We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and GREAT location for Disney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Lake Resort
7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
North Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly and GREAT location for Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and 3 young children and I stayed here for a week during the summer of 2012. This was our first family trip to Disney and we loved the close proximity to many of the Disney properties at a fraction of the cost. A relative of ours had access to a super discounted week stay (Realtor access to timeshare properties, I think) so it was also a great value for our dollar. We discovered one of our kids' classmates was also down for Disney at the same time and after seeing their room at the Caribbean Resort (think Disney motel 6) we were so thankful for the upgrade we made to a two bedroom suite at Silver Lake! We will NEVER spend the kind of $$$ that Disney resorts charge when we can get a week's stay in a spacious condo like this one! Dated or not, the size and location make up for a lot for folks like us... There's a Chick-fil-A and Target around the corner from here (as well as many other places, but this might give you an impression of what we like) so you can stock up on cheap eats. The pool was nice but what was a real treat was the chance to drop off our 2 girls ages 4 & 6 to an afternoon movie at the little movie theatre and take a chance to give some attention to our 3 year old for a couple of hours. Did I mention the closeness to Disney? Particularly Animal Kingdom? There is a back road that can get you to the A-K parking lot entrance within 5 min's! And you can be on the main road towards EPCOT and the Magic Kingdom in another 5 min's! I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    265
    90
    56
    55
See reviews for
448
149
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Just wrapping up a stay at Silver Lake Resort. The good: great location, efficient front desk, gift shop that has almost anything you could need and large main pool with kids activities.

The bad...some of the units are VERY dated. Not what I would expect from a resort rated 4 stars. The Cabana at the pool was closed on New Years Day, too many smokers at the pool and cabana. Maybe a smoking section would help. The pool is loud at night so you can't leave your windows open if you wold like to sleep.

Overall....just okay

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went through RCI and traded points for two Villas during Christmas week. The rooms were perfect for us! Large, spacious, clean and plenty of space to spread out. One of the Villas was a one bedroom but had two sleeper sofa's and we slept four this here. The kitchen was even larger than the two-bedroom suite we also had. The kitchens were well stocked and anything we needed that wasn't there -- they quickly brought up to us. The staff there bent over backwards to assist us. Nichole was our go-to person! The location was great - set well off busy 192, it was very quiet and secluded, yet super convenient to Disney and the other parks. Also, the pool was heated - which is a great plus in the winter in Orlando when the temps drop in the evenings. Would definitely recommend this to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask for one of the newly remodeled units. The top floor units are very spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We are at what they call the hotel part.. Appears to be a chopped up condo because room isthe size of a shoe box. Rug is filthy.. We started to change room.. But it was the same or worse at different room. Asked for a condo, they went mute. Get here in daylight, place is poorly marked..
Logistics here are a nightmare. They have a coffee pot in room, not cups..you have to call security. They have a safe in room, but you have to call security to come to room.. They have pool towels, but you gave to go somewhere and pay a deposit to get them.
They have Disnay tickets at a discount, but you have to attend a sales seminar. Stand tuned.i can feel the pressure. Everything is so scattered around you just give up. Concerge is worthless.. She could not speak good English and seems all they have to offer is selling Disney tickets..
We, after a waste of time are at the pool with "our" beach towels.. Dreading sales pitch and may cancel.. They threaten a $50 charge for a no show and a wake up call.. So Mickey Mouse! LOL
Anyway, if you are married or something with kids and get a 2/2 Condo maybe this will work for you. Still no 4 star..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms were modern with granite countertops, modern dark wood furniture, lcd tv in each room, fully equipped kitchen, comfy furniture. The master has nice modern ensuite. The extra room we had consisted of two full size beds. Not suited for anyone taller than 5'10" unless you sleep in a cradle position. There are daily activities for the kids. Some cost a few dollars. Xbox experience was around $10. There were multiple pools. Two by the clubhouse and gameroom. One was large and more for family. Another by the clubhouse seemed to cater more to adults. They also had movie night with the kid movie around five and adult movie around 7. Lastly there was a tennis court, average outdoor basketball court, and kids playground. Oh yeah. 24hr guards at both entrances. Magic kingdom is practically their back door, but animal kingdom entrance is the closest a couple turns away. Ok thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The resort is comfortable and has a well stocked full kitchen. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. Walls of collapsible units are thin, but it was not a problem for us. Children really liked going to the pool. Overall good, nice Caribbean ambiance

The Eatery by the pool was not cost effective for us, and lacked choice of menu but on the plus side, the resort is very close to the Disney Parks and a few minutes walk away from lots of shops and eateries on the famous Kissimmee Drive. It is best to hire a car.

I would be very wary of going to a sales presentation to buy into timeshare again. Lots of promises were made to us that are not true. We found the customer service when we had a complaint was non-existent. There is also what we call a two-tier system that is not explained to you - one for Americans and another one for Europeans. It seems like the Americans have a better deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent an extremely enjoyable week at Silver Lake in early December in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit.Starting with Giselle at the front desk as she found us the perfect room for our stay. Usually we end up in a room with the "Walkers" staying directly above us keeping us awake until late at night with their walking in high heel shoes! Giselle spent a lot of time finding us a room that was perfect. Speaking of perfect, how many time share second bedroom units have you stayed in that had a KING bed in the second bedroom? The accommodations for my Sister in law were fantastic. She had never been in a time share before and was thoroughly impressed. Most notable was the comfort of the beds in the unit. Wish we had as comfortable bed back home as there was at Silver Lake. Unit was absolutely spotless when we arrived, plenty of paper products and soaps. Everyone treated us extremely well, very friendly and helpful. We rented an electric scooter for the week and it was at the lobby when we arrived. The folks at the front desk were very helpful in getting it to our car as well as returning it. When we had a problem with the key card opening our door, Security responded quickly and fixed the problem. Then when I inadvertently let the door swing shut behind me with the key card inside, Security was there to let me in almost instantly. (Guess Security is glad to see us leave!!!) If I was forced to mention one negative with our stay, it would be the location of the hot tub. There is only one on the premises and it located behind the Welcome Center, which is a bit of a walk from our 900 unit. Wasn't a problem for me, but my wife has a bit of a problem walking and had to drive there. All in all, it was a fantastic first time visit to Silver Lake Resort. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: Seek out Giselle to find a unit that meets your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando’s Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida’s premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire.*Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. ft. clubhouse.9,000 sq. ft. heated swimming pool.Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building.Satellite pool adjacent to main pool.Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks.Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children’s pool, outdoor BBQ grills.Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children’s play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court.*All Villas Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper.*Proposed Future Amenities:Full deli and convenience store.Sand volleyball court.Two additional tennis courts.50,000 gallon outdoor swimming pool.*Development Plan:When fully developed, Silver Lake Resort will consist of 632 designer-furnished vacation villas. One, two and three bedroom villas will be offered with square footage ranging between 735 and 1907. *Now Completed:292 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas72 three bedroom villasAwards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;