We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silver Lake Resort to your Saves list
Silver Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Booked a 1 bedroom condo/room in building 900. Upon entering the building we were at bit apprehsive about how the room would be. It looked rather dated with narrow hall way and sorta dark. The entry door actually opened to a foryer shared with another room. We opened our room door and was pleasently surprised at the layout of the room, and the accomodations. The furniture was better than adequate, the kitchen was well equipped, the bath was large and had the washer/dryer unit hid away in a closet-like room. It was veary clean and (considering it was Florida, not a bug to be found... wife looked closely). The ground has 3 pools (1 adult pool just outside of building 900) and a large pool area with a snake/bar area at the main pool location. Also a great fitness room and a just so-so arcade for kids (older video game machines and a couple of fun pin ball machines... remember those?).
Security was not an issues as there are only 2 ways to get in and they are monitored 24/7 with gate guards. The resort was about 3-4 miles from Disney and/or Universal Studio theme parks and easy to get to. They offered discount vouchers to local golf courses and tours... We didn't take those so I cannot comment on them, but we saw many folks in the main lobby waiting for the buses. Many stores, resturants close by and grocery stores as well.
For the money, this was a great stay and we will be going back again next year. Don't expect a Ritz-Carlton atmosphere, but if you're looking for a clean, safe and much better than "adequate" accomdation, it's a place to consider.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    296
    102
    60
    61
See reviews for
496
171
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stay in one of the king "hotel" units in Feburary. We've stayed in time shares before but the 9000 building was the first time we encountered the two unit in one system.We shared an enterance way with the main unit that had a condo style set up..maybe one or two bedrooms.
Which wasn't a problem at all but it was impossible to close the enterance door without a loud bang (Im sorry if the people next to us were bothered by this..I really tried to be quiet even if you werent)
Anyway...the sows ear thing...the unit was builder grade...nothing special at all...the bathroom fan was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think.One towel bar that was to hold towels for the whole week.(4 bath 4hand 4face cloths)Cheap shower head the ones you have to move around just to get a good soaking.One very small vanity with no room on the counter.The plastic vertical blinds wouldnt darken the room and kept falling off the track,Im sure they would have come to fix them but we didnt call.The enterance to the room had an electicial box in full view..(tacky)..could have at least painted to blend in with the wall...dark green carpet that was worn with traffic..and those gawd awful mirrored closet doors that let you have a real good look at the beauty you are first thing in the morning, right beside the bed..And The oldest tv I have seen in a long time....
Now the Silk purse thing...The towels in the bathroom were thick and wonderful, they have Bath and Body Works toileties..always a plus! The king bed and duvet..well it was top of the line Loved it....Enjoyed the screened in balcony.
The pools and activity areas the very well kept.The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking them every morning.The staff very friendly.Restaurant was abit expensive but we didnt use it.
Nicely located to everything but it was alittle hard to find...thank goodness for GPS.Meet a gentleman in the elevator that drove around for 2 hours looking for the place.He was alittle cranky....
Our unit had a bar fridge,mirco wave,dishes for two and a coffee maker..it was all we need.The little store in lobby had groceries and sundries.
Would we stay again...yes!!
So for what we paid it was great....

Room Tip: Some buildings don't have elevators so check first you need help.They also rent the units for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Check in - We requested a newer unit & we were told none available. We did check in early at 2.

Unit - The unit was in the 1800 building no flat screen tvs, old formica counters, small bedroom,screened in porch with 2 cheap lonely chairs & no table. We did face the pool which was nice & we could hear the entertainment. This was a 1 bedroom on the 4th floor.

Pool - The pool area is nice the hot tub very large the food at the cabana is tasty & priced right.

Our toilet was clogged 2 days in a row what a pain.

I complained about not having a patio table that is what started the poor customer service. They were very nasty & uncaring of our wants & needs.

Timeshare talk - Our salesman was very nice but we were told it would take 90 minutes it started going closer to 2 hours. We did not buy our salesman was also very surprised that the unit did not have a patio table, & he also told us that we would never have been given a newer unit because we came in under the sales program. That is a lie we were told when we booked the package.

I did not like the customer service & the lies told by both sides at Silver lake management & the timeshare people who do not work together.

It is possible that we were spoiled last year we stayed at Star Island Resort & it was fantastic

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Security Concern: Silver Lake Points Resort has modified the function of the privacy button on the interior of some locksets. This button, when depressed by the guest when inside the room, is designed to prevent entry by housekeeping and service personnel with master card keys. As a result of the resort’s modification, the button can be depressed but the card reader does not prevent entry. Guests can check the lockset by trying to open the door with their card key from the outside with the privacy button depressed. If the lock opens, a master key will open the door and the room is not secure.

We were looking forward to our recent stay at the Silver Lake Points Resort. We have stayed several weeks in the past and always had an excellent experience. This stay was problematic, mostly because of the security concern covered above.

The resort has manned security gates. Check-in was smooth and friendly. We arrived around noon hoping to check-in early. We were able to pre-register and received instructions to return at 4 PM to pickup our card keys. We were directed to the tour desk to receive a vehicle pass where we were offered ticket discounts or $80 to tour. We declined.

We returned at 4 PM and quickly received our keys. We had exchanged into a one bedroom and were assigned to a “G” unit in Building 900. The unit was clean and fresh. This unit abuts a studio with a common lobby such that the pair could be used as a two bedroom. Our unit had seating and dishes for 6. The kitchen was a little small. Storage was limited and the stove drawer was used to store pots and pans. The bottom drawers in the refrigerator did not work well because the center draw slide had been removed because the refrigerator door cannot be opened sufficiently. The unit had a digital wall mounted TV in both the living room and the bedroom but only a couple of broadcast channels had digital signals. The bed was king size but a little soft. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower, jetted tub and stacked washer/dryer. There was a nice screened porch overlooking a wildlife area.

The resort has a back gate that is less than a ½ mile from Disney’s Animal Kingdom and the West end of the Osceola Parkway. It was only about 10 minutes to reach the Epcot and Hollywood Studios area of Disney. It is only about ½ mile to route 192 where restaurants abound. Food shopping is a couple of miles West on 192 where there is a Super Target on the left and a Publix at the Orange Lake Resort entrance on the right. Stay away from 192 in the mid morning and use the Osceola Parkway to get to I-4 and Sea World and Universal. Be prepared for I-4 to be slow depending on the time of year.

The resort offers a number of scheduled activities including movies in their theater each night at 5 and 7. The theater has good sound quality but be prepared to pay for your popcorn and for the movie to start late. There are crafts for the kids and ice cream treat sold poolside most days at 2 PM. There are three pools including one main pool with scheduled live entertainment. The water temperature was a bit cool upon entry but comfortable for swimming. Pool towels are available from the activities department without signing. There is food and beverage service at the main pool. There is no longer free WiFi near the lobby but the resort has two or three computer stations and three hard-wired connections for laptops that are free to guests based on availability. The laptop service was not working for more than a day during my stay even after being told it was just fixed but not checked. Guest may purchase an activity card which includes WiFi and discounts on other purchases at the resort. Guests who do not have laundry facilities in their unit can use facilities in a common area at no additional charge. There was a poolside meet & greet scheduled each week weather permitting that includes chips and salsa.

Problems:
1. The aerator for the kitchen sink faucet sprayed water horizontally and the spout itself was very difficult to turn. Maintenance arrived quickly and we left for a walk. We returned to find the faucet being replaced. Things did not go well as the team now totaled 3. After 2 hours we left to purchase lunch because the kitchen was not available. The good news was we had a new faucet when we returned but it appears major maintenance is being done on the guest’s time.
2. We received a phone call from a friend who had tried to call us. She was told that we had checked-out. We contacted the front desk to correct the error and asked that housekeeping be notified so we were not disturbed. Needless to say, housekeeping knocked at the door first thing the next morning.
3. Regarding the security issue mentioned above, I learned that there had been a problem with guests, especially in lock-off units, locking themselves out of the adjacent unit guests because the common lobby door or unit door was closed with the privacy button engaged. The answer was to disable the function of the privacy button. This was a big issue for me but not the resort. I continue to work the problem. Be advised that my lock was fixed only after extended effort but it did not take long to fix!
4. The back gate was closed without notice reportedly because of insufficient staffing. There is a card reader at the back gate but it doesn’t work.
5. One afternoon I was not able to get a clean pool towel. I was told to check back in a hour. When I returned, there were no towels available.

Something has changed at this resort. Reduced staffing was given as an excuse for a number of issues listed above. I tried to meet with the Resort Manager and later found I met with the Director of Owner & Guest Relations. This may, in part, explain why I was not successful in getting a change in the lockset policy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for 9 days in March 2012, nice large resort. Many amenities. Drawbacks were in building 700 all balconies face the woods. Also costs $26.75 for week for internet if you bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This trip my son and I booked a 1 bdrm unit and they put us in a 2 bdrm suite ground floor condo unit. It was a handicapped equip unit. Only thing different was the counters were lower, and wider doorways and one bathroom was full wheelchair accessible directly into shower. We had two full baths and king beds in each room with flat scrn tvs. Flat scrn tv in spacious living room/dining. Kitchen was large with mose utensils you need for your stay and cooking meals. Laundry was a stackable unit in kitchen closet. Pool was warm and large. A smaller pool was across from our building but we always went to the larger pool which also had a hot tub, and bar. Internet wifi for our room was a extra $25 for the week. Great condo for families going to disney or whatever your doing. Our trip was strictly golf and some pool time. Will stay again and actually came back 3 months later with my brother and his family in dec 2011 for a week which will review as well. pics to follow. Any questions ask.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at Silver Lake the week of March 4th. We stayed in the 1800 building that had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a pull-out couch that was perfect for us with our two boys and my in-laws. Our unit wasn't "renovated" but was clean, had a washer/dryer and was close to the pools, game room, and activities at the pool which was perfect for the kids. We took the back way to Animal Kingdom and also close to grocery stores and restaurants. We participated in some of the activities including ice cream at 2pm. bingo, and karaoke at the pool Friday night.
We loved the location and the reasonable cost booked through Veterans Holiday. My in-laws attended the sales presentation and found it interesting and not pushy. Would consider booking here again if we want to do Disney again someday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd., Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando’s Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida’s premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire.*Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. ft. clubhouse.9,000 sq. ft. heated swimming pool.Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building.Satellite pool adjacent to main pool.Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks.Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children’s pool, outdoor BBQ grills.Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children’s play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court.*All Villas Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper.*Proposed Future Amenities:Full deli and convenience store.Sand volleyball court.Two additional tennis courts.50,000 gallon outdoor swimming pool.*Development Plan:When fully developed, Silver Lake Resort will consist of 632 designer-furnished vacation villas. One, two and three bedroom villas will be offered with square footage ranging between 735 and 1907. *Now Completed:292 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas72 three bedroom villasAwards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.