We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pools” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Lake Resort
7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom unit at Silver Lake Resort in Kissimmee. Beautiful resort and beautiful, modern, clean room. Nice full kitchen with stainless steel appliances. Stunning bathroom with tub and shower surround and double sink. Nice patio with great view from our room in the 1800 building. Quiet room with nice modern décor and comfortable couch, solid dining table, and new TV. Other huge bonus was having our own laundry in the room. Nice stacked washer and drier was quiet enough that we put some laundry in right before bed. The resort has a really nice main pool (with decent sized hot tub) and smaller pools for each building. Great little cabana (poolside bar) has good food and nightly drink specials. Front desk staff were very friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. The main lobby is modern, spacious, and clean. Really cool amenity is the on-site theatre that plays 2 movies each day (schedule given at front desk). Other nice feature is the shop in the lobby that sells everything you would need from souvenirs to groceries to bathing suits to fresh made sandwiches and subs. Another benefit is the shuttle offered from the resort to all of the major attractions. Leaves the resort in the morning, picks up people from a few other resorts/hotels nearby and brings you back each night. Only bummer is that there is a charge ($10-15 per person round trip). Not a big deal, not a bad price but we came to find out that this is the only resort/hotel in the area where you have to pay for this shuttle service. Other than that, the resort was fantastic. Another service to note is massage therapy offered in-room. Also, nice fitness center. Decent size, clean, and well-maintained. Great value and comfortable setting. Not sure about price as we used RCI points.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 1700 or 1800 buildings are the most central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    263
    90
    56
    55
See reviews for
447
149
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

DONT EXPECT MUCH, WHEN THEY SAY YOU HAVE A REALLY NICE ROOM

Started out okay, but getting to the one bedroom room was a lunch bag let down. I am actually in the room right now writing this review, hopefully I can get it finished before the internet quits again...
Pool seems nice, Manager Paul is not reachable. 2 Hours after speaking harshly with front desk staff I had Donna call from guest services (that is what they call it) housekeeping brought supplies and a new mattress for the pull out while I was speaking with her (how convenient). She basically asked all my complaints so she could have them remedied for future guests. Dont bring a computer or anything that requires a table as this 1 bedroom unit does not have a table suitable. The kitchen table has the high chairs that if you were short or older you you would never get in. Unfortunately these chairs are very uncomfortable to sit in for longer than ten minutes. Be careful of the grounds standing water and mud was very slippery when walking. My daughter slipped and badly hurt her foot. We exchanged in here from RCI and I have to say this is not the worst but at that end of the scale. Hey maybe it will get better its only Monday and we got here on Friday past. Supposed to be a full kitchen......this a B unit and I now know that a B unit stands for bottom of the barrel.
I AM NOW LAUGHING AS I COULD NOT FINISH THIS REVIEW UNTIL NOW AS THE INTERNET QUIT YET AGAIN

IF YOU WERE TRAVELLING WITH ANOTHER COUPLE THESE ROOMS ARE NOT FOR YOU

BEEN WORKING WITH DONNA TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT BUT THIS VACATION HAS ALREADY CAUSED STRESS AND WILL BE HAPPY TO BE MOVING OUT ON FRIDAY TO ORMOND BEACH

WILL UPDATE IF THINGS GET BETTER

Room Tip: To find a good room look at another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlef100
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Silver Lake Resort from Nov 16-23rd. Check in was super fast and easy. Margarita at the activities desk was very helpful throughout our stay. We had a 2 bedroom unit and a one bedroom, and Silver Lake Resort put us in to a connecting unit which was very convenient.

One of the best things about the resort was the location You can't beat it. It was less than 2 miles to Animal Kingdom and the area is very easy to get around. There are a ton of restaurants in the area and a super Target right down the street.

We really liked not having a housekeeper come in to our room everyday. There is a washer and dryer so you can wash your own towels if you need clean ones. Some people don't like that...we did. Remember, it is a condo and not a hotel.

Also, the review that said we felt uncomfortable with people in the parking lot is obviously fake. There is security at both entrances and we felt very safe throughout our entire trip.

The guy in the ice cream parlor was great too! And they guys at the tiki bar. We went to get Ice Cream 5 minutes before he was going to close and he was very friendly and did a great job. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent a week at Silver Lake in a one bedroom lockout on 3Rd floor of 1000 bldg. Room.faced back so our view a a quiet. Room had full kitchen, washer and dryer, king bed, balcony, soaking tub. The stove top elements did not heat up so just used oven for what we needed. No major cooking. Room decor nice and comfortable although couch shows wear.

Check at 10 on was quick. Some mentioned problems with wifi. We had no issues and at no cost.

We did use pool which was heated_ that was nice. We also went to movie theater there one night. Popcorn was provided for $.50.

We did not do alot at resort but was extremely comfortable and ,clean and convenient to stores and other attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a 3 BR unit which actually was a 1BR and 2BR joined together. Each had their own kitchen and washer and dryer and screened in porch. We were in building 900 on the top floor. It overlooked open space and we could see Disney fireworks. The building had an elevator. All 3 BR's had a king bed. The beds were very comfortable. The furniture looked newer and was comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. The unit was very clean and everything was working. The staff was friendly and check in and out was fast. The location to the Disney parks was excellent. We got this unit through our RCI timeshare and couldn't been more pleased. It worked nicely for our family of young boys. The only negative was that the pool was very cloudy. We didn't spend much time at the resort so it wasn't a big deal. We were not bothered by the sales people once we told them we were not interested in purchasing anything.

If you have children, do go to the water parks for a break. They are not expensive and FUN. Our children enjoyed them as much as Disney.

We were there on Halloween and paid to go to the Disney Not So Scary Halloween Party at night. Kids loved it. They limit the number who can attend which made it nice.

Also, the Whispering Canyon Cafe in Wilderness is a blast. Good food too. Just be sure to make a reservation.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, make sure your building has one. All don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by Holiday Travel Info as one of the stays on a timeshare promo.

I traveled with a friend, we are 2 ladies of 63 and 72 who are just in remission from cancer. We asked for 2 seperate beds and thought thats what we were booked for. WRONG!!!!!!!!! The resort had us in a 1 bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the loungeroom that doubled as a second bed. When we went to reception to request we be moved to a 2br apartment, we were told that they could not change us that it could only be done by the travel agent that booked the room. RUBBISH!!!!!!! The room looked dated and small. The phone in the loungeroom and bedroom did not work at any time while we were there. We finally managed to get onto Holiday Travel Info who organised to get us moved to a 2br apartment on the 4th day of our 6 day stay. We declined and had them book us a room at the Hilton Coco Beach which we had to pay for.

What should have been a celebratory vacation turned out to be very stressful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just got back from a week stay at this resort and it was great!
It is a smaller resort but we like it that way and you wont have to drive your car to go to the pool or any other place at the resort
the location is great, handy to Disney and restaurants. The room was spacious and updated, we had a 2 bed room unit with a balcony.
When we arrived, the toilet in the master batch was not flushing correctly but someone responded to our call in about 15 min to fix it and you cant beet that.
I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando’s Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida’s premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire.*Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. ft. clubhouse.9,000 sq. ft. heated swimming pool.Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building.Satellite pool adjacent to main pool.Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks.Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children’s pool, outdoor BBQ grills.Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children’s play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court.*All Villas Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper.*Proposed Future Amenities:Full deli and convenience store.Sand volleyball court.Two additional tennis courts.50,000 gallon outdoor swimming pool.*Development Plan:When fully developed, Silver Lake Resort will consist of 632 designer-furnished vacation villas. One, two and three bedroom villas will be offered with square footage ranging between 735 and 1907. *Now Completed:292 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas72 three bedroom villasAwards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.