We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical older facility” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lake City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Lake City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Lake City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   414 SW Florida Gateway Drive, Lake City, FL 32024   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Typical older facility”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

All in all, it was a below average hotel as far as size and location and condition. The girl at the front desk working second shift was nice enough, Some lady working first shift who acted like a Manager was very rude and unprofessional. This place was so unprofessional that they did not even tell us that they would be adding a top coat of tar to the parking lot if I would have known this I would have stayed somewhere else! There lots of hotels in this area that offer similar pricing that have to be ran better than this place was! The Continental breakfast wasn't very good but it was adequate. It is a typical older facility with a worn out look inside and out... Do not apoligize for I do not accept it!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Lake City Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, accept my apologies. Our intention to repair the parking lot was to make sure that the hotel looks beautiful and not worn out from outside. In doing so it was not our intention to give any trouble to our guest.The hotel is older, but as you can see from the other reviews we make sure the facility is kept very Clean and Bug free. We are in process of renovation were you did experience our new bedding program, new light lamps and new fresh paint in the guest rooms. During the parking lot/renovation work we made sure we only rented rooms on the side were there was no work done. At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your concerns will definately give us an oppurtunity to train our staff. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please contact us at i0663@redroof.com, to discuss the issue and we will happy to offer you a partial refund on your room. Thank you

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    74
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
71
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had stayed at this Red Roof Inn several years ago but were concerned when we read some of the negative reviews on tripadvisor. Luckily, we ignored those comments, and - seriously - can't understand the negativity (we only have had VERY positive experiences!). Be assured that this Red Roof Inn is very clean, very comfortable, and worthy of the Red Roof brand.

We were greeted at the front desk by Hazel after a long drive (and being stuck in traffic on I-75 in Tennessee after it was closed for a fatal truck wreck!). We were supposed to arrive around 7 p.m., but didn't pull in until after 9 that night and worried that our choice of rooms would be limited. Thankfully, Hazel had all of our paperwork ready, and the only thing needed was our signature and her handing over the room key! She was welcoming, kind and warm.

Our room was large and lovely - two double beds, large flat screen TV, microwave, mini-fridge, etc. This is a doggie-friendly facility, and the grassy area is plentiful and directly off the large, side parking lot.

Tons of restaurants are within walking distance (a yummy Subway inside the nearby BP station, plus a Bob Evans) or a short drive (Cracker Barrel is right down the street).

Easy on/off I-75, although there needs to be more signage as it can be a bit tricky to find it (there are numerous other hotel/motels nearby who have highway signs and advertising, but we couldn't find any on I-75 South for this Red Roof).

Finally, a great breakfast the next morning, with Hazel once again being at the front desk with a smile and thanking us for our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter as they are further away from I-75.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the review. It was a nice and very descriptive review of our property. I will make sure to pass on the positive review to our staff including Hazel. You are absolutely right about the clean and comfortable rooms we have. But there is one important thing that makes us different from other hotels in lake city,and that is our great staff providing an exceptional service. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.---janak patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent accommodations made all the better by the hotel's excellent staff. Need some help or assistance? Ask Illa or Hazel. They are wonderful. The rooms are spacious, spotless and comfortable. There are numerous restaurants close by along with a short distance to a small mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much to take the time to write a review. Really appreciate that you have mentioned the names of our staff. This always creates an excitement within the staff. Once again thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay. We look forward to serving you again and again in future. J.B.Patel, GM and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is a bit tricky to get to, even with a GPS device, but it is right on the highway and conveniently close to quite a few restaurants. It was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the staff was quite friendly. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Lake City Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely, Janak Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel. Right off the highway, a little hard to find because it's on a frontage road. Several food places at this exit. We ate at the Gondolier with the dogs on the deck. Yummy food.

Hotel is nice and clean - have no idea what these bad reviews are about. Clean, fairly up to date, not nearly as run down as some old Red Roofs. Big grassy area for dog walking. Hotel is quiet even though it is near the highway.

My only complaint is the pet policy allows for 1 dog and you have to pay $15/night for an additional dog. It's certainly not the worst pet policy I have ever encountered but I was led to believe they only allow one pet per room. I'm not sure they really want the 2nd dog.

Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pet rooms are on the side closest to the grassy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest - Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Our team is glad to hear that you did enjoy our pet friendly accommodation, beautiful landscaping with a large clean grassy green area for a pet walk. We try our best to accommodate both, guest with pets and guest without pets. We try our best to be consistent with the redroof inn policy of 1 pet per room. But we would definitely not turn away a guest at late night or on a busy football night, just because of 2 pets. The extra $15.00 fee is a cleaning fee which helps in making sure that the hotel is kept clean and up to date as possible. I apologize for everything that might have made you think that we were unwilling to accept a second pet. We greatly value you as our guest. Please contact us at i0663@redroof.com and we will be happy to refund the cleaning fee. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Once again my sincere apologies, thank you & best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a pleasant surprise!! The room was very clean..Shirley at the front desk welcomed us and even called our room to make sure everything was fine, no one has ever done that before at any other hotel..Thank you Shirley for making our stay so memorable!!! " Red Roof " you have made friends for life!! we will definately be staying with you again and will tell all our traveling friends Red Roof is the place to stay!! and our little dog Buddy thanks you too for welcoming him at no extra room cost...Thank you again!!!
Bob& Pat & Buddy
Largo Fl.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms give you direct access to your auto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear guest Thank you very much for encouraging us & other guest with your review & staying with us. Our team is glad to hear that you did enjoy our pet friendly accommodations (1 pet with NO EXRTA charge). Our housekeeping staff gives a 100% to keep our guest rooms fresh and clean. Our hotel might not be fancy, but we are proud of our clean rooms and great customer service provided by our staff.We look forward to serving you again in near future. Our entire red roof staff would like to let you know that we do value our guest greatly & will always make sure to honor your loyalty.
Thank you & best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Very clean room. Soft beds and nice clean bathroom. Stayed here overnight as a stop on our trip to south Florida. Great rate and right off of I75. A Cracker Barrel is near by as well as many places to eat or get coffee. Access is a little confusing at night but cell phone gps guided us right to the inn.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruv2005, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lake City, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us and everyone know that your stay at a red roof inn was very satisfying. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our spacious guest room with a soft pillow top Mattress bed .Our entire team is happy to hear that and we look forward to serving you again and again in future. Thank you
J.B.Patel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lake City

Address: 414 SW Florida Gateway Drive, Lake City, FL 32024
Location: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lake City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lake City Hotel Lake City
Lake City Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Lake City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.