We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upset over racist employee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Link Motel

Save Saved
You added Golden Link Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Link Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4914 West Irlo Bronson HWY 192, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Upset over racist employee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I visit Golden Link often due to business travel and find the hotel conveniently located, good price and good service, so far! The other day I was taking coffee in the front desk area and a customer was doing a check out. One of the maids came in and HE started talking to her in Spanish. She amicabli responded to the customer. The Front Desk person, who has an accent as if from Europe, got upset and almost screamed "No, only English." twice. The gentleman told her that he spoke English, Italian and Spanish and that he preferred to talk to the maid in Spanish. He was visibly shocked and the maid lowered her head and left embarrased. The gentleman checked out and left and I could tell he was upset by the way he looked at me, since I was just standing there in shock. I was furious!!! How in this day and age can there be someone working a front desk of a hotel, where people of all parts of the world come to, for example, Disney World, tell someone to ONLY speak English. I have NEVER had this experience anywhere else. This employee does NOT deserve to deal with customers. Maybe she should be in a warehouse or somewhere where she has no customer contact.

Room Tip: Close to office
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmj8886, General Manager at Golden Link Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
As the owner and manager, I find this hard to accept. I myself speak German and a little Spanish. In fact, most of our employees are bilingual (2 Spanish, 3German, 1Welch). We welcome our guests to speak in whatever language they are most comfortable with. If this indeed happened, we apologize for the offense and would love for you to get a name, as we do wear nametags. Thank you for your input. We hoope you will visit us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    50
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
75
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks during our vacation this winter. I would stay here again for sure. The price was right. The hotel isn't a super big place, parking can be a little bit of a hassle if they are full, but not a huge problem. The main thing to know when you stay here is that you are not staying in a 4 or 5 star hotel, but you aren't paying for a 4 or 5 star hotel either.

The rooms were very clean. There were only 2 of us but since we were on vacation for 3 weeks and trying to cook some of our own meals, we had quite a bit of stuff with us and the room got a little small after a while if we didn't stay organized. They aren't fancy rooms, they do their job, they're clean, that's what important to me. There weren't many towels in the rooms when we got there, but you can certainly ask for more or they can be replaced if you have your room refreshed by the housekeeping staff (which we didn't). The one thing that was missing from the room that I found a little odd was a box of Kleenex. Not a big deal since I had brought some of my own anyways, but something that basic that was missing I found kind of odd.

The pool was nice. They said it's heated to 86 degrees. I would have liked it a little bit warmer, but it was still nice and still warmer than a lot of pools in the area, especially since the weather kept changing from warm to cold to warm again (plus they keep a solar cover on it at night which is a great idea, too bad more hotels don't do that).

The breakfast in the morning isn't much. Coffee, orange juice that was pretty watered down some days, and a few packaged donuts/pastries. My husband would go and get his coffee every morning and sometimes a package of donuts or something, but since there is a refrigerator and microwave in the room we were able to make our own breakfast.

Out back there is a picnic area and some more lounge chairs. We took our portable camping stove and a few disposable grills so we were able to make our own suppers some nights if we were at the hotel and not at the parks or baseball games.

Overall, the hotel isn't much but you're not paying much. It's nice, clean, and we felt safe. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was one of the few Motels that had vacancy during the last day of our trip to Orlando, the place is clean but outdated, old school tv and phone but close to main attractions and not too expensive. There's really nothing to rave about this place, it's just a clean motel for short time stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at the Golden Link Motel in Kissimmee recently, and was very pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was.
I had read various reviews here, and had stayed in other Hotels whilst visiting the Orlando area, but I have to say that the reviews here were all very accurate making for a pleasurable few days vacation.
The Rooms are clean, comfortable, and okay the TV isn't a Flat Screen state of the art job, but all in all I found my four night stay to be very comfortable.
I would say the Motel would appeal more to the older guest than those with a young family, and to be honest that suits me right down to the ground.The Pool was quiet, with a water temperature of 86f.
Would I stay at the Golden Link again? Damn right I would.
Thanks to all who made my visit so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Publix Supermarket right across the 192, and just down the road the Longhorn Steakhouse was well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västerås
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place is amazing, we return year after year and could not be more pleased with the rooms and the wonderful staff. There were a lot of improvements that Monica had done to the Motel, first of all the mattresses where all new and we slept like babies. Secondly the air-conditioner was replaced and finally during our stay the wi-fi system was replaced with a much stronger solution. This year we had several friends with us from Sweden that has not been here before and it's so nice to hear that also they really liked and enjoyed staying here. We are quite sure that the fans of Golden Link has grown with at least a few Swedes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We found this property on Trip Advisor and called the motel directly for information. Julie was very helpful and we booked a 5 night stay. The pictures in their ad are exactly the way our room looked. Our shower was a fixed showerhead with excellent water pressure. We have stayed in some very nice, expensive hotels throughout the US. The bathroom was actually cleaner than some of those. No mildew, no dirt, no bugs! It is clean and the staff keeps it up. They have a laundry facility, picnic area, and pool. WiFi was intermittent but ok and the TV is basic. Again, while on vacation, who wants to stay in a room all the time watching TV. It is close to everything! Publix right across the street and with frig & microwave, we could keep small meals hot/cold. No, it is not a brand new motel, with hot and cold running champagne. If you want big, fancy, new, you will be disappointed. We had car problems and Chuck
White, the manager, even helped us out with that! They went over and above. We would go out of our way to stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Golden Link during the run up to Christmas, and having seen favourable reviews on Trip Advisor were looking for somewhere clean and affordable to stay prior to moving across to a Disney Hotel.

The Golden Link is nicely situated along the 192 (Irlo Bronson Highway) and approx 30 minutes drive from Orlando International airport - simply come along the Greenway and there at is where Vineland intersects with the 192. There are many good restaurants close and within walking distance, as well as a large Publix supermarket just across the 192.

Arriving around 8pm at night it was the work of a moment to sign in and make our way to our room. Be aware that this is very much 'motel as opposed to hotel' - you park your car right outside your room and there's no gate here which means anyone can park and wander about, right outside your room with nothing between you except the door. In this age of gated communities and parking permits it feels a little old fashioned and might not suit anyone of a nervous disposition, but saying that, the area was very quiet at night and neither myself nor my 20 y/o daughter felt unsafe or unsure about anything at any time and the area was well lit at night.

The room was larger than expected and spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds and a mixture of furniture. The two beds were firm and comfy and all linen smelled freshly laundered. No sign of dirt or bugs anywhere. It did feel a little on the dark side though we got used to it. A mini fridge and microwave were provided which meant we could keep sandwiches and drinks purchased from the nearby Publix & CVS Pharmacy cool and fresh. Bathroom was again very clean with an old fashioned 'hand shower' as opposed to a fixed overhead one but no complaints there. Towels were okay. The few staff we did meet were polite and other guests raised little noise even when coming in late at night. We were on the second floor which meant a bit of a hassle with luggage to get it up the staircase (if there is an elevator we must have missed it!)

There are a couple of washing machines situated between buildings but we did not use them, neither did we have time to use the pool, or partake of the free breakfast items, thus no commentary here.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Link and would certainly consider using it again for a good-value motel gettaway. It may not be brand spanking shiny and new but its clean, convenient, comfortable and very good value with a 'homey' feel. If all you need is a place to sleep or kick back for a few hours, you certainly can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Link Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Link Motel

Address: 4914 West Irlo Bronson HWY 192, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Link Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Link Motel is a double-diamond AAA rated property located just 4 miles east of Disney on the shores of Lake Cecile. We offer free continental breakfast daily with coffee, orange juice and assorted danish. Our swimming pool is heated year-round to 86F degrees. All rooms come with a free refrigerator, microwave, safe, and free wireless internet. Our guests enjoy a coin laundry complete with irons. Come enjoy our peaceful lakefront with fishing dock, barbeque grill, and picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Golden Link Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Link Hotel Kissimmee
Hampton Inn Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Link Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.