We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maingate Lakeside Resort

Save Saved
You added Maingate Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maingate Lakeside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7769 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 159 hotels in Kissimmee
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Weekend Trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed many times at this hotel. First and foremost as a traveler, when we arrive into a town and managements STICKS 100% to we can't check you into a room until 3:00 p.m. we are wasting time in the area. The lobby is full of people standing and sitting around waiting to check in and they are irritable by then. If you are supposed to be out of your room by 11:00 a.m., and the cleaning is done then if there are available rooms let guests check in. Seriously?
Then the rooms are in need of maintenance. The toilet seat was needing adjusting, the shower was dirty. The bed when made looked like the underneath of the spread was not touched.
Our room overlooked the maintenance area which was disgusting to look at.
We will probably stay here again, but would like to see some improvements for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear 2013reviews2013: Thank you for reviewing your stay and for being our guest! We appreciate your feedback. Just to clarify, our check out time is by 12:00 noon and our check in time is anytime after 3:00 pm as with most hotels, however, we absolutely allow for early check in (as early as 8am) if a room is available... It's possible the particular room type you wanted was not available as of yet which is why you had to wait. We do apologize for any misunderstanding and we do value your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    587
    293
    170
    210
See reviews for
622
369
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We've visited Florida numerous times and experience tells us not to spend money on hotels with numerous facilities - we're out all day at the parks and only return to sleep. We want good clean, safe accommodation and having stayed here once before, we knew this meet our needs. As others have mentioned there are enough eating/shopping needs nearby. Shortcut (left out of hotel on to 192 then left at the lights) is brilliant access to disney - great to avoid busy roads! However, saying this, although the rooms are clean, bug free and well-service, the general feel of the place is out-dated and shabby - it certainly needs some TLC and given that they are in some of the top UK travel brochures (Virgin, Thompson etc) they should take care they keep this revenue - I'm sure there are better budget hotels around! My biggest gripe was the broken ice machines - out of five only one was working and that messages left by a friend while we were out were not placed on our answer machine. Would we return, probably yes!












Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Lightning5: Thank you for staying with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We value your feedback and want you to know we are making improvements daily to our facilities. Thank you and we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We read the reviews before we went and I have to admit we were a little worried, but the hotel was great! We have stayed in Orlando many times but this was our first time at this hotel, we had no problems at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful, I'm sure if you needed anything they would help. We actually emailed months before requesting a lakeside room, which we received. There really is nothing wrong with this hotel, the problem seems to be the resort fee, most of the poor reviews are from people who have to pay this. We booked with Thomson, this fee was included. We stayed here with our 2 teenagers and thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had a lakeside room, there were no insects, but this is Florida so you are bound to see them some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sue F: Thank you for staying with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Considering the location, I guess it could be better. First of all, reservations do not mention the "resort tax" of $10 per day. Do not do the bed and breakfast option. It is an OK buffet but you can get a better meal within a walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself needs maintenance throughout. Some of the rooms are updated but very sloppily.
If you are looking for basic, this is it. Rooms are equipped with small refrigerator and decent shower. The cleaning staff was adequate.

Room Tip: Back rooms or those facing lake? are mostly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear BAinCR: Thank you for your review and your feedback. We thank you for staying with us and want you to know we sincerely value your comments. Our breakfast buffet package special is a wonderful option for our guests, and we would like to remind that our buffet allows for 1 child to eat free per paying adult. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

the place was nice and clean, close to the parks , no complaints form this place , the only thing I will love to see is a better tv , they had the really old ones , maybe a flat screen will be nice !!

Room Tip: close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear carlos000007: Thank you for being our guest! It was our pleasure! We thank you for taking time to review your stay and we are currently looking to upgrade our televisions very soon! We hope to see you again real soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My son and I arrived late at the Maingate as we had been travelling all day, check in was fine and we headed off to our room. The room was basic but had everything we needed, beds Bath/shower and a fridge so happy days.
The best thing about the place was the location, 4mins away from Animal Kingdom lodge where we parked everyday and then jumped on the Disney Transport<<<Top Tip.
We ate breakfast several times in the hotel but found that the Ponderosa was a better breakfast so we decided to make that our morning spot.
The bad points, it costs $19.99 for a movie in the room, and the Pizzas from Pizza Hut in the hotel were very expensive, however CiCi Pizza, 2 mins walk away is half the price, and a tip is to take a DVD player and rent a movie from a Red-box self service, we will do that next time.
Would I go back? Yes, it was quiet and the pool was family friendly, we were tired most nights getting back from the parks and just chilled watching a movie in the room, however they do show movies by the pool at night, so if you want peace and quiet, avoid the pool area at night.

Room Tip: Not near the pool area if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jeffrey M: Thank you for being our guest and for your review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to reiterate we do have many specials available, such as 1 child eats free per paying adult for our breakfast buffet and we do offer many Pizza Hut pizza specials. We do hope you come back next time and take advantage of our offers onsite! Thank you and see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived on the 7th September 2013 the 1st room we got was very smelly like damp washing so went back to reception and asked for different room manager was very apologetic and gave us another room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool 100% better the hotel was great the breakfast not so good but only ate there once bit overpriced for what's on offer so had breakfast out the other days but all in all great value for money and free shuttle service to the parks is a great idea and free wifi in the rooms even better will definitely use this hotel next year when we come and would recommend to my friends to

Room Tip: Take a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Paul A: Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are happy to see our management was able to rectify the issue swiftly and apologize for any troubles. We are delighted you had a nice time with us and enjoyed our wonderful breakfast buffet... We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando
Address: 7769 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 159 hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maingate Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.