We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Amenities!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deals Save up to 40%
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Amenities!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a well-maintained resort with everything within walking distance. Very family oriented. We had a two bedroom ground floor condo in building 20. We only stayed for one night because we had to leave another resort (Reunion) for our last night. We were impressed with the well-maintained tennis courts, the putt-putt golf course, two large heated pools, karaoke, and the water sports. The fitness center is one of the top two that I have been exposed to in my travels. There were lots of machines and free weights. More than the normal treadmills, elipticals, stationary bikes, and a lone Universal. Some may not like its location within the tourist area. However, we appreciated its close proximity to Walmart (5 minutes), Lake Buena outlets (7 minutes), restaurants, Old Town, and I-4.
I would give a rating of 5, but the condo had a very strong smell of cleaning agents. My wife felt that attempts were being made to cover up carpet odors. The smell didn't bother me that much but it was strong. We tried opening a few windows - but again, we were there for only one night. I got use to it.
Great fully stocked store/grill!

Room Tip: Stay in buildings 22 or 16 on a high floor to have a good view of the lake with closeness to the clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    381
    169
    104
    103
See reviews for
559
248
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is OK, but there were several issues. The room was fine, with a decent layout (bedroom and living room, with a bathroom/entry between; so like a mini-apartment. The refrigerator was pretty strong (it even froze the water bottle we kept in the fridge section!). The beds were comfortable.

However, we were dissatisfied by many things…definitely not a top tier hotel:
- The checkin was poor, though they blamed that on Orbitz. It took over 15 minutes to checkin and I don’t think it was all Orbitz’s fault.
- We asked at the concierge desk about where to buy a “Sunpass” and they didn’t know; they guessed the 7-Eleven, which was wrong (the passes were available across the street at Walgreen’s
- The room smelled of air freshener as well as mildew.
- The room was pretty close to the main building, so the entertainment till 11PM really kept us up, which was unpleasant after a long day of travel.
- The water tasted off (a bit sulphurous), unlike the other hotels we have stayed at in Orlando.
- At checkout a guard (employee) had to get a key redone, and the guard didn’t let me go ahead of him (not a big deal, but for what claims to be a high end resort that was a sign of lack of customer focus).
- The “Celebrity Fitness” was somewhat depressing, and the elliptical trainer had handles that had come apart, making it hard to hold them.

Room Tip: Away from the reception if you want to avoid hearing the party till 11PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a week in a one bedroom lockoff. Weird room design and the adjoining locked off suite was so noisy we felt like they we're in our room with us. "Kitchen" area was very awkward to use. Lighting in the bedroom area is very poor- all the fixtures and furniture are very dated. Overall a very mediocre stay, and with all the choices around, we'll trade somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family stayed here for two weeks. We were generally extremely impressed with the facilities and room which was quiet, clean and nicely equipped. Pool area was fun, as were the daily activities poolside and trivia in the patio bar. The only downside was that on arrival at 10 pm at night after a long drive with a husband and 2 very tired young children waiting in the car, the LAST thing you feel like is a sales pitch on getting your 'parking pass' or to be asked what your annual income is on the check-in sheet. "none of your business Star Island Resort" - wrong way to start things off and poor reading of your customers needs. Otherwise you do a great job.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently my family spent four nights at Star Island. We purchased the stay from an owner and got a reasonable deal. I will start with the check in. Why do I need to go to guest services to get my parking pass?,--which is code for " get ready to be asked repeatedly to come to the guest breakfast"--which of course they say is no pressure--yeah right and only 90 minutes. If I want to go, I will seek out them and ask, My vacation is short, and I have things to do so why dont they just say at check in--if you would like more info., go over there, if not have a great stay!

The unit was big and had plenty of space for the 4 of us. It was a two bedroom deluxe. A bit of weird kitchen design--where one drawer wont open unless you really press fridge door closed and hold it.--not sure who planned that out.

Grounds were okay--lots of tennis courts if that is your thing.

What i don't understand is why for a resort this size, there is not more pool space. One small pool area, with chairs jammed together. For those who want to relax by the pool, it is very difficult, as it is crowded and of course noisy. Obviously, there are lots of families which is great, but spacing people out to other areas I hope is in the future plans.

The resort is fairly convenient to major roadways, so getting about is easy, and lots of restaurants close by.

Star Island worked for us, it was a place to sleep and eat as we were off doing things. Not sure it would be the place just to hang around at-so I would debate whether to return or not, based on what our plans were.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Star Island is a quiet, upscale resort. Near all the Orlando attractions but not too congested. It's just right. We're Wyndham Access Owners and feel we made a smart choice choosing Star Island for our trip between Christmas and New Years, which is 2nd busiest time of the year for the theme parks. We elected not to drive anywhere and relied on taxis and for us we were glad. It's a toss up to whether we saved money or not, but given the traffic I wouldn't have done it any other way. We had excellent shuttle service from Amtrak station in Kissimmee from Boogie Transportation and used the private taxis from hotel but found Mears to be best allround regarding cost providing you had a knowledged/experience driver of the area and Mears will work with you.

About Star Island....wonderful. We spend 2 full days out of our 6 just at the resort. Nice pool, pool bar and restaurant onsite with decent food. Dominos pizza delivers fast as well. DJ played all day and they had activities for all ages. Nice relaxing resort. We even took advantage of the spa. I had a facial and my 18 year old son and my husband had massages; we got a great deal booking 3 services.

Great family resort for mature kids/teens/young adults that you're traveling with; could be boring for kids that need a lot of attention. There are other resorts in area catered to families with young kids that need attention. However this one has mini golf, putting course, lake with paddle boats, pin pong and game room and fitness center and offers daily supper specials ($7 a person) at the upstairs pool bar. If you love to walk; this property is great for walking. TJI Fridays restaurant also on site, which was nice.

Only complaint was the 1 BR lock out room we had (A unit) and the connecting unit you could hear too much of what was going on in the unit next to it. Person in there coughed the whole time; was aggravating. I would suggest them putting up better insulation around that connecting locked door or put carpet in the hallway of the A unit and B unit area to help muffle the echoing sounds or coughs and talking.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with a fully equipped kitchen and spacious living area. Two full bathrooms with washer and dryer. The patio was relaxing and overlooked a walking area next to a tennis court. There were two pools with very pleasant temperatures to enjoy the first part of January. They had a magician and karaoke the first night of our stay for family entertainment. We also used the spacious gym.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 25 which was quiet away from the pool areas and no heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you ma103of1 for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the activities available to you. It has been chilly out but happy you were still able to enjoy the pool.

Thank you again,
Debbie Middleton
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.