We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4669 West Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #118 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“worse hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It was dirty , The breakfast was cheap and poor quality. The buses to the park was very bad especially for handicap they treated us like dirty. Two hours late showing up in the morning , Made us wait three half hours after closing . It was cold and lighting and raining my child was hungry. They did not even say sorry or anything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay with us. We didn't expect this to happen because we always make sure that we provide our valued customers like you the services that you deserve. With this, we will further discuss this on our management meeting to make amendments and provide sanctions to those who are accountable. Despite of what you have experienced, we are still looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    48
    38
    73
See reviews for
79
66
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My stay was decent, no ease of access to my hotel room, had to use an entrance way about 20 steps to get to my motel room door. An $8.59 service fee was added to my bill and charged on a daily basis. It's alright, but for the money look elsewhere. A $29.95 a night stay becomes $45.00 at checkout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. The management didn't want this to happen and we always make sure that we provide you as our valued customers great accommodation and impeccable service. Rest assured that this issue will be addressed on our regular meeting. Despite of this experience, we are still looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

pros... inexpensive. But you get what you pay for. Was quiet although you're right on the highway. Bed was comfortable. The included breakfast is all carbs if that's OK with you.

cons... there is a secret 8.95 daily charge they don't post OR tell you about. Again you get what you pay for. The young woman at the desk was short and curt with us, although there did not appear to be anything else going or, no one else checking in a etc. There was NO SIGN or posting anywhere about this secret charge. On our succesive mornings while accessing breakfast and having conversations with the clerks, there was no sign about this charge. On checkout, the male clerk put up a small post card sized sign noting this charge! When questioned all he would say was we should have known and at check in the girl should have told us. Check other reviews here that note the same sneaky, lying way to do business.

On top of that, the room was only cleaned once, after we complained. Sheets had some kind of stain they blamed on the washing machines.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for our short comings and inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. Our intentions was not to mislead with regards to the charges that we have and our customer service staff would be very happy to provide you assistance and answers to the questions that you may have. We will discuss this on our regular meeting and will make certain amendments if need for us to meet your expectations on your next stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed at other Econolodges and had a good experience. so when I looked at hotels in Kissimmee, I picked that brand. Big mistake. Sheets had suspicious liquid mark, so we changed them. Next day, housekeeping forgot us and didn't change out towels or bedding. When we called downstairs, they were quick to come up with towels and were apologetic, which we appreciated. Next day, our keycard wouldn't work. But the biggest shocker came at check out. Hit with an $8.95 per day "resort fee". First, trust me, this place is no resort. The listed room price is low to attract people who are price comparing. This fee is nothing short of a sneaky, deceptive, immoral way to pad the room rate. It is a classic "Bait and Switch." The in-room safe sign says if you tell the desk, they will deduct the usage fee that is automatically added to your bill. But they refused to do it. The in-room desktop computer says it costs $2.95 a day, but I didn't use it. The clerk said, "Sorry, it's part of the Resort Fee so it can't be removed". So not only did they not disclose this fee when the reservation was made, and not when I checked in, the signage in the rooms is an absolute lie. They prey upon travellers who Econolodge knows are from out of town and can't pursue legal action, and surprise you on checkout, knowing you need to get out of there in a timely way to catch a flight, and can't really stay to fight it. Brilliant plan, Econolodge! The little monetary gain you from scamming people like me will keep me from EVER booking at your chain again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending some time in making this review. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. The management didn’t expect those things to happen because we always aim to provide impeccable service to our customers and we take good care of our reputation. We will discuss this issue on our management meeting to make certain amendments and provide sanctions to those who are accountable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

So, I am typing this review as I sit at this in room computer. This has been an absolutely horrible experience. My friend and I chose this hotel because it seemed reasonably priced and it is in a really good location as far as getting to the parks quickly. This was not worth it. As soon as it was time to go to sleep, we each turned down our comforters. Upon turning down mine, we saw bed bugs leap across the blanket. And when my friend turned down her's, she found trash. So, all that was telling us, was that these sheets had not been washed. A couple minor problems included the toilet not flushing, the key not working to get into the room, and the carpet turning your feet black. This room is just disgusting, to be quite honest. Once we took in the horrible state of the room, we immediately called down to the front desk to get a refund. The woman at the front said that since we did book through them, we could not get a refund. Soon after we called Expedia. The woman working with Expedia was very friendly and very willing to help. She called the hotel herself and could not get a refund either, as we had already checked in. The woman at the front desk was very, very rude and not very helpful. We asked to switch rooms, to which she said she was booked to capacity, which the parking lot says otherwise. Just whatever you do, do not stay here. It is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all, we appreciate your time in making this feedback. We take this seriously because we from the management didn’t want or expect this to happen. Our goal is to provide the services that our customer deserves, cozy and clean location, and that will always be. We assure you that the management will act on this by discussing this on our regular meeting to make sure that we always deliver quality services. We hope to serve you again in the near future despite this incident. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was charged for things i didn't use, both bed and couch when you sat or laid down you ended
up in the middle if you have a bad back stay away. They charge for everything, tub would not drain. Horrible stay just Horrible.

Room Tip: Don't stop here keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. Our intention was not to mislead you with regards to the price of our services. We have a dedicated customer service staff that’s always willing to provide you assistance. We are thankful for the same time for making us aware about this issue and we assure you that we will further look into this on our regular meeting for us to provide you services that you deserve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Some of the things I thought was shady were: 9 dollar fee, I mean just say 40 dollars or 50. The bathroom was dirty, but they have a dollar tree right across the street. Get those cleaning supplies, I scrubbed that tub and clean that toilet like I was the maid. It was so much build on the walls but 30I minutes later and o was satisfied. Everything else was ok for the money. The breakfast was not something to look forward too. But it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary Q, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time in making this review. We sincerely apologize that you felt inconvenienced during your stay. Our intention was not to mislead you with regards to the price of services that we offer. We have our customer service staff that could provide you assistance if this case is reported. Rest assured that this will be discussed on our regular meetings for us to polish the things that we need to improve. We hope that you will not close your doors to Econo Lodge on your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central

Address: 4669 West Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 98 room hotel with free shuttle service to Disney World, Sea World, and Universal Studios. Free wireless internet, free breakfast every morning, free micro and fridge in every room. The best value hotel in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Maingate Central Hotel Kissimmee
Econolodge Maingate Central
Econo Lodge Kissimmee
Kissimmee Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Maingate Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.