We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a quiet getaway smack in the middle of a busy part of town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Palms Resort and Campground to your Saves list
Tropical Palms Resort and Campground
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2650 Holiday Trail, Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoy a quiet getaway smack in the middle of a busy part of town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family has stayed here twice and will most likely make this our "go to" place from now on. The staff is always friendly (Ellyn in the front desk was extremely helpful in our check-in and check-out), the cottages are well equipped, the grounds are nicely maintained, the location is down the street from Old Town, plenty of restaurants, and a grocery store. Some cottages are pet friendly and have very reasonable pet fees when compared to what others charge, this was a big plus for our family as we were able to bring our dog along on this trip. The other thing we enjoy are all the activities planned. This time we enjoyed the golf cart parade and walking our dog around to see the entries for the site decorating contest. Made for a nice relaxing evening.

The only negative thing I have to mention is with the WIFI. It was non-existent and we were not able to log-in not even once during our stay. Although this was an inconvenience it did not ruin our trip in any way. We cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Standard cottages have the best rates but truly show their age. The premium cottages are worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    51
    35
    17
    37
See reviews for
142
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband and I have been camping here for over 20 years. Nice campground with good amenities and Great little Cafe with good food at decent price. They serve a very good breakfast on the weekend's. Most of the camp sites have lots of space, especially the back-in sites. Prices for campsites are a lot better than Disney's Campground ( about 1/2 the cost ). They also have cabins for rent that my in- laws stay in every year. Some of the cabins are pretty old, but management has been working on replacing them with new one so most of the cabins are quite nice at a Decent price. Some of the cabin's take pet's. The maintenance dept. is great, We asked for them to fix the cable hoping for next day and they came out that night in the dark to fix it ( the connection was back in the tree's ).

Room Tip: Looking for a place close to Disney without Disney prices this it! RV sites in the back are the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My son and his gf were here last July for the vacation from England UK. Thought, take him to his first vacation, 20 years ago when he was 4 years old!..at the time , he called "Wendy Houses", I remembered, when we arrived, the builder just finished hammered the last nail! Talked about "fast cottage"..were the first people to stayed 2 bedroom cottages. I never experienced this kind of accommodation, apparently, left a good and happy memories with my 4 year old son ,at that time. So, tooked him back and gf to "Wendy Houses" for sentimental journey.. He was surprise, they keep the property well maintained, added more cottages. He loved the cottage,took some picture,
2 bedrooms cottage was perfect for us, clean, fully functional kitchen, nice deck where we had our breakfast. Good location. This is my 3rd stayed in this resort, I would recommend to my friends specially with children, fantastic place for family that's not to expensive. Will come back again.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms cottage are spacious and walking distance from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPalmsGSM, Front Office Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Tropical Palms Resort would like to thank you for your kind words and positive memories. We at Tropical Palms Resort strive and work very hard each and every day to ensure all our guest have positive and remerable experiences as you have indicated. From the Tropical Palms Resort family to yours, we truly hope to see you and your family again.


Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently with family. Our cottage was clean and pleasant; not huge but fine for our needs. Nice big deck out front and a parking space.
The cafe was closed and everywhere was quiet. Would like to stay when it was busier as the atmosphere is probably great. It was just before Halloween and they were advertising lots of themed activities coming up. The pool was nice, but the baby pool was freeeeeezing for our little girl. The issues with wi-fi were annoying, but we just went up to the Reception area to send emails etc.
You can walk up to the Old Town area which is nice at night with shops and bars, with live music. And the madness of the 192 is walkable, but we preferred the tranquility of the park!
Do not have previous experience to compare to, as others have, and it's a shame if it has gone downhill as indicated but we enjoyed ourselves and would stay again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPalmsGSM, Front Office Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Maam, We at Tropical Palms Resor twould like to take this time to thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your stay here at Tropical Palms Resort. I would like to say that the Tropical Palms Resort family works very hard and take great pride in providing a superior guest experience. We do apologize for the "annoying" inability to not connect to the wi-fi. The Resort is currently and continues to look and provide solutions to our wi-fi network. When you plan and book your next stay at Tropical Palms Resort please contact us personally and we will let you know of some of the recent solutions we have taken to circumvent the wi-fi issues. Once again thank you for taking the time to respond and voice your concerns which help and aid us in providing great customer service.


Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Before booking our holiday I had seen a great offer for The Tropical Palms and even though some of the reviews weren't great we booked it anyway.

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage and thought it was so cute, it was plenty big enough for the two of us and had its own little drive. It had a little deck area to sit out at the night with a drink and inside was an open plan living room and kitchen, a small bathroom and a bedroom with a large wardrobe and set of drawers.

We didn't spend much time here as we were out most of the day and ate out everynight. We had breakfast in every morning and the cooking appliances were fine. The only bad thing was there was no pan so we just went to walmart and got a cheap one for about $5. There was also a microwave a large fridge with a small freezer and dishwasher.

The bathroom was tiny, but we were given plenty of towels, enough to last us 2 weeks and there was also a hairdryer which gave off quite a bit of power, much better than the travel one I had taken with me.

The bedroom and bed were a decent size.

They advertised entertainment each night, we didn't go to any of these though as we had a car so did our own thing. This is right in Kissimmee, it would probably take you 5-10 minutes to walk there, we never walked though as the road was not lit and building work was going on so there were parts that had no pavements. In the day time this would be fine though.

You're so close to all of the parks here it took about 15 minutes to get to Disney and about 20 for Universal and Sea World. There are so many places to eat close by as well as a big Walmart about 2 miles away.

I think people worry when they hear it's a campground, but I thought it was great and I would stay here again. The staff were also very friendly and one young lad always stoped to talk to us and gave us ideas on places to eat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPalmsGSM, Front Office Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to report your personal and honest response to your stay here at Tropical Palms Resort. Wew are very happy that you had a pleasurable experience while staying on our property. I would like to say that the next time you are on our property and find an advertised amenity missing from one of the cottages, please let someone know and we will correct the deficiency asap. Once again thank you for taking the time to respond relative toyour stat on our property.


Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This used to be the best place to stay in this area, not anymore! I have stayed here 3 times before this stay! I had trouble checking in...the young lady at the front has no understanding...luckily, a young man rescued me...next, out cabin had mold on the outside back door area & was about half the size of pervious stays! The is NO wireless internet, despite what the ad on-line says!! When I called the front to report this, I was told "there's nothing we can do since it's and outside company" & "it always does that when we are busy!"...again, NO internet!!! And it IS advertised when booking "free wi-fi"!! We also had an "ant invasion" & I don't mean Adam Ant!! Woke up to hundreds of tiny black ants swarming some popcorn I left on the counter in a cover container, but obviously not air-tight...however, this should not bring an infestation!! I find this very sad, as I used to look forward to staying here...and worse, I still have another week to go here!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPalmsGSM, Front Office Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond open and honestly regarding your experience while visiting our property. First I would like to apologize for the unfavorable response you recieved when dealing with our Front Desk personnel. The wi-fi is very tempermental from time to time here on our property. I do apologize for this. Management is actively seeking solutions to the issues we experience from time to time with the wi-fi. Maintenance works Very hard to keep and maintain our cottages in habital conditions. It is unfortunate that you experienced mold on the back door to your cottage. I assure you this is not the norm. The ants you experienced are indigenious to this climate and we work hard at treating the units to control the ant population.

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. This type of response helps us to deliver better service to our guests.


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We live in Tampa and take our camper to Tropical Palms fairly often just to get away. The campground is very clean and quiet. The camper pads are large and not crammed together, with full hookups. We have never had a problem with noise at night. The staff have always been helpful and pleasant. There is a very nice large pool and a smaller wading pool for the little ones with lots of activities for the kids and a water slide for $5.00 all day use.For September they are having hay rides and a haunted house for the kids free of charge. The poolside cafe has a great breakfast for $5.99 and serves lunch as well. The campground is very close to grocery stores and lots of places close to eat out. I have not stayed in the cottages, but the campground is more than ok especially being in such a busy area of Buena Vista. It' not like being in the woods but for a "city" campground, it's fine. (wish they had some more larger trees, especially in the hot summertime).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPalmsGSM, Front Office Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your personal and honest review regarding our property and you recent visit. We here at Tropical Palms Resort sincerely value each and every guest who stay at our resort. We are pleased you had such a pleasent experience. The Tropical Palms Resort work very hard at providing superior conditions, amenities and service. We look forward to serving you on your next stay here at Tropical Palms Resort.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Palms Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Address: 2650 Holiday Trail, Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Palms Resort and Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Palms Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Palms Resort And Campground Hotel Kissimmee
Tropical Palms Funresort Kissimmee
Tropical Palm Fun Resort
Kissimmee Tropical Palms
Tropical Palm Resort Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.