We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an adequate base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maingate Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Maingate Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Maingate Lakeside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7769 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #56 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Chippenham UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“an adequate base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The rooms are standard motel style with the hand basin outside of the bathroom. The best facility is the buffet breakfast and both egg station chefs, one male one female are extremely courteous and efficient providing anything that you ask for. Please do put a dollar in their basket as they do a wonderful job.
The bar is non-atmospheric and uncomfortable. Not a place to spend more than one drink in. The rooms were cleaned quite well but at various times of the day. The black hair that was draped on the inside of my bathroom door on arrival was still attached 14 days later.
The pools were adequate. I didn`t expect any more due to the low rate.
On leaving the hotel you can walk to several bars / restaurants and 2 mini golf courses. If you take the time to drive 3 minutes to the right you will encounter a Mexican restaurant which is very popular and serves good food to locals and tourists alike. If you want to go into Old Town and have a drink, jump on the Lynx bus opposite the hotel which drops you there in approx 15 minutes. An all day `ride where you want ticket` costs $4.50.

Room Tip: not facing the pool as it is open until 11pm and has karaoke around it every Friday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Corcoran1: It was a pleasure having you as our guest! Thank you for staying with us and for your review and feedback. Your comments are taken seriously and we look to improve where necessary. We are glad you had a nice time with us and thank you for the kind remarks regarding our breakfast staff! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    622
    328
    190
    236
See reviews for
698
423
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. It is a typical two storey American hotel. The rooms have 2 double beds. They also have a fridge which is great for keeping drinks cool and a safe to keep your valuables in. The bathroom and vanity area were spotlessly clean, but the towels are like postage stamps.

The only bad point I have is that we requested a quiet room, but our room was very noisy. It was in Block 8 facing the car park. At 7 a.m. every morning the drivers started their buses up and sat there for 10 minutes or so with the engines running before moving off. This made for a very early start.

On the whole I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget. It is very close to Disney and right on the 192 with lots of restaurants within walking distance. There is free Wi-Fi but only in the lobby. The reception staff that we met were very polite and courteous.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor not facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ann_Marie68Cardiff: Thank you for being our guest and for your review! We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay! We do apologize for any noise issues that may have occurred. We do offer rooms facing each of our 3 pools as well. Our WiFi is in the process of final stages of installation throughout the property. Thank you and please come back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for one week just got back yesterday 14th, was an average hotel typical American motel room bit dated, was clean still no wifi in the rooms yet they are suppose to be getting wifi in all the rooms but don't know when, for what we paid for the holiday this was an ok hotel but one week was enough here for us, my husband said the pool was one of the cleanest he had seen so that's a bonus never used the breakfast buffet so cannot comment on that, it was good to have a fridge iron and ironing board and safe in the room also a hairdryer,the first day we got back there was an envelope on the bed after the maid had been which made it seem like they wanted a tip at the beginning of the holiday which we were not happy with, we did tip but on the day we left, we also had a pizza from the Pizza Hut there that was good, check in was a bit slow and not very welcoming but we were asked if we wanted an upstairs room or downstairs so that was good, we had a lakeside view, but a lot of the rooms have a car park view, air con unit was noisy and draughty if you have a bed near it laundry room was good too 2 dollars in coins for a wash and 2 for drying which we thought was reasonable, Disney was a short drive away there is a short cut from the hotel I'm sure the staff will be able to give you directions

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Pauline S: Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your review. Your feedback is important to us and taken seriously. We are happy to see you were pleased with your guestroom and our 3 pools we have on property! We do apologize for any areas we fell short and are making improvements daily. Our WiFi is being installed throughout the resort as we speak and should be completed in 1 more week! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was a little skeptical with low rates and was so HAPPY to find it was a VERY ENJOYABLE 2 night stay! It is a resort on a smaller scale, but so affordable and very nice! They have a great pool, and show Disney movies for kids at night on a big screen, also karaoke for adults and kids one night, all at the pool! They have a nice restaurant, coffee shop and Pizza Hut Express and a small miniature golf place and playground on site! They have free transportation to Disney and other attractions! Rooms are regular hotel room size and were clean and new carpet with table and chairs! ALL YOU NEED! I'd recommend it to anyone! Park right outside your door and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool are better if you have little ones sleeping early! They have all size beds! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Barb1155: Thank you so much for your review! We sincerely appreciate your comments and for staying with us... It looks like you enjoyed many of our resort's amenities and we thank you for mentioning each one you enjoyed! We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First of all, let me say it was nice to finally find a reasonably priced resort on 192 that was not a dump. This resort was good for the most part. The breakfast buffet was decent and a good value since the kids were free. I think they were a little stingy with the free coffee only available in the lobby from 8-10am. They have got to rush the completion of getting wireless in the guest rooms as that is really missing from this place.
My older daughter and I enjoyed many hours on the miniature golf course, however that could definitely use some sprucing up as it appeared to have never been swept off and was in dire need of some new astro turf and landscaping. The entire resort seemed to be littered with cigarette butts and trash, however I believe this could be fixed by the addition of a bunch of garbage cans and ashtrays. Even in the rooms there was only one small trash can!
The food at the resort was decent, however was basically pizza (they even had it on the breakfast buffet!). The happy hour in Hurricane Sams was nice especially since they had a hot appetizer out to enjoy compliments of the house.
Basically this place is decent but could definitely use some "classing" up, however I would stay here again assuming I could get another room with a king sized bed, because the majority of their rooms have two full (not queen) size beds.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are traveling with a spouse that you get a room with a king size bed. Standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Tampachris25: Thank you for staying with us and thank you for reviewing your stay! We take your comments seriously and are in the process of wireless installation throughout the entire resort as we speak. The mini-golf is scheduled to be painted in the next 2 weeks. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and dining options we provide, including our kids breakfast special where 1 child eats 10 years old and younger eats free per paying adult. Thank you and we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

had a wonderful 10 days stay,staff were very helpfull and frendly,breakfast buffet was very good at only 8 dollers per person and kids eat free,my daughter amy enjoyred every minuet of her stay and was never out of the pool,local ameanities were only a stone throw away,disney parks were 15 minuets away by car,would highly recommend,good value for money,cant wait to go back,best regards to all the helpfull staff who made mine and my daughters stay very plesant,best regards marc.

Room Tip: rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Marc B: Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted to see you and your family had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our breakfast buffet and many other amenities such as our 3 pools! Thank you and we certainly hope to see you folks again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcreggan, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

we had previously stayed at this hotel,and it was okay for the price,went in may this year,what a shock,the room did not appear to be cleaned very often,had to chase for towels and having internet in lobby was very annoying a struggle to relax as in rooms would like to have it in rooms.room was needing attention,as someone had tried to paint not only some walls and not others,they had painted curtains too,drawers stuck,and tv did not work most of the time,we will not be going again to this hotel each the promised so much was being done etc etc,in was a shabbles

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maingate L, Director of Operations at Maingate Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Susannah C: Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We would like to express our sincere apologies for any issues that may have occurred with housekeeping and maintenance of your guestroom. We have management and staff on 24 hours/day that can assist guests with any issues that may arise and will do everything in our means to make it right. We are in the process of installing wireless internet throughout the resort as we speak and apologize it was only available in the lobby during your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback as it is extremely important to us and we can understand why you would feel this way. We do hope you may give us another chance in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maingate Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.