We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst senario comes true” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Maingate East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Maingate East to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Maingate East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Florida Plaza Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worst senario comes true”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2005

We have a friend that works for choice hotels so we would be paying 40 bucks a night at most facilites ( friends and family rate). We had spent days reading reviews - After reading the reviews though - we felt the only possibliity for us was maingate east - which didn't qualify for the $40 discount - instead it would be gov't rate ( I'm a Federal employee) at $75.00 per night - still a great rate compared to Disney where we were headed. We've stayed on-site Disney 12 times over 15 years, at all three catergories and the campground. We were always very impressed and never had a bad experience, though we were looking to go inexpensive this time for a short getaway. Showed up at Comfort suites with a guaranteed reserveration for a non-smoking king suite - (reconfirmed the day before)
They gave us our room - go up to find two queens and a funky smell ( cigarettes, perfume, and mold).
Back down to request the king - The clerk says I'll give you an upgrade to a king - but won't charge us the difference ( big of them since it's what I had reserved and paid for already.)
Back up stairs ( hauling the luggage the whole time of course) to find our King room is strewn with garbage and dirty towels - the maids tip is still on the counter, obviously not made up and it's 9:30 at night.
Back down again - told them we were leaving and headed to Disney - Port Orleans French Quarter - immaculate room and great customer service -
We'll never stray again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    451
    94
    42
    30
See reviews for
668
262
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

Just returned from 7 days at the Comfort Suites. Overall very comfortable, safe, clean accommodations. One night upon returning from the parks at about 10:30, a gal was on her hands and knees with a toothbrush scrubbing the baseboard by the elevator! Rooms were adequate with a microwave and refrigerator.

Free breakfast was nice – definitely not for a low-carb diet! Waffles were delicious. Everything was kept well stocked and clean. We had the best luck when we arrived at around 8:00 AM, any later we had to wait for a table but no big deal. Variety was impressive for continental with several drink choices, fruit, donuts, English muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, applesauce, instant oatmeal and on the weekends they offered biscuits/gravy. Note: When both toasters were running, we had trouble most mornings with shorting something out and found the reset button on the power cord down behind the toasters.

Laundry facility was nice (1 washer/drier on each floor), which was convenient.

The elevators can be a little hectic and seem a little slow during busy times – mid-morning and after the parks close, but with just being on the 2nd floor we could use the stairs when it seemed to take a long time.

The pool was nice but seemed cold to me. The children’s pool/fountain was nice especially with it being fenced in but unbearably cold at the time we were there. The hot tub was very nice. There is a small bar, which serves drinks and pizza, appetizers and such. The 2-for-1 drink coupons in the room were a nice touch.

I printed directions off to get from the airport to Comfort Suites. We had a little trouble finding it. My directions indicated to turn before Old Town but you have to pass through Old Town to get there, which can be crowded if you arrive Saturday evening like we did – they have an antique car show every Saturday night. It’s much easier if you go past Old Town and turn between Red Lobster and Pizza Hut and go straight back. There is a sign right there too but it’s easy to miss.

As far as restaurants in the area – good luck! We tried to be adventurous at first and tried new places but weren’t successful so we stuck with the common chains in the Midwest. Hwy. 192 has about everything – if you can’t find what you’re looking for, just keep driving, you’ll find it!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

This is an excellent off-Disney resort. I loved the tiki bar at the pool and enjoyed a couple of free drinks with the buy one, get one free coupons at the front desk. The pizza from the tiki bar was delivered to our room - hot and delicious in 20 minutes.

The hot tub and pool were clean and well maintained. The room was very large and also clean.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding. A word of caution to meat lovers and carbohydrate dieters - no meat at the breakfast buffet. They had chocolate and regular waffles (whipped cream for topping), fruit, cereal, yogurt, applesauce, oatmeal, english muffins, donuts, tea, coffee and juices.

The elevators are extremely slow which is my only complaint. There are many many stores and restaurants nearby. We ended up at Fridays for a dinner one night.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

We stayed at this hotel on the first week in April for one night. The hotel was about what we expected. It was clean, had a fairly nice pool, and had an adaquate breakfast. We got a rate of $79.00 for four family members which was a fair price.

We did have trouble getting the managment to send up extra pillows but to be fair, the hotel was sold out and the front desk staff was extremely busy.

All in all we'd stay there again, but I would not give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

We stayed three nights in April and found the hotel to be very nice. Our room was extra clean, spacious and very quiet. We had no problems with the elevators. The breakfast was good, but it was pretty much the same thing put out every day. We rented a car so getting to and from the Disney parks was easy and quick; having the car made it more relaxing as the hotel shuttles only run at certain times. The location next to Old Town is also great as you can walk there. We would stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

We stayed here for 12 days and loved it. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Bed linen was regularly changed, and the spacious bathroom had a good stock of clean towels. The swimming pool and whirlpool was great after a day at the Parks. The location of the hotel is also perfect, near the Parks, but also in the Old Town which offers extreme sports, great! We found this hotel to be great value for money. The breakfast was fantastic - fresh waffles were served every morning, along with eggs etc. There was something for everyone in the breakfast buffet - well done Comfort Suites. We would definitely consider returning to this hotel again, it has won many awards and I can see why. There are shuttle buses which run to the Disney Parks, and only one shuttle bus to Universal and Seaworld at 9am returning at 9pm. There is no shuttle to wet'n'wild. We had to hire a car because of the limited shuttle service. Otherwise, it is a great place to stay and the staff were very friendly!!!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nb
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. On the whole we really liked it. The rooms were large and clean, (heated) pool was nicely landscaped. A nice buffet breakfast with delicious waffles. Also the location was great. Set off from the highway but very close. You could also walk to Old Town which is an amusement area. There are a number of restaurants and shopping areas handy and Disney Parks a 15 minute drive. The elevators and toasters are slow but this is a minor complaint. This is a nice new hotel. Make sure you do not get a room near the elevators though as you can hear people talking while waiting for them. I only noticed it the first night as we went to bed very early. There is generally not much activity in the halls after 11p.m. -in any event I had my trusty earplugs. I would definitey stay here again.

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Maingate East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Maingate East

Address: 2775 Florida Plaza Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Maingate East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Kissimmee hotel is located just 2 miles from Walt Disney World Resort and is a Disney Good Neighbor Hotel. Enjoy the great amenities at this hotel in Kissimmee like flat screen TV's, quad charging stations, complimentary deluxe hot & cold buffet breakfast and complimentary scheduled shuttle to all major Orlando theme parks. Relax by the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa any time day or night, or have a drink at Barracuda Bart’s poolside bar. The hotel is close to Osceola Heritage Park, Silver Spurs Arena and Disney ESPN Wide World of Sports. Bring the family to Comfort Suites Maingate East where great memories are made! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Maingate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate East Hotel Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Maingate East
Kissimmee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Maingate East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.