We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel - would stay again for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maingate Lakeside Resort

Save Saved
You added Maingate Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7769 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #57 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel - would stay again for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights and really enjoyed it - I pretty much loved everything about it. Here a few things about the hotel;

LOCATION: Great location. Near a lot of restaurants and places to eat - Wendy's, Pizza Hut, Dennys, IHOP, Cracker Barrel - just to name a few. Right next door to a Walgreens so you can walk over and grab anything you forgot. It's not RIGHT on the road (have to drive up a short driveway) which gives it a more private feel. On a road with MANY gift shops so you can easily get all your gift shopping done. Nice and close to all theme parks - a short drive (Or you can take the FREE shuttle). If you drive, turn left down Sherbeth (it's the street 2 or 3 stop lights from the hotel when you turn left). It is a much faster way to get to the parks and was suggested to us by a local who said not a lot of tourists know about it. We did it and beat the traffic and saved time.

CHECK-IN: Our check-in was really quick and easy. Just be careful if you try to check in early. We tried and there were no free rooms yet - this happens a lot there apparently (guess no one wants to leave!). Not that that is a bad thing - it's why there are set check-in/check-out times. However, when it was officially check-in time we were given a room with no problems.

STAFF: All very friendly, we never met a rude member of the staff. The woman who checked us in was friendly and curteous and even joked around with us a bit. The maids were all very friendly too. One came to clean the room in the morning while we were still getting ready to leave and she offered to open the vacant room next to us so that we could go in and finish getting ready. It was not needed since we were just putting on sun screen but it was a nice gesture.

ROOM: Had two beds, small round table for 4, night stand, TV, Long dresser that could also be used as a desk, sink and huge mirror were outside the washroom which I had never seen before but made getting ready in the morning a little easier. Rooms were clean, free of anything gross and the AC worked really well. Only bad thing about the AC is that it would shut off to regulate room temperature and would make a loud noise when it started up again. We didn't have the best view but we didn't pay for it either so we couldn't complain.

POOLS: There is a total of 5 pools at this hotel. Two large pools, each with a kiddie pool in the same area and one more large pool by itself. We did not get a chance to go swimming but they looked clean and must have been so because there were always people in them.

OVERALL: Very nice place to stay. I am glad we decided to go with this hotel over the cheaper lower quality ones we were originally looking at. This was definitely worth the money as it wasn't too expensive but it was a nice place. Waterfall infront of main building was a nice touch, has workout room, onsite restaurant, business centre, mini golf on site, free shuttles. It really has everything you need. I've really only read positive reviews on this hotel as well so it looks like most people have a pleasant stay - they even have a facebook page! Only real complaint was we had loud neighbours for one night but they seemed to leave the next day.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Hi Toronto!

We just want to say THANKS for writing such a great reveiw on our property!
You pretty much said it all, step by step for us. We couldn't have said it better, but it always means so much more coming direct from one of our guests!
Come see us again and next time, please let us know you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    590
    302
    182
    218
See reviews for
660
393
53
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My family spent 7 nights here in early June while we visited the Parks. The hotel was amazing value for money, within walking distance of loads of places to eat on an evening and was in a great location to get to all the Parks easily. There was a free daily shuttle to all the Parks which we used several times. Pools were nice to come back to relax in after a hot day enjoying ourselves.
Most impressive of all though was that we left a brand new Ipod somewhere on the hotel premises (kids eh! Couldnt even say where we had left it.). We contacted the hotel about a week later after our return to the uk. Didnt expect to see the Ipod again. Amazingly, the staff at the hotel found the Ipod and posted it back to us. I am genuinely amazed by the honesty of the staff involved.
Thank you! We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thanks Jimmy!
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were also happy that we were able to return the Ipod that was left in the room. It is very important to us too offer the best possible service we can.
Come see us again when you visit Kissimmee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

after booking my vacation package from expidia and choosing the "celebrity resort" in orlando as my hotel i decided to check the reviews here,i almost had a heart attack couldnt wait till morning to called expidia and change my reservations to the best western hotel had to paid more but what can i do i rather paid than stay in hell, hope its worth it

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Hi Peruanany
I know you have made the correct choice. Call us direct if you like or send us an e-mail direct so that we can check on your reservation details.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the whole two weeks of our stay in Florida and we don't have any complaints, the room was clean on arrival and cleaned daily with new towels and freshly made bed, the bathroom and sink were also cleaned. The room had TV with a number of channels, two double beds, shower/toilet, free safe, air conditioning and a very helpful fridge/freezer unit along with plenty of storage for clothes. Our room was quiet on a night and we had no problems with the location. Upon arrival we found that the bathroom light wasn't working, we informed reception who immediately sent someone to fix it.

On site there were three swimming pools (although we only used one) which were clean and a great temperature for cooling off in! Although they're not the biggest pools they each service a different area of the hotel which meant it was never very busy at the closest one.

The breakfast buffet was included in the price we paid on Expedia and was fairly nice with a variety of food provided - cereal, fruit, toast, cooked breakfast and omelettes to cook fresh when you wanted. We did notice they were charging other guests $8.99 for it which was very overpriced for the content (especially when there is a Ponderosa and Sizzler within 10-15min walking distance offering a $3.99 buffet breakfast) in addition to this price you also had to pay for juice which should be included in a "free breakfast included" option!!

There was a Pizza Hut on site which again was overpriced considering there is a CiCi's nearby (within 2 mins walking distance) which was amazing value! We got a 15" cheese and tomato pizza for $4.27 (inc TAX).

We made good use of the free shuttle services to the theme parks, the Universal and Seaworld shuttle bus left at 7:30am, which although it was early, was great for beating ride queues and enjoying an empty park. Unfortunately the return time was 6pm for Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure and 6:15pm for Seaworld which did mean you missed the fireworks. The times for the disney parks were 9:35am/10:10am and 11:35am which were nicely spread out across the morning and from each park it is easy to get to other disney parks via the free buses. There was also a shuttle at 5pm to Magic Kingdom. It would be nice if they provided a bus to one of the disney waterparks as these are slightly more difficult to get to using the disney bus service. (Blizzard Beach can be accessed from Animal Kingdom) although Typhoon Lagoon can only be accessed by going to a disney hotel first. The return times were also nicely spread out with 5.20pm, 8.30pm, 9.25pm and 10.45pm meaning you could watch the fireworks in all the parks. They also put on a later shuttle at 11.30 when Magic Kingdom was open until midnight.

Overall, our stay was lovely, the staff were helpful and the amenities were never too busy meaning we didn't feel like we were staying in a large haotel. I would recommend it to a friend, however I would suggest that you stay in a room not overlooking the pool as it's open until 11pm so can get noisy when lots of kids are in there after getting back from the parks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Hello,
We appreciate you taking the time for posting such a wonderful review of our hotel! Just based on your review it sounds like you really made the most of your days while on vacation!
We share all of our reviews with our staff so from them too you...welcome to the BW Lakeside family!
Hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

i have stayed at the best western lakeside 4 times in the last 4 years and as a travel agent can be really picky were i stay. the reception staff are really helpfull down to the fab cleaners that look after us so well, we try to have a pool side room as my daughter loves the location, the fact that you are so close to disney and the other attractions is a bonus but to me its the people that make us return,the pizza hut on site and the bartender in hurricane sams all help complete the hotels facilities really well. best western lakeside isnt a posh hotel your not paying posh prices so you more that get your monies worth. already booked for may 2011 and cant wait !!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Thanks Kyria for posting your review regarding your visit. You pretty much said everything that we try to reflect to our guests. We are an extended family here and welcome all of our guests too become a part of our family. Will definately pass on your comments to everyone at the hotel and hope to meet you when you return in May!
Have a wonderful and safe 4th of July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ont.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Booked this hotel through hotwire so I got a great deal on this hotel. They do charge a resort fee and it is 3.50 a night which to me was not that bad. The check is was fast and the desk clerk drew how to get to your room. The floor was wet as soon as you walked in but I am assuming it from the air conditioner, no big deal. The safe was not opened so we called the front desk. Maintenance came right away to fix it. He had to replace the safe but did so and it again was no big deal. Did not use the pool as we spent most of our time at Disney parks. But was great that it was open late. They also had mini golf available. They have a pizza hut express and small store to get snacks. They also have a walgreens store open 24 hours only steps away. They had a shuttle to the parks everyday which is handy to get to the parks. Only once a day so you have to plan when you need to get back. We took a taxi a couple times. Animal Kingdom was only 10.00 to get back.. The only draw back was trying to get tickets and the front desk not just selling you the tickets but trying to get you to have breakfast at another hotel to give you a better deal. I said I was not interested in a time share presentation. I went and bought my tickets at the park. If you want to just buy tickets I would just go to the park the line up is not long and they only give a voucher at the hotel. Unless you want to sit at some presentation and get a better deal. Hotel was clean, friendly and if I were going back to Florida I would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thanks Northern Ont. for posting your comment regarding your stay at the Best Western Lakeside.
We appreciate all of your comments and were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Remember that while our shuttle schedule may be limited, once your are on Disney property, you can use their continuous tranportation to any of their parks/hotels. Just make sure you are back at our pick up place for your return trip to the our hotel!
The Guest Service Desk (not too be confused with the Front Desk Check-in area) is not owned by the hotel. You should be able to either book a time share tour and receive heavily discounted attraction ticket pricing or what ever offer they have at the time of your stay; or the 2nd person should just be selling regular attraction tickets for the parks and shows. No tour is required for this.
Can't wait too see you again when you visit Central Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here during her business convention being held at the Gaylord Palms nearby. Although many of her fellow associates chose to stay there, we decided to save some money and stay elsewhere. Orbitz and Best Western didn't disappoint with this selection. Our room was comfortable, cool (great A/C but for one evening after a severe storm knocked out power) and so close to everything. On a couple of occasions we were able to go back to the rooms at the Gaylord Palms and ours was just as nice except they had a flat screen tv. I can live with a functioning tubed tv set.
We did not get to use any of the pools, but they seemed popular and we found them clean when we walked around them.
Our only disappointment came during our first night when we decided to stay on premises for dinner. As we walked into the bar, the bartender told us someone would be with us shortly. Unfortunately, after 15 minutes no one did. When I tell you your choice of eateries is unlimited in this area-it's an understatement. So we left for a meal at the Shoney's down the street.
We will certainly be back to Orlando soon, and this will be at the top of places to stay for us when we do.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwlsales, Director of Sales at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Good evening Central NJ,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel! First of all we are glad that you had a great time while you were here. Hope your Fiance had a successful convention while at the Gaylord. I also want to apologize for the lack of service you experienced in our restaurant. I will make sure this is copied to our Director of Restaurant and our Bar Manager so that they can review and re-train our service personnel.
Make sure you let us know when you are coming back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maingate Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;