We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you want to catch hepatitis” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Save Saved
You added Tropical Palms Resort and Campground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropical Palms Resort and Campground
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2650 Holiday Trail, Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you want to catch hepatitis”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here a few times years ago when I was younger. It was great then but now this place is in dire straights. It's a real shame. These cottages are extremely run down to a point where safety is jeopardized. Holes in walls, mold in bathrooms, rusty door frames, most noticeable, the deck and steps leading up to the cottage were missing boards and had rusty nails sticking out.(OUTCH) Don's waste your money at this place. You couldn’t pay me to stay there again...............

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    30
    15
    31
See reviews for
126
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port st lucie, Florida USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Rented 3 cottages over weekend. Absolutely HORRIBLE! VERY BAD DISREPAIR, UNSAFE DECKING with rotted boards throughout. I was afraid I was going to fall through!!! The inside of the cabins had holes in the walls, wasp infestation, cracked and leaking tubs, extremely worn and no evidence of recent repairs or upkeep. Had stayed here years ago and the place was great, esp for families. Not so, now. When we got back from the parks late one night (around 1AM), the keys did not work and we couldn't get in! No security! No one to call. The other cottage had to be switched out the day before for the same reason. Just what you want to experience after being at the parks all day! They should have PAID US TO STAY THERE. NEVER AGAIN!! When I complained, the girl at the desk just giggled - Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading many reviews on this page, I have to say that no resort can please everyone, but based on my personal experience I can definitely point some things out.

I've stayed in this resort 4 times in the past 5 years and most recently in a cottage. The cottage we stayed was very clean, clean towels and no bugs, absolutely no complains. Bugs? Really? It's Florida people.. I live in Tampa in a house built in 2010 and I have to get it sprayed every 3 months because guess what? I have bugs too.

Usually when you have to deal with management is because something went wrong so I didn't have to, but when I was at the lobby the staff was very pleasant and made us feel welcome. I can say that this resort has come a long way: Grounds, landscaping, staff, activities, restaurant, everything I was able to see and experience seemed to have an amazing change compared to 2008-09-11 which was the last time we visited so they gotta be doing something right!

I work in the hospitality industry and I know that what these people have done takes lots of effort... you cannot take a resort from Z to A in a blink on an eye..and I mean it! It takes time!

This time we went during Easter weekend and we had a blast- my 2 kids went egg hunting and had a free picture with the bunny, let's be real who does that? Start your research, no resort in Orlando or Kissimmee, offer so many activities for free- go stay at Disney but pay the price too... They always keep the guests updated with newsletters for events and special weekends..

I would also like to add to a recent comment just made in regards to the manager not allowing them to return: My point of view is: No company will turn down any money from any guest- if people are not allowed to return to the resort I am sure there is a good reason for that.. and they must have rules that people must abide. Isn't that a good thing? Also, if I manage a resort - I will definitely encourage people to post on trip advisor- if you doing your best, why would you not want people to post a review? If you got nothing to be ashamed then... YES.. most definitely ask people to post...

Improvement can only be made with a suggestions...

I will recommend this resort again again and again.. Just my opinion!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whobdis77
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'd be a little wary of a few of the VERY negative reviews. Yes..the staff may not be what they used to be and I suppose you'll see a palmetto bug from time to time (this is Florida). But when someone says the putt-putt course is all torn up?..we were just there 3 weeks ago and it's fine. I will say there can be a big difference between the 'standard' cottage and 'platinum'. The standards are rather old. If I was with a buddy they would be fine. For my family..we upgrade. There are cheaper places to stay if your staying at the parks all day and just need a place to sleep/shower. But if your hanging around..we like the pool area and you can walk around the place without excessive traffic. Old Towne is within walking distance for something to do in the evening. There are more cottages than RV's I think. We like having a kitchen and a deck to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

By far worst campground in the area, not many activities for kids, grounds look run down. Called several times for a manager and NEVER returned my calls. Girls in front office are very rude and carry on personal conversations as if you " the guest " is not even at counter. Pool looks dingy and small. Laundry machines are always broken. A Sex offender lives on property !!!! THIS SHOCKED ME ! Check the link for Kissimmee area offenders he has same address as resort ? Friends told me this I didnt believe until I saw it for myself ! My daughter had bites all over her not sure if from bed bugs or ants either way cabins are not the high quality they advertise. No tv in bedrooms of cabins. Floors are filthy in cabin . WE WILL NOT BE BACK !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the standard studio cottage (2 adults & 2 small kids) for 4 days. It is in a perfect location for the Disney parks! Our cottage could really have used some upgrades / maintenance but overall was nice and homey. We would stay here again but be sure to ask for a newer cottage. They have a large section of new cottages but I'm not sure what you need to do to get in one of them. Within walking distance to Old Town shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a new or newer cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had been previously warned before taking my family here, but because it was centrally located to all attractions, I decided to give it a try. It ruined my kids spring break. The facilities were filthy, and the pool had green algae in it. When we asked why, they said that their pool guy must not have been doing a good job. We complained about the bathrooms and I asked that management give us a call, however a girl in the office Ashley I think was her name, snubbed us off and of course we never got a return call. We asked for a refund, and was told by her that this was something they did not do and that if we didn't like the campground that we should simply not book there again. Believe me, we won't !! Our camp site was ridden by ants and wasps, I went to the office to complain and was told that Maintenance wouldn't be back on site until Monday. What kind of campground does NOT have staff on site especially during the holidays like Spring Break? They had absolutely nothing for the kids to do, and their mini golf is simply torn up and not worth going to the office for the gear to play with. We went to the cafe at the pool , the staff was rude, the lines were long, and there was a girl behind the counter sitting there with her FEET up on the counter! I walked out. There was no way that I was going to eat the food after seeing dirty feet on the counters. When we arrived home, I called and asked specifically that I get a return call from the manager, was told his name is Richard, and STILL to this date, have gotten NOT one phone call back. This is a poor way to run your facility and you should be ashamed of yourselves .

Room Tip: terrible beds, lumpy, hard, can feel the springs thru' the mattress , and pillows are nothing mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Palms Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Address: 2650 Holiday Trail, Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Palms Resort and Campground 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Palms Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Palms Resort And Campground Hotel Kissimmee
Tropical Palms Funresort Kissimmee
Tropical Palm Fun Resort
Kissimmee Tropical Palms
Tropical Palm Resort Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.