We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place really has gone downhill.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand China Buffet - CLOSED

Grand China Buffet
345 West Duval, Lake City, FL 32055
386-754-3788
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Lake City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The place really has gone downhill.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A few years ago, the place was great. The is not the case now. Not even close to it. The salad items were wilted, the bacon bits and croutons were stale, and the dressings were putrid. The buffet items were bland at best. Even the General Tso's chicken was pathetic.

I can say truthfully, that I found nothing good there my last visit yesterday. NOTHING.

I'd say the place is beyond repair without new ownership. Don't waste your money or time. Don't go there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I used to eat there a lot a few years ago and it was good but this time it was just awful. There was black mold on the wall over the window and the food was nasty. The service was poor and very impersonal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Large buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good fresh food. Big buffet with 5 long bars of food. Egg Furniture Yong good. Ordered off menu too..great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake city
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Food was terrible. Child was coughing all over the food and ownership did nothing.To many american foods on buffet.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Butler
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“over 100 items on buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We eat here fairly often. A great variety of different kinds of food from crayfish to frog legs to crab legs plus a variety of Chinese food. Service is always good. always enjoy going back here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand China Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand China Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.