We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Silver Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Room and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We used the RCI timeshare exchange program to book a week at the Silver Lake Resort for a week of Disney World. This was not our first choice of resorts, but was the only one available. After reading the reviews on this website, I was a bit concerned about our stay. I'm not sure about the other reviewers, but we had a great time!!!! Check-in was very easy. We checked in about an hour early and had to wait for our room. We took advantage of the time to wander around the resort. Once we had our keys, we moved our stuff into our room. We had a 2 bedroom and it was great.

We put the 2 girls in the second bedroom. Our 16 year old son claimed the couch and they were all happy that each bedroom and the living room had a TV. The only "issue" we had was that our building (1700) was without hot water. I called the front desk and they told us that it would take most of the day to replace the broken part. They offered to let us into a spare room to bathe.

Our building was right next to two pools and the arcade/activities center. It was also one of the few buildings to have adequate parking. Not that you can't find a place to park, but some of the other buildings have very limited parking right in front and you will be forced to park and walk (though it really isn't that far).

The best aspect of the hotel, though, was the proximity to Walt Disney World. The back gate of the resort leads to a road that runs into Animal Kingdom Lodge. This is a very easy way to get in and out of Walt Disney World.

I would definitely recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    285
    99
    58
    57
See reviews for
480
166
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

My dad won the bid for a 1 week stay at a charity auction. We had a two bedroom lock out room 9108. The main living space was okay, however my parents said that their pillow top bed was very uncomfortable. Their room did have a funny smell not sure what it was but I did notice some black stains above the stacked washer/dryer which I suspect was mold. I also noticed it was around a vent in the hallway. My daughter and I stayed in the other room that had a very comfortable bed, bathroom, microwave, mini-fridge. The staff was very nice and helpful.
They gave you bath and body works products in bathrooms and coffee, etc. Air conditioning worked well. It was an okay place to stay nothing to exciting accept for the location to disney. They did have 2 big pools which were kept nice.

  • Liked — Location to disney
  • Disliked — Smell in the main room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

My family and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Orlando. We stayed at Silver Lake Resort for 8 days. We were very happy. Check in was a breeze. The staff were all very professional. We were in condo 10202A which has 2 bedrooms. Everything was nice and clean. Our bedroom faced the parking lot, but there was no outside noise from the other vacationers. The grounds were very well kept. Plenty of activities kept us busy and free from boredom when we were not at the parks. Disney is literally within 5 - 10 minutes from the resort and you are within 20 minutes from the airport. We found several malls and outlets less than 20 minutes away for the shoppers, and if you love the beach, a day trip to Cocoa Beach was only 1 hour and 15 minutes away. I have nothing but good things to report. My family of 4 will return.

Dee
Atascocita, Texas

  • Liked — It was centrally located.
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Before going to the resort, I constantly read the reviews. I was very worried about what we were going to encounter when we arrived. When we arrived, before my family got out of the car, I went to preview the room to make sure everything was in order. I must say, the room was very nice. We had a 3 bedroom lock-off which was really roomy. It could fit up to 12 people easily. Every room was clean, including the bathrooms (which we had 3 of by the way!) The pool was great. In addition to the big pool located in the middle of the complex, there was also a smaller pool located by our building, builiding 10. The location to all of the attractions was unbeatable. We had no trouble with the staff. My family and I did purchase a timeshare while we were there, but felt no pressure to do so. The furniture is a little outdated, but it was clean. The bed was comfortable. There were flat screen TVs located in each linving room. The only con was the router for the TV in one room was not nailed all the way to the wall and fell from the wall. However, we notified the front desk and it was fixed promptly.

My family and I really enjoyed our stay. I don't know why other guests had so many bad things to say.

  • Liked — Location, overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I was a bit worried to stay here after reading all of the reviews but the resort is very nice. We stayed in the 1700 building and the rooms were great. They were fully stocked and had a washer and dryer which was very conveniant with kids. The location to the theme parks is great. The grounds of the resort and the pool area are very nice. They offered different activities throughout the week but we were to busy with other things to take advantage of them. We did take part in the $2 ice cream social and it was very nice.The only real complaints I had was with the girl who worked at the the pool bar. She was not very friendly and would spend most of her time on the phone . If you were not male then you had to scream at her for service. The other problem is that the playground was not much and they needed to have one closer to the pool area. All in all our stay was great and We would stay again.

  • Liked — the location to the parks
  • Disliked — the pool staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed over the Easter long weekend in 2008. We booked through saveonresorts.com. The price for the weekend included a timeshare pitch that lasted 90 minutes. In exchange for listeninig, they provided us with 2 disney tickets.
The facility was nicely laid out, but dated. The pool area looked pleasant and clean. The room itself was clean. We had a problem one day with opening the door. The staff didn't seem to know what to do. It took several trips to the front desk and about a 15 minute wait for security and another 10 for maintenance to arrive and fix the problem. For some reason, the A/C in the hallway was at full blast and was really cold.
The rooms themselves are decent. Well worth it for a small family. They charge a fee if you use the kitchenette for cleaning but if you plan on saving money, again worth the charge.
It's located just off 192 near a McDonald's. It's Orlando, so don't expect to go out walking. But you are a short drive from all the tourist attractions and subsequent restaurants.
I woulnd't pay a lot to stay here. But for the right price, and if you don't mind a condo like vacation rental, its worth it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This property was not all what we were promised. The shower floor was absolutely hideous and filled with filth. We wore shower shoes the entire time we were there. The hot tub in our unit had mildew around the jets. I would NOT recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando’s Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida’s premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire.*Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. ft. clubhouse.9,000 sq. ft. heated swimming pool.Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building.Satellite pool adjacent to main pool.Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks.Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children’s pool, outdoor BBQ grills.Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children’s play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court.*All Villas Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper.*Proposed Future Amenities:Full deli and convenience store.Sand volleyball court.Two additional tennis courts.50,000 gallon outdoor swimming pool.*Development Plan:When fully developed, Silver Lake Resort will consist of 632 designer-furnished vacation villas. One, two and three bedroom villas will be offered with square footage ranging between 735 and 1907. *Now Completed:292 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas72 three bedroom villasAwards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.