We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for area attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Available Rate
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location for area attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My wife and I and our 2 daughters ages 11 and 13 spent Spring Break at this condo resort. The usual sales pitch was given upon check in but no pressure after that. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit which consisted of a Master Suite with a 2 bedroom lock off which was actually a one bedroom with 2 full beds and a kitchenette/den with a sleeper sofa. Every sleeping room had a flat screen TV as did the living room so no arguments there. The unit's "contemporary design" with accompaning furnishings were somewhat dated and tired. However it was quite functional. We did Sea World this trip which this resort is only 15 miles from. The resort is on Hwy 192 and with the renovations this makes for a great daytime stroll and has numerous restaurants as well as grocers. The pools were adequate with the usual DJ and steamed hot dogs. Lots of space for sunbathing and the daily activities were predictable but well organized.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    406
    189
    112
    104
See reviews for
602
265
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed at Star Island for two nights- a Friday and a Saturday. Firstly, to be fair, we own two timeshares, both two bedrooms, one at Wyndham and one at Starwood, so the expectation I have while traveling may be a bit elevated in terms of accomodations. We booked this last minute- it was the only thing available to take our 6 year old over to Orlando for the weekend, so we had to take the studio one bedroom, which is smaller than what we are used to- but I don't factor the size of the room into this review.

The room- dark, musty smell, air conditioning not working upon arrival. No washer/dryer (which I've never seen in a timeshare) but perhaps that's because the size of the room??) There was a pay laundry facility outside our door for guest use. Beds- SUPER UNCOMFORTABLE!! The room felt dirty (maybe because of the musty smell) and I could actually see stains on the carpet. The entire time I was there, I didn't feel like touching anything, and almost wanted to leave on Saturday and not stay over another night. It definitely needs a remodeling. OH, and I have to mention the shower/tub. There is a huge wall to climb over to get into the tub, so if you are under 5'8" (or so) you may want to bring a ladder to get into the shower. I am 5'10" and it was a bit tricky to climb in and out. It was just comical.

Maybe this was just an old room? don't know, and the resort was packed from Spring Break. Obviously some must think the place is great! :)

They did come immediately and fixed the air once my husband called, but the musty smell never really went away. The resort on the outside is okay- decent pool area but not great, and they have a watersports area which looked to be interesting. I didn't see any other rooms, so maybe it was just our room, as I wrote previously, the place was packed. However, I would never stay at this resort again- and I'm not THAT picky of a person, so for me to state that, it just wasn't a great stay.

FYI- 1. Wireless Internet is Free for Wyndham and Star Island owners -everyone else pays a daily rate. 2. Friday's Restaurant delivers- so if your arriving late and need some food- I didn't see a room service menu- they have a little cafe /store that's open in the day by the pool.

Also, we asked the concerige about reservations at the T-Rex Cafe over at Pleasure Island -Downtown Disney and she said that 1. they don't take reservations (yes they do) and 2. when I asked her about the hours, she said she didn't know, but it had to be the same kind of hours that all the OTHER restaurants have over there. I almost laughed. I ended up going back to our room, googling the restaurant, getting the phone number and calling myself to get the information. I hope she's not working for tips.

By the way- T-Rex cafe at Disney- great place for the kids- think Rainforest Cafe, but much better, with a dino theme. It's not scarey, and the food isn't bad (think Applebees or Chilis quality), and not overly expensive- if you watch it a bit. I believe the menu is available on-line- and yes, make reservations in advance. While waiting the 90 minutes to get in, we just hung out at lego world next door :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed in a recently updated 3 BR (2 BR and den, really) unit at Star Island Resort. Extremely pleased. Furnishings were new & modern, no sign of the '80s decor others had mentioned. Parking was abundant and convenient to the room, often a problem at other Disney-area timeshares we've stayed at previously. Great family resort features, with two great pools (one kid oriented), an extensive fitness facility, plentiful tennis courts and more. Free in room wi-fi. 4 TVs in the unit, all large LCD flat screens. Great location, 10 minutes to the Disney parks. Probably the nicest of the 4 Disney area timeshares at which we've stayed (and we always stay "Gold Crown" or equivalent).

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

my family and i stayed at this property for a week in late march. I can honestly say our room was clean and well kept. Although there were a few issues the housekeeping crew assisted rapidly.

the activities at the pool were enjoyable for our 8 year old. we did not attend any of the evening parties

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed at the Star Island Resort from March 1-8, 2009. The resort is very well maintained and as you drive in, you are welcomed by fountain and flowers bed all around the drop off area. Very pretty. Lobby is spacious and check in was quick. We had a small issue with the unit assigned to us and Matt, the front desk rep along with PJ the manager on duty were quick to assist us and provided us a unit that truly made us happy. We were in building 18, which is not located by the pool - but this is what we wanted, as it is a very quiet area. We had unit AB, which is the largest one available, comprising of 2 full bedroom (one with king size bed and double jacuzzin and walk-in shower). Full kitchen with lots of space all the ustensile, cookware and pots that you might need. Appliances are full size and include washer-dryer (stack type) and worked perfectly. I made many many margaritas with the blender supplied. The unit also had another full bathroom and another smaller room like a den and had a total of 3 TV and a balcony. Very very beautiful and extremely quiet. The only bad thing, not a resort fault, but the last 2 nights we had very very noisy neighbors who played loud music at 1:00pm. But we called security and the matter was very quickly addressed and resolved. The resort is a 'gated' community which add to the security of the guests. The pool is wonderful and there is a lot of space to sit and there is a DJ to entertain. The gym is beautiful, with TV and excellent machine, although the ventilation was very poor and it became very hot very fast as you workout. The main change room has a dry sauna and a steam sauna et also include a big hot tub. It is very beautiful and spacious, with lots of towels and space to keep your stuff. Check out was great, although I was a bit surprise that we were not given a final statement at check out to show that we owed nothing. In retrospect, I think that I would probably insist next time that something be given to me, to ensure that no amount will be charged without my consent. But I would highly recommend this resort and again a big thank you to Matt and JP (I sure hope I got their name right) for all their help at check-in time. That personal service was truly appreciated. We are definitely planning to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We were given time share points as a gift and we chose Star Island because we wanted to be near Disney. I think if we had not been given this gift we probably would have just stayed on Disney property.
We were there Thanksgiving week and really enjoyed the pool and hot tub in the 3 days we were there before Thanksgiving. After that it was swamped with teenagers. The families with little kids were fine but the unsupervised teenagers annoyed me. Besides the teenagers, the pool was probably the best part. There is a lunch counter in the gift/snack shop as well as a hot dog cart next to the bar and we enjoyed lunch from both on our non-park days. You definitely do not want to do your shopping in the snack shop or even the store at the resort entrance. I forgot to pack hairspray and a bottle of it at the snack shop cost me $7. Go to Walmart to get what you need.
As for the suite, we stayed in a first floor one bedroom suite. The layout was odd: the bedroom was right next to the walkway and you could hear everything. We even took a blanket and hung it over the curtain rod because the blinds weren't good enough. My husband ended up sleeping in the living room on the pull-out because other guests would use the luggage cart and roll it past our windows over the brick walkway...very loud. I would have asked for a 2nd floor had we known that. We ended up leaving the pull-out couch pulled out because the couch was more like a wicker loveseat and it was too stiff and formal to relax on.
The bathroom and kitchenette were fine for the two of us. The mini fridge fit our water, beer and milk. We had to call twice to get our towels replaced but it was a holiday.
I don't think a one bedroom suite is big enough for more than 2 people.
We were looking forward to water sports but at the time the lake was closed because of an overgrowth of some lake plant.
Probably won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

I have traveled all over the world to various hotels and never once have I had such a bad experience. I have been to several Marriott's which I love, as well as various Sheraton and Wyndam properties. This property is a decent property but fairly old looking. The only thing that I enjoyed was the karaoke. Very amusing as well as entertaining. Loved it, Loved it!! However, after I returned from my trip I recieved several charges on my credit card that were not authorized by me. I contacted the manager Doug and he informed me that there was a cleaning expense. (Well why am I paying maintenance fees?) I think that they just wanted to steel money! Buyers be aware. I am filing a law suit because it is the principle of the matter. Hopefully they will learn there lesson not to do this to anyone else. I would not recommend this resort to my dog. Although I had an unfortunate situation the rooms were pretty roomy. But that didn't matter once I recieved that surprising bill.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#19 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.