We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Available Rate
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have a two bedroom timeshare and I did an exchange to Star Island for a one bedroom since a two bedroom was not available. I received my confirmation and a room assignment for a one bedroom . Closer to departure I received an email from Star Island stating that my room has been changed but it was still one bedroom. Upon checking in I was totally shocked as we walked into a hallway. Apparently we are in a lock off studio as we face three doors. One is the living room/kitchen , bath and bedroom. The living room was so small and poorly designed. The kitchen counter space and small frig and dishwasher is on the same wall as tv. If you are preparing a meal you will be in the way of someone trying to watch tv. The furniture was small two small chairs and a small couch. The cushions of the couch extended a little beyond your behind. Fortunately we could sit on the furniture but if you weigh over 200 lbs you will be very uncomfortable. I called the front desk and was told no other room was available. The room was clean and fresh but never again. There are to many other resorts way nicer than this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    410
    191
    112
    104
See reviews for
608
268
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I want to commend Ms Marta G. for understanding my recent complaint that the room I checked into was not the room that my reservation described. After several attempts to get the issue corrected, it was not until my problem was referred to Ms. Marta G. by Ms. Sulivette R. that the problem was resolved. The room was upgraded to accommodations far beyond my expectations. The remainder of my trip with my family was fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We’re glad to know you found your unit fully accommodating. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston Sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

While checking in with Marta G, she was very welcoming and even upgraded our room. She was great and our stay was wonderful. We will definitely come back. Rooms were very clean and staff was great. The pools were perfect for all ages even my 5 month old as they have a walk in pool. The mini golf and jump castle were a hit with my 4 year old as well


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Elina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your unit and that your kid enjoyed the mini golf and jump castle amenities. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lerilee C was extremely nice & helped us select the best room available. She was polite & friendly. We love our room with the view of water fountain.The grounds are very well maintained. When we had an issue with the washing machine, service was prompt & efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your unit and our property grounds. We apologize you had to deal with a maintenance issue, but glad this was quickly resolved. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peckville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Suite was great and very nic3ly appointed. Small problem with commode seat in one bath, It was quite loose. Called engineering got very prompt assistance from George and Miguel of engineering. They replaced entire seat. Both representatives were very pleasant and eager to please. After only days I would have to say that I really like this resort.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite Bldg. 21 rooms 2138 A&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Joseph,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding your unit. We apologize you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with maintenance issues, but glad our maintenance team was able to quickly resolve this concern. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed here several times and love the location and the condition of the resort. From the registration, our Front Desk Agent Marta G. was very accommodating and extremely professional. The rooms are very roomy and well appointed. The pool has an abundance of reclining comfortable chaise loungers. They have music, a poolside bar, and lots of activities for both kids and family. There are several notable restaurants within the vicinity.

Room Tip: We had a three bedroom, three bath condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations and onsite activities. We’re so glad to hear that our staff was more than accommodating to your needs. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I'd like to start off saying the service is unbelievable. Chase and Tracie at the star bar were so welcoming and knowledgeable...they even knew Canadian football! The drinks were fantastic and the glass was always 30 seconds away, you can tell they take pride in there job. Cathy from the care centre was quick to send up a brand new tea kettle and even checked back with us to make sure it arrived ( it did just in time for tea) :) The rooms are spacious and more then enough for 5 adults. Very modern décor and a completely stocked kitchen . I've been to many time shares and this is by far my new favourite, thank you so much!!

Room Tip: Buildings 40,39,14,15 are closest to all the action (pools,gym,arcade,bars) good walking distance
See more room tips
Green Features: they are OK..I find it a little strange for a environmentally friendly hotel that they do not use environmental friendly light bulbs...but nice that they have recycling but maybe bins instead of recycling bags ....
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Ally,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It’s great to hear you were able to enjoy many of our onsite amenities. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home while staying with us. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.