We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Surprised!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Silver Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
1 review
“Absolutely Surprised!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Rm# 1852 (8/5-8/12)

Checked in late and wth no problems. Reps were pleasant for check-in/check-out. Room 1br king and full-size pull out. Party size 2 adults and 2 children. Were all comfortable for 1 wk. Think of living an apartment, yes you may here some noise. If the possibility of noise concerns you house rentals may be more accomodating! Enclosed balcony, dual door bath, free standing shower, jacuzzi tub, full kitchen with everything I needed to budget meals for my family. Very large complex. Tennis/basketball courts, activities around pool, gift shop, fitness, game room, small playground, golf simulator, movie theater for the kids,etc,etc,etc. Runs off Irlo Brunson memorial pkwy....major roadway. Those who have complained....VERY HIGH STRUNG! I'm not an insect lover and the only ones i saw were natural habitants outside....no bugs inside ever! Slept like a baby and plan on returning. Oh yeah...do we really change towels at home everyday. Its an apartment not a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    290
    100
    59
    59
See reviews for
487
168
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our second week and second resort on our Florida vacation, so we were a little disappointed to check out of Summer Bay Clermont into this dated little resort in Kissimmee. We used some of our RCI points for a one bedroom unit. Staff were very pleasant; gym size is deceiving, when you first walk by, so go inside and you will be greeted by a fully equipped gym. Recreation room was dated and only has a few arcade games and a ping-pong table. Although our unit was dated, it was very clean--Kudos to the Cleaning Crew!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel with 2 adults and three teens. We had a 2 bedroom suite. It was roomy and we enjoyed having 2 bathrooms. The master bedroom was very large and the ensuite bath had a huge tub with jacuzzi and a shower. The smaller bedroom suited the three girls well. The sitting room had a nice sofa and chair and a dining area and there was a full kitchen. We appreciated that we could eat breakfast in our room and also enjoy late night ice cream in our room. The hotel pool is big and the girls enjoyed swimming there. I would nevertheless say this hotel was less than ideal. We found the place on the internet and after seeing the photos, decided to book it. We called and were offered a much discounted rate if we took a time share tour. We agreed. We were told to check in at Silver Lake but on arrival, we discovered we had in fact been booked into a hotel that was about 8 miles away. We called the booking service and the staff were astonishingly rude -- the man I spoke with said in a very nasty tone, "don't get snotty with me." I asked to speak to a supervisor and she was scarcely better. For an additional $100, we could stay at Silver Lake, the resort we thought we had booked in the first place. We agreed reluctantly because after a long, hot drive we didn't want to get back into the car and drive 8 miles away from Disney in heavy traffic. There was not a hint of an apology although she agreed our reservation statement emailed to us did not make clear we had been put into a different resort that was obviously less appealing. The hotel staff kept telling us that we were not booked through them and they couldn't help with anything. For example, they had us booked for 3 nights and wanted us to pay resort fees and taxes for 3 nights. I showed them my copy of my emailed reservation clearly stated 2 nights. They kept telling me that they couldn't fix it but no one at the booking agency answers the phones. The whole thing began on such a sour note and it never really changed. Also the resort charges $16 a day for wifi and it is an obvious cash grab. The whole thing just seemed like a sham and that no one was taking responsibility for ensuring good service. I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We scheduled a stay in a handicap accessible unit, called multiple times prior to our arrival to confirm. Unit was decorated in away that a wheelchair can not get through kitchen table blocked the door way to the bedroom, once in the bedroom you could not move the chair through the room, but most importantly the wheelchair could not get into the bathroom due to the bed being in the way!! I called and asked if there was another unit and was told they are all the same size square footage wise. What is a wheelchair person to do if they can't get to the bathroom??

Then the roaches appeared MANY roaches... We called and let them know, they sent the maintenance guy the next morning with his can of Raid. And, when we asked if that was a roach, the maintenance guy said, "Yes, this is a cockroach this is Florida you're gonna see them".

We were only there 2 days and had to leave as we still could not get the wheelchair in the bathroom, we headed down to a nearby resort. Where it was still summer in Florida and did not see a single cockroach, with the exception of the first night there, we brought one with us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a RCI resort, and we found on web. We took our chance, because I called and did a lot of research. This property was very maintained inside and outside, in our unit, bldg.1700.We had no problems, they must take out all used cooking utinsels, before next use, because they were spotless.the front desk was very friendly and when I needed something (extra towels, door lock wouldn't work)they were right there.The pool area is beautiful and plenty of chairs and tables. There was a little pooltiki restrueant and bar, very reasonable for afternoon snack.They provide pool towels, movie night, every night, and a game room. It is close to everything disney and Universal.You will need some supplies, dishwasher soap, detergent paper towels.Take a look in closets and cabinets before buying anything and make sure you need extras, because they do supply some. I think a cooler is a great ideal, ice machine at bldg. so you can take drinks out to pool,no glass...Pay for tickets on line, cheaper. we had a great time, enjoyed sunset setting on nice enclosed patio!There was people talking about problems within their units, but if you don't say anything ,and with respect to another person, as you would like to be treated, than it may not be good for you. With a resort undergoing renovations, you may receive a older unit, ask! Investigate first and call the resort direct and ask questions. NO begbugs!

Room Tip: Bldg 1700 was close to pool and elevators. we were on third floor in a 1 bedroom. Very nice all over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked thru Armed Forces Vacation Club..was very leary after reading other reviews..I can say don't believe everything you read..Room was clean, more than enough space..pool was beautiful..staff very friendly..we were in 1700 bldg,(1 bedroom) our balcony facing pool area..my sister stayed the same week across the hall ( I called Mon before checking in to see if we could be near each other), if you are going with kids(like we did) plenty for them to do..Checked in Fri, spent Sat at the pool all day (kids made lots of friends) Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed did the Disney thing..Thur all day at the pool..loved this resort..My key quit working after the 1st day..I went to the desk-told them the problem-new keys in 5 min..next day security came to check to see if I was still having problems...All I can say is this is an older resort but well maintained and can't wait to stay here again..Pool closes at 11:00, never heard noise from there after that..had a neighbor, never heard a sound, was on the 2nd floor of a 5 floor bldg, never heard a sound from anywhere...

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool in 1700 bldg get sun in AM...so if it's summer and you sit on porch for coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Our trip was amazing!!! I was nervous after reading some of the reviews but our stay was nothing like some other visitors suggested. Our room was very clean, plenty of towels, and absolutely no bedbugs. We stayed in the 1700 bldg. and though the bed was a little softer than I like, it wasn't uncomfortable. There was much for the kids and the poolside cabana makes excellent wing and smoothies. I would stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando’s Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida’s premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire.*Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. ft. clubhouse.9,000 sq. ft. heated swimming pool.Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building.Satellite pool adjacent to main pool.Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks.Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children’s pool, outdoor BBQ grills.Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children’s play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court.*All Villas Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper.*Proposed Future Amenities:Full deli and convenience store.Sand volleyball court.Two additional tennis courts.50,000 gallon outdoor swimming pool.*Development Plan:When fully developed, Silver Lake Resort will consist of 632 designer-furnished vacation villas. One, two and three bedroom villas will be offered with square footage ranging between 735 and 1907. *Now Completed:292 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas72 three bedroom villasAwards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.