We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Isles Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Isles Resort to your Saves list
Polynesian Isles Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3045 Polynesian Isles Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Grand Island, NE
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good place for family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Polynesian Isles Resort from 3/3/13-3/9/13. Arrived after office hours, however, check-in with Security was quick and easy. We were on the 3rd floor in building 10. The unit was clean, very nicely furnished, and with a large master bath (with a nice whirlpool tub and a separate shower). A separate bath off the second bedroom for the kids was nice. TV in each bedroom and the living room. Kitchen was nice sized with a breakfast bar (3 barstools). The way the units were layed out, two units shared a washer and dryer (outside between the units, required a room key for access). Pool area was clean and well kept.
Entering the resort required going past the security shack and the officers were always polite and professional and another plus for the resort. I recommend this resort for anyone, but, especially for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    129
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
272
90
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The condo and grounds are well-maintained, and the pool area is very nice. However, our room was on the ground floor and you could hear every footstep from the condo above. At times, when the kids above were running or jumping, it sounded like they were going to crash through the ceiling. After being awakened very early on the first morning of our stay, my husband went to management and asked to change rooms. They were very uncooperative. Initially they told him the resort was full and there was no other room available. When he told them we would be there for the next 7 days, and we would be happy to move when another room became available, they indicated they would speak to the guests above. I don't know if they ever did, but it never got any better. The resort advertises free wireless internet in each condo, but we were not able to access the internet from our condo. Management gave us a booster, which did not work, and told us we would have to contact the internet provider for any additional help. The resort also advertises a Fitness Center, which actually consists of 1 treadmill and 1 bike in a very small room. Because we prepaid, we were stuck. While the location and grounds were nice, we would have gladly paid more to stay at a resort where we could get a good night's sleep, where they truly had wireless internet in every condo, and where there was a real fitness center.

Room Tip: If you go, make sure your room is on the top floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

So glad I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor and stayed here with my family for a week. We had so much fun! I really thought it would not be super nice due to how incredibly inexpensive it was (we booked through Expedia). Our 2-bedroom condo was clean and very nice... HUGE bathroom with big jacuzzi tub which we used a lot. We used the tennis courts and my son loved the heated pool and heated outdoor hot tub. Very friendly folks, very nice grounds, no complaints at all. We liked renting a car and being able to do what we wanted whenever we wanted, and we saved a ton of money going grocery shopping and eating breakfast before venturing out for the day. We were aware that there would not be maid service and that we'd remove our trash etc, so no big deal or no surprises there. We met many other families with small kids and everyone was really nice too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Over the many years that I have been travelling to the U.S, this is by far the best resort I have stayed at. The minute I arrived, the staff showed had me checked in and in the apartment in under 5 mins.

As you can see in the pics, the buildings are on 3 floors, and there is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, you'll need the ground floor. The groiunds are immaculate and is patroled by guards.

In the office building there are 2 computers linked to printers, which are free of charge. The apartments themsleves are stocked with everything you need, including towels for the bath, and also the pool. You share a laundry with your immediate neighbor only!

The pools have more than enough loungers and tables to accommodate everyone. Walmart is 0.6 mile away, with a gas station right next to it. In the other direction, Hwy 192 has a number of quality diners and buffets that should satisfy all tastes. I can recommend the Ichiban Chinese Buffet, which is within walking distance. One entry states that they had problems with Wifi. I was in room 1021, and had a superfast connection.

I honestly can't find anything that would lose this place marks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed at many places over the years, but this is the first place which exceeded our expectations.
Great rooms and facilities. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The place is secure with guarded entryway.
Given the quality of the rooms and facilities, the price is ery reasonable.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked a last-minute trip to Orlando the week before Thanksgiving and actually booked this room less than 48 hours before we arrived. We got a package through Expedia with a rental car from Alamo - THIS IS THE WAY TO GO IF YOU CAN. The cost per day for the car and room was under $100 including taxes and fees.

We checked in late (10pm or so) which was after the front desk closed (it is only open until 8pm). So it would have been difficult to resolve any issues with the room until the morning, but fortunately the place was immaculate and everything was perfect. We had a 2 bedroom unit in Building 4, so we were situated right across from the pool and picnic area.

Everything was spotless and furnished quite nicely. You had every sort of kitchen appliance available if cooking and eating in is more your style. If you prefer to eat out (as we do), I-192 is a hop, skip, jump away and you've got pretty much 1, if not 2, of every chain restaurant that you can think of. It is also right down the road from the Walmart at Calypso Cay, so we stocked up on food and soda for the week. This is also a Walmart that has a counter where you can buy legitimate discounted park tickets; not the sketchy desks you find at the gas stations in the area where the passes may or may not work at the gates.

The only complaints we could make were that the chests of drawers in the room were somewhat broken (still useable, though) and that he had trouble connecting to the free wifi with his iPad. I had no problem using my laptop (a MacBook Pro) which was a blessing since I had a ton of work to do while I was there. Also, be prepared to have to take out your own garbage and wash your own towels; there is no daily maid service. However, you can pay for extra linen service midway through the week.

We had to rent a 2-bedroom condo even though it was just the two of us; there were no smaller rooms available. So there was more room than we knew what to do with, but the greatest thing was the washer/dryer that was inside the unit. It was right in the living room, but it wasn't too loud to keep us up when we threw in a load to wash right before heading off to bed. The next best thing was the master bathroom; the walk-in shower with dual shower heads was fantastic!

Parking was free and plentiful; we never had a problem finding a place close to the condo.

I definitely hope to make it back here soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

LOVE this place! It is only 10-20 minutes from Universal and Disney. I also love the fact that it is a gated community with security at the gate. Be aware that there is no maid service and you have to remove your own trash, etc. before checking out but it was well worth it for the savings. It's an excellent value. Very clean, sheets are amazing, updated bathrooms--can't say enough great things. Very spacious for a family of four. Highly recommend this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Isles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Isles Resort

Address: 3045 Polynesian Isles Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Isles Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Polynesian Isles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Polynesian Isles Kissimmee
Sunterra Resort Polynesian Isle
Sunterra Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Isles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Isles Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.