We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage was not as good as prior visits.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Save Saved
You added Tropical Palms Resort and Campground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tropical Palms Resort and Campground
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2650 Holiday Trail, Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 159 hotels in Kissimmee
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cottage was not as good as prior visits.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in a standard studio cottage for 2 nights. Over the years we have stayed in cottages 4-5 times and have been happy. This time the #118 cottage was not up to par. It is in desperate need of repairs. There was a leak and hole in the ceiling. Drawers didn't close properly. Wall coverings were peeling. There was hole in the wall behind the bathroom door that didn't line up with where the door knob would have hit. The beds were horrible and uncomfortable and need updating. Linens were old and thin and had trouble staying on the mattress. The outside deck was in dire need of sanding and new stain. Curtains over the main french doors were barely hanging and didn't cover properly. The whole feeling was just grungy.

I gave 3 stars instead of 2 because the complex itself is cute, but, some of the older cottages definitely need improvement.

Room Tip: Maybe paying more for a deluxe unit would help since they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    26
    15
    29
See reviews for
120
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ideal place to stay for couple nights,good location,lovely trailer or fiixed cottage,quite and peaceful area..couldnt stay here for longer than 2 days as its not very clean but just 2 star in my opinion.
Our plug hole for bath was lets says,well i have no words to describe it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The campground is close to everything- Disney, sea world... We stayed a week with our RV but the grounds were uneven and had dog poop and garbage on our picnic table when we arrived. I picked up everything and did not mention it. We were gone most of the time during the day but in the evenings, we tried to sit outside but there were strong smells of urine and poop. When we pulled our RV out to leave, we noticed TONS of dog poop under and behind our RV. When it was hot and humid, the smell came out. DISGUSTING! When i told this to the lady at check out, she responded with : some people should not own pets!!! Did not bother to send someone to check or clean it.... We will not be returning even if location was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Love staying here in our camper when we visit Florida. Very close to entrance of Disney and a lot cheaper. Daily activities, swimming pool, exercise room. Located beside Old Town which has many shops and rides for kids if you want a break from the big parks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooden UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here in early November and had a good deal thru Expedia. We used it as a base for a car tour so did not use the resort's facilities. We booked a Premium Cottage (69) as the kitchenette was useful for preparing our breakfast and making drinks. There is a Golden Corral restaurant nearby on Hwy 192 so that was very convenient for a one price buffet lunch or dinner.
Why they are called cottages I do not know, because they do not fit the British image of a little country house. They are single wide mobile homes set 3 ft above ground with a decking patio outside. The main bedroom was very small with a double bed - it was difficult to get into the bed as there was less than a 1ft gap either side to access/get into bed. The children's is also small with cramped bunk beds. The bathroom and shower worked fine, but the entry door was almost off its hinges. The kitchenette was OK & provided with the basics to start off the stay there. However, the kitchen / lounge floor was sticky and our feet soon became dirty. Thankfully, the cockroaches were dead ones! The lounge was provided with easy chairs & sofa but all were dirty. The window blinds were dusty and did not work properly and cob webs hung down from the ceiling. That was probably the result of a lack of effective cleaning so we advised reception to get it "spring cleaned". I would advise people to check their place over as soon as they arrive and K A for improvements if required.

Room Tip: We had a premium cottage, but I hate to think what a basic cottage is! We will consider staying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The fact that this place is calling themselves a "resort" should be illegal. I have stayed in a resort before....this does not come close to an actual resort. When we first walked in the door to the premium cottage (66) the first thing I saw were over 10 dead roaches on the floor and the floors were sticky, we had to keep our shoes on the entire time. My parents came with us, my dad slept on the pull out couch. He had to wrestle with it for about 10 minutes to get it to lay flat on the ground without pulling the couch part up in the air, the mattress was about an inch thick, had huge brown stains on it and once the bed finally sat the way it was intended to the entire thing was at a 30 degree angle. As for the couch while it was being used to sit on....and a nasty texture. I had to put a sheet on it in order to sit on it. The blinds were bent and broken so even with them "shut" there was no privacy. If people are giving pet deposits they certainly aren't being used to replace any damaged items to the cabin.
Next is the kitchen, it did come fully stocked, the only real complaint here was that the rubber hose around the dishwasher was not attached which caused the dishwasher to leak all over the floor which actually helped the floor not be so sticky....
This cabin supposedly was made for 6 people. In the bathroom there was 1 towel bar it was about 12 inches long. We had to hang towels all over the cabin, door knobs, cabinets etc.
The "queen size" bed in the master bedroom is actually a full size bed, hard as a rock. We stayed 4 nights, I am a side sleeper, my arms are still sore. The underside of the blanket felt like a brillo pad. We actually drove home our first day on vacation (only live two hours aways) to get our own bedding. The drawers in the closet wanted to fall on the floor after pulling them out two inches. The second bedroom had a bunk bed and then a single bed. These were half the width of regular twin beds.
There was absolutley NOWHERE to sit in this place and actually be comfortable or relax.
What's worse than the accomidations is the staff. I called with questions prior to arrival, I wanted to find out if we needed to bring bedding or towels, what is the latest we can check in etc. I called a total of 3 times prior to arriving, the staff are so rude and not helpful in any way. I was not made to feel like an important guest but rather a burdon. The first night of our stay got chilly, it was under 60 degrees in the cabin and with two small kids I wanted to run the heat for a few minutes. The heat didn't work. When I called to let the office know about it we were told by the maintanance person that the heat element was missing. There was no offer to resolve this issue (the list of ammenities includes heat).
To sum it up, this place is dirty, the staff are rude, the claim to be a "resort" or have "queen size beds" or "heat" is all a lie. For the $90 we spent per night we could have stayed at an actually resort and gotten much more out of our money. I am thouroughly disappointed, feel cheated and am literally in pain from staying at this crap hole.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked this hotel for me and my family. It was ok until we saw ants in our kitchen. They were nice enough to move us to one of the newer trailors they had built on the property. So much better! It was brand new,it was a 2/1 with a loft, a kitchen, and a livingroom area. They each also have porch and picnic tables. They are also located next to old town which is walking distance. The pool area was pretty cool just too crowded. They also have a market inside the main office.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Palms Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Also Known As:
Tropical Palms Resort And Campground Hotel
Tropical Palms Resort And Campground Hotel Kissimmee
Tropical Palms Funresort Kissimmee
Tropical Palm Resort
Tropical Palms Funresort Hotel
Tropical Palms
Tropical Palm Fun Resort
Kissimmee Tropical Palms
Tropical Palm Resort Kissimmee
Tropical Palms Resort
Address: 2650 Holiday Trail, Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#48 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Palms Resort and Campground 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tropical Palms Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.