We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was very shocked!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Silver Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 60%
Ranked #16 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“I was very shocked!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

We were at this resort in March of 2006. It was unacceptable! My wife almost stepped on a rattle snake as soon as we walked out of our building! The room was very dirty and the employees at the front desk were not helpful. All we asked for was to change to a clean room. We were in the room only 20 minutes and had to pay for a whole week (again!) at Wyndham Palms resort and country club. I spoke with a lady named Jean after returning from vacation and she refunded all of our money. She was very apologetic! We were in the 1700 building so if you reserve a room at this place ask not to be placed in that building! I'm sure the rest of the resort is not as bad. This was the oldest building...

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    299
    102
    60
    61
See reviews for
500
178
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

We just returned from Silver Lake Resort and after reading some of the reviews on this site, I was afraid, but I was very happy after checking into our room, I agree the ladies at the front desk are not that friendly or helpful but the room was nice, We stayed in one of the new buildings 900's. It was much better then expected... The setup of the 2 bedroom is not very kid friendly, the 2nd room is pretty far away if one of the kids were to wake, I would have never known, which could be good or bad! The floors are very hard, only rugs in the bedrooms! We have a pre-walker and were pretty nervous about falls, but I think thats pretty normal to find Tile floors in FL!
Overall all the rooms was beautiful, we saw the fireworks from disney from our screened in porch, we had a great trip with a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

This place is a complete dump! Photos look NOTHING like the resort! I have stayed many places over the years but this by far is the worst! We were in the 1700 building and it smelled like it had wet carpet that dried out and it also smelled like mildew was in the air conditioning units. It was very nasty and dated. Even the pool area was gross. The woman at front desk were very unpleasant. They all seemed to HATE their jobs! PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

My family of four just spent Feb. 25 - March 4, 2006 at the Silver Lake Resort in the 1700 building. We do not own a timeshare. We were simply staying there after a friend stayed there 2 years ago and had a good experience. So, we went on the internet and checked into it and made a reservation. THEN, After reading the reviews, I was very nervous about what we were getting into, but everything worked out great. Here are the pros and cons of what we experienced.
First, the pros:
We were given a bigger room than we had reserved. We were thrilled to be in a 2 bedroom instead of the one bedroom that we had booked, with 2 full baths. It was immaculately clean. The beds were firm, which is what we prefer. Everything worked -- jacuzzi tub, washer/dryer, appliances, tv, etc. Best of all, the location was absolutely perfect because we were doing Disney all week. The back exit of the resort onto Sherberth Road put us literally 5 minutes from our door to the Animal Kingdom. That was GREAT. It was very easy to navigate Hwy 192 for restaurants and an unexpected trip to buy athletic shoes (SOMEONE forgot to pack theirs....) There was one of everything on 192. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We had to listen to the timeshare presentation and the salesman was very nice and not pushy at all. We were out of there in 90 minutes with no pressure. The pool was beautiful and it was warm enough to swim the last night there. There were towels provided for the pool so we didn't have to use room towels. There were ample diversions at the resort, if we would have wanted to take advantage of them (such as a small movie theatre and a game room) but we were too busy at theme parks to use these amenities. Security seemed to be on the ball.
These are the cons:
Our room's air conditioner did not work. We called about it and it was checked out, and they said someone would fix it the following morning. The following evening when we returned from our day out, we were told that they could not repair the unit but we could move to another room. So we packed up everything and moved to a room with AC 5 floors up at 10:00 at night. That was a big inconvenience, but no harm done. Also, there was one problem with the keys. Our "neighbor" couldn't get his key to work, so security had to reprogram all the keys in a certain area, including ours. Again, just an inconvenience. All the rooms we saw (4 in all) were all solid white walls, white tile, mauve blinds, and slightly dated tropical print furniture. But it was all very clean and very comfy, and we weren't there to look at the pretty pictures on the wall or admire fabric on the couch. There is construction on site, but it appears the work is going on inside the new building, so there was no noise from that. It just looks a little messy on that side of the resort. No Big deal. The back gate onto Sherberth road was a bit tricky to get back in, but only once did we have to give up and go all the way down to Black Lake Road to get back on property. Again, not a big deal. Although the washer/dryer worked and I was very grateful for them, we apparently had the world's slowest dryer -- I had to dry even small loads for a very long time.

So, if you're a family going to the area primarily for the theme parks (especially Disney), I would recommend Silver Lake resort. It's clean, spacious, friendly, comfortable, and close to the action. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

I stayed there 2 nights with my wife. the employees and owners couldn't speak proper English. I think they are arabs! however; the suite was clean.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

We Have recently come back from a fantastic trip to florida staying at the silver lake resort in kissimmee for 14 days.

As we had booked our trip on the internet using discount hotels, to get a good deal we had to go to a "presentation" which was to be honest very painless and pressure free,

On our arrival at sliver lakes we checked in and was given directions to our accomodation which would be home for our family of 2 adults and 2 children, we chose to have a 2 bedroom apartment .

When we got up to the rooms we looked out of the window and was facing a building site, we immedietly asked to be moved to a more suitable room with a nicer view .

We were offered room 1835 with an ajoining room for the kids which was very nice and had all the mod cons described in the brochure except for the plasma screen, but we still had a great room with a 28" screen tv. so there was no problems there. the view was of the fantastic heated pool where my kids played every day, it was hard to get them out some days to go to disney !!.

on the day after our arrival we had a been given an appointment to go to our timeshare presentation so we thought we would go early at 8.30 and have our free breakfast as well. the meeting as i said before was no problems and after we told them we were`nt interested, there was no pressure at all and this left us to get on with our fantastic holiday, incidently the silver lake resort is about 5 minutes from Animal Kingdom and it backs on to the Animal Kingdom lodge, so it was real easy to get to all the parks in no time at all with very little traffic, so if your looking for good accomodation close to all the parks , then i would strongly suggest this property. It may not be Marriot or 5 star accomodation but for value for money this is the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

We stayed at Silver Lake Resort for four days. The suite we had was bright and clean and well appointed, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities are excellent - although it was a little cold this year for the pool! The resort is growing so there is construction - a new block going up and a new kiddie pool under construction.

We took the mandatory 90 minute presentation but I didnt feel any undue pressure from the sales staff. We did buy some time and converted to RCI Points and the staff were most helpful all the way.

A great place to stay and well located close to all the Orlando attractions.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.