We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lake City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Lake City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Lake City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   414 SW Florida Gateway Drive, Lake City, FL 32024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Lake City
Grant, Michigan
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice place, not too hard to find, and worth the price. The room was great. We slept really well and the morning shower worked fantastic. Breakfast was just right and they seem to be on top of all maintenance in the complex. This is a great choice for a quick stay either on the way in or out of Florida. We will stop here again in the future. Nice people work here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest The entire staff at the Redroof inn, Lake City would like to thank you for your positive and encouraging review! Our management, maintenance and housekeeping staff was very delighted and glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and had a good night sleep. Thank you for staying at redroof inn, lake city's best economy hotel. We look forward to serving your Family again and again in future. J.B.Patel, and Entire redroof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    73
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
82
71
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went here because it was on the way home in the middle of a 12 hour drive. I arrived exhausted and had made reservations on line. The price was reasonable and the outside looked good. When we arrived our reservation was missing due to a computer problem. It took a while for the very nice hostess to settle that issue. When we got to the room the mildew smell hit us like a ton of bricks. We almost left but we were too exhausted. They did call us to ask if all was well and we just said yes as we did not feel like moving. Maybe the upper floors are better. When I awoke in the morning my face was swollen due to the dirty air conditioning, mold and mildew. The room was very clean but even the rug felt damp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Lake City Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your concerns. I assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.
J.B. Patel & entire redroof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed at this motel many time in the past and every time we have a great stay. The rooms are clean and the grounds are well kept. he staff has always been helpful. Hazel was friendly and helpful. She is a great asset to the motel. Will stay every time we head to Florida .

Room Tip: Try for the coupon. Check the net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Lake City Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotel. I will make sure to share your comments with Hazel and rest of our team. Our love bug season is only for a 2 week period so you will not have to worry about them on your next visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience and staying with us every time you pass thru lake city, FL. We really do appreciate your loyalty.
Sincerely, J. B. Patel and entire redroof inn staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped in late in the evening after a long day of driving and we were greeted by Hazel at the front desk. She was extremely cordial, efficient and helpful in getting our room squared away and helping us find a late night meal close by. Our room was clean and free of musty smells that you sometimes find in a little older building. The bed was very comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. Though the love bugs were in the area, they were not a problem in our room, though it would not have been an issue for us if they had been. Overall, it was a nice little break on our trip and very good value. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for encouraging us & other guest with your review & staying with us. Our team is glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay. We are proud to have such a great staff and i will make sure that i pass on your comments to Hazel . We look forward to serving you again & again in near future. Our entire red roof staff would like to let you know that we do value our guest greatly & will always make sure to honor your loyalty.Thank you & best wishes.
J.B.Patel GM and entire redroof inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Redroof Inn is a very fine hotel. The lady at the desk was a cheerfull woman and she had a lot of tips for us. And there were lovebugs, but they are everywere , also in the other hotels in the aerea. So they can't help it! The rooms were clean en smells fresh. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review and staying with us. Very glad to hear that your overall stay was to your satisfaction. We are sorry for the love bugs, but this is one of the season were the whole town and area is full of love bugs and is very unique to this region.It is interesting to see these harmless small bugs flying together with a life span of few hours. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in near future.
J.B.Patel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not being a native floridan, I am not familiar with "love bugs" but we were told that it was "love bug season" and that "they are everywhere." That meant they were outside the room, inside the room, and dead ones were all over the AC unit by the dozens. There were some on the bed too.

The girl at the desk gave us another room. They were everywhere in there too. We were exhuasted after a long day of driving so we stayed but all those "love bugs" were a definite turn off.

We also found a dead cockroach in the corner.

This place has great reviews. This was a really surprising and disappointing result.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Lake City Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience with love bugs in the area did not meet your expectations, accept my apologies. Love bugs are also known as honeymoon or kissing bugs. During this time of the year texas, Lousiana and florida have love bugs everywhere, but are completely harmless.For more information on the bugs please refer to an article provided by tripadvisor.com for travellers coming to florida. We inform and have signs at check in to let our guest know about love bugs. We are an exterior property and we do the best to keep the bugs out of the guest rooms, but with guest moving in and out that would not be possible. There is no known pest control for them. If you are in north florida you will find them in the car, resturants, malls, Hospitals everywhere. On your next visit to lake city, please call us and if it is lovebug season we will be happy to recommend you a interior property which may have less of the problems. Your concerns will definitely give us an opportunity to train our staff how to handle the siatution during love bug season. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you J.B.Patel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staff was very helpful. Everything was neat and clean. Breakfast area was neat and breakfast was ample. Well Done!! We always have good luck with Red Roof Inns. The only rub is the location is difficult to find. We had to inquire at another motel as to Red Roof location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0663, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review and staying with us. Very glad to hear that your overall stay was to your satisfaction. Glad you enjoyed our small but nice breakfast. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in near future.
J.B.Patel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lake City

Address: 414 SW Florida Gateway Drive, Lake City, FL 32024
Location: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lake City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lake City Hotel Lake City
Lake City Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Lake City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.