a truly memorable one for all.

Room Tip: Let them know if you prefer to be far from or close to elevators as it can be a long walk. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete V, General Manager at The Westin Lake Mary, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. I am delighted that on this momentous occasion we were able to meet your expectations. I have also recognized the team members mentioned for their exemplary service.

Thank you for your business,

Pete Valenzuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Its a Westin. It says it is. When you enter the parking lot there is a big sign that says "Valet Parking Only" but when you pull up to the valet you are told they don't actually have valet parking - they just have the sign to keep neighboring business's customers from using the lot. Ok got it.

The lobby is expansive. There is a huge bar and drinking area- but it's empty and looks like they built it out but don't use it.

The minibars in the rooms are big and inviting - but empty.

In short they call it westin but it's more like a holiday inn express. It's fine. Does the job. But I've experienced westins as luxury and this one is anything but luxurious.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete V, General Manager at The Westin Lake Mary, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
It is always good to hear from our customers. However your comments have me somewhat perplexed.
We do offer valet parking and have the valet team at our main entrance. The. “valet parking only” sign is present in only several of our 300 parking spaces and it is those spaces that the valet team uses.
We do not have mini-bars in our guest rooms however we do have refrigerators available to guests.

I hope my comments clarified our service offerings.

Yours in hospitality,

PETE
VALENZUELA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

They have recently added valet parking to this hotel. Now when you pull into the parking lot you are greeted by signs in almost every spot near the front that these spots are reserved for the valet, when you use to pull in you could park near the door, now they are all empty except for the signs. When I pulled up to the front to check in I was stopped by someone in a cardigan sweater (not a uniform) and asked if I was checking in and wanted my keys. I wasn't sure if he worked at the hotel or just wanted my car. He was obviously upset that I was self parking as well as the other 4 cars that came while I was there.
For the hotel they have removed the heavenly shower heads and replaced them with a flow restricted type, so not much pressure any more.
Obviously the management must be brain storming, but after staying at this hotel 10-15 times a year for the past couple of years, I will not be back, because they are on track to ruining what was a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete V, General Manager at The Westin Lake Mary, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments.
It appears by trying to enhance our service with valet parking we created an antagonistic situation for our customers.
We have reviewed our decision and relocated the valet spaces to the rear of the hotel so we do not give our customers the impression that the closest parking spaces are only for valet.

Thank you for writing,

Yours in hospitality,

PETE
VALENZUELA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is okay. Nothing special, but nothing terrible. However do not be fooled by the description on sites such as Hotels.com or Priceline that describe this hotel as pet friendly. That is inaccurate. What they are is dog friendly and cat unfriendly. My wife and I drove to this hotel as the final leg of a cross country move. We had our cat with us and we were excited to finally be done.

Before we arrived at each hotel we called the hotel and verbally confirmed that cats were welcome. This hotel confirmed that they were, however we were turned away once we arrived. We spoke with the front desk and presented the voice mail from the customer service representative verifying that cats were allowed.

We were then informed that the customer service was wrong and they would be willing to temporarily waive the restriction on cats provided that we do not let our cat outside her crate for the entire three night stay.

That is the very definition of cruelty to animals in my humble opinion and we declined this less than heartfelt offer. I promptly called Priceline asking for a refund of my funds as the hotel was falsely advertised to be pet friendly. They refunded my money and profusely apologized.

This whole time I was on the telephone the front desk was taking the opportunity to poke fun at my extremely exhausted self, wife and cat. I am sorry that we did not arrive was prim and proper as some business travelers typically are, but after seven days on the road what could we possibly do?

This hotel is a disgrace, and has lost the Westin customers for life. Even if I never travel with a cat ever again I could never imagine giving money to such a disrespectful and despicable company such as this.

Room Tip: Do not try to travel with your pets here. This place is not pet friendly despite what they advertise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lake Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lake Mary

Address: 2974 International Parkway, Lake Mary, FL 32746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lake Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Mary
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Mary
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lake Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westin Lake Mary, Orlando is a sophisticated, upscale hotel near Central Florida's attractions and technological corporations. We have 14,000 sq ft of event space, free wifi, and a heated outdoor pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Lake Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lake Mary Hotel Lake Mary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lake Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.