We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pools and the location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Silver Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Detroit, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved the pools and the location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at this resort in February and I was very pleased overall! We got a super rate through the Armed Forces Vacation Club and I thought it was an awesome value. The only hiccup we had was check in. We arrived early about 1 pm and were told our room was being cleaned and would be ready soon. Well soon ended up meaning 4:30 or so. But the condo itself was very nice! We had a two bedroom remodeled one overlooking a pond. Granite counters, tile floors throughout, and a good assortment of kitchen essentials. The condo had a stackable washer dryer which was perfect as I have 2 little kids who are very messy!

The main pool area was beautiful! Tons of lounge chairs and the pools were heated which we definitely needed in February! We played bingo by the pool one day my 4 year old enjoyed himself a lot. There was also a snack stand bar which had good but pricey drinks.

Location was excellent. The resort is right behind Animal Kingdom off of a major road so there were plenty of restaurants and groceries nearby. It took us about 15 minutes to the magic kingdom parking lot and twenty five minutes to Sea World.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    290
    100
    59
    58
See reviews for
487
168
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked through RCI for a weeks stay for 4 people. The rooms were supposed to be brand new but they were merely "renovated". When I questioned getting a new room the lady at the front desk immediately gave me attitude like I was doing something wrong and was 100% unhelpful. When I got to the room it only had one full bed and a crappy, low end pull-out couch. The furniture was completely worn like it was purchased at a thrift store. The tv was smaller than the microwave, hung from the ceiling 20 feet away and such poor resolution that I could barely see it. I turned the faucet on and got squirted with water because it was broken and they had to send someone up to put in a whole new one. After traveling 13 hours the last thing I wanted to do was watch a guy sit in our room for an hour fixing the sink. They refused to let us switch rooms without paying a $32 fee for housekeeping because we had already disturbed the room. A few hours later I find a cockroach on the wall. I call again and all they tell me is they'll send someone to check there aren't more and refused still to give me a new room. Then as I'm getting ready to go to bed I notice I can hear every word from the room next to us because the walls were so thin. By far the most disgusting place I've ever stayed at with the most disgusting service I've ever experienced. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in block 17 in a 2bedroom unit in February. It had not been updated but was spotlessly clean with plenty of facilities and we had no complaints at all. We had previously asked the resort for a unit near the pool and this was granted. The reception staff were very helpful. We didn't have a car but walking to nearby restaurants was no problem at all. We had a choice of at least 15 and would highly recommend the red lobster. We got a taxi to magic kingdom and animal kingdom as we wanted to go earlier than the shuttle and for 3 people was cheaper. We came back on the local bus - you had to change at celebration drive but it was only 2 dollars each. The bus drivers and fellow passengers were so helpful. I have stayed in lots of timeshare units in this area and would certainly return. A lot of reviews complain about wifi. I had a problem on the last couple of days in reception but they gave me a password for free so that I could use it in the room and it was fine.

Room Tip: If you haven't a car blocks 17 and 18 are good for reception and the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This tops my list of where NOT to vacation next time.
The good- very close to Animal Kingdom, nice large pools & jacuzzi, lots of on-site amenities.
The bad- half the amenities were closed &/or broken. Golf simulator had been out of service for months with no plan to repair or replace it, according to staff. The wi-fi is only accessible from the lobby. The 'office' with computers & printers had no working printer- just paper signs taped to them saying "out of order"; the front desk gave me an email address to send my paperwork to, and said they would print it for me - they gave me the wrong email address, necessitating multiple trips to the lobby before getting the correct address (they wrote the email address down for me so it was not a case of me mis-understanding). The only food available is processed junk food- nothing in the way of real, whole foods.
Most of the nearby restaurants advertise delivery, take-out, and hours of operation- though 6 different restaurants we tried refused delivery, take-out, and had shorter hours than advertised. The nearest 5-6 'grocery stores' had NO meat (unless you count beef jerky), no fresh vegetables, and were not much better than a 7-11 store.
When I went to the desk for purchasing Theme park tickets and asked about some of the options, the desk worker waived his hand in the direction of the brochure wall & said 'it's all over there', then left the desk to go talk with a co-worker, leaving me standing there.
When out by the one positive amenity (the pool) , one is subjected to blaring music so loud it is difficult to carry on a conversation- not to mention the fact that one is subjected to someone else's choice in music. The music never stopped, but blared incessantly whenever the pool was open. The views from our balcony were of a parking lot and an abandoned construction site, overgrown with weeds.
The 2 bedroom unit we were in was a nice size, pretty clean, slept 6 (with a hide-a-bed) but only had 4 serving pieces of dishes and cutlery, so we had to eat in shifts, washing dishes in the middle of every 'meal'.
Furniture and linens were ok, though need more maintenance. The window treatments were noticeably sagging in the middle of each window.
They advertised that linens would be changed once in mid-week. This consisted of them picking up our used towels, and leaving a pile of replacement towels on the dining table. Couldn't even be bothered to separate them and put some in each bathroom, much less actually hang them up.
I realize this is not a 4-star hotel, but I've had better experiences at small motels in most of the 3rd world countries I've visited!
I heartily recommend finding some other accommodations unless all you want to do is lay by the pool , listening to their music, while eating Cheetos, beef jerkey, and beer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week back in October. Overall the resort is pretty nice. Room was updated and had everything you would need for a family stay in Florida. Only issue we encountered during our stay was access to the internet in the room. They do charge you for this service but we were unable to stay connected to the internet. After contacting the front desk serveral times we were able to get a refund on a service they could not provide very well. We also needed a new iron and it took them about 45 minutes to get us one but they did show up with a new one. I've stayed in serveral other resorts over my years of traveling and this is one of the first places I've seen where you had to sign out your pool towels. They then issue you a card for the pool towels and if you don't return your towels you'll be charged for the missing towels. Almost all places I've stayed has always had towels right next to the pool. Just find this to be a pain to have to go to the acitivies center to get towels then walk all the way back to the pool. Overall the property was fine and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travel all the time, all over the world and have visited this area dozens of times but we were extremely disappointed with the tiny size of our D unit. This was supposed to be a one bedroom apartment for 4 people and this was smaller then most efficiencies. You could barely walk by the dresser, or anywhere in the apartment. I traded a week from normally beautiful units. Very disappointed with that! That was a robbery. I have to say that the staff was very friendly and there is a wonderfully sized pool but the grounds need a tremendous upgrading. Nothing to look at to impress, like a drab apartment complex. Security was great, pool bar was yummy food, good drinks and friendly too. Just make sure you don't get a one bedroom because it was terrible.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a one bedroom 4/4, they are horribly tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently spent two weeks at Silver Lake Resort and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The resort was very clean and well maintained. We would definitely go there again. We were in two different 1 bedroom units and each had a washer and dryer.

Room Tip: The 900 building has a heated pool right next to it. Very convenient Our unit was on the end and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando’s Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida’s premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire.*Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. ft. clubhouse.9,000 sq. ft. heated swimming pool.Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building.Satellite pool adjacent to main pool.Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks.Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children’s pool, outdoor BBQ grills.Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children’s play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court.*All Villas Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper.*Proposed Future Amenities:Full deli and convenience store.Sand volleyball court.Two additional tennis courts.50,000 gallon outdoor swimming pool.*Development Plan:When fully developed, Silver Lake Resort will consist of 632 designer-furnished vacation villas. One, two and three bedroom villas will be offered with square footage ranging between 735 and 1907. *Now Completed:292 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas72 three bedroom villasAwards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.