We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Break Orlando 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Save Saved
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Christmas Break Orlando 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This trip was an opportunity to get the family together for a Christmas break in Orlando. The trip started with some confusion over reservations. The folks running the front desk were patient and helped us overcome the issues. Sobiesky and his crew were extremely instrumental in getting our week off to a great start

Room Tip: Work with your reservation folks to completely understand the room arrangements when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Lindsay,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you chose to stay with us for Christmas break. We apologize for the confusion over your reservation, but glad that our staff was able to resolve the issue. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    325
    143
    86
    90
See reviews for
476
214
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

we checked in on December 23 to the number 1516. at the front desk was Marta. she was so nice and helpful . she helped us with reservation.
I can say only one thing that she is sooo professional and she knows what she is doing. Please do your best to keep her at your property forever.
Thank you very much Marta. We will come back .

Room Tip: It was very nice, wonderful and perfect. I am really appreciated to everybody.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Edgar,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words for Marta and will share this with our staff. We are so glad she was able to fully assist you with your needs. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

the bartenders at star island are very nice, funny, and entertaining! I stayed a week and Chase, Faraby, and Nicole kept me laughing and really made me feel at home. It made for a great stay in what I thought was a very relaxing environment!

Room Tip: if you are a smoker you will want a room with a deck, wish I had known that, had to step out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff including Chase, Faraby, and Nicole. We are so glad you had a nice and relaxing stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Marta G was especially helpful when checking and providing unit assignment. Star Island is well maintained inside and out. Unit was very clean and provided everything we needed (including flat pillows).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi William,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding Marta and will share this with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed our well maintained resort grounds and unit amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am posting photos of what Star Island advertises as well as what we got. Their description of the unit reads “Your lavishly decorated suite has a master bedroom with a queen or king-size bed and a whirlpool tub. The living room has a queen sleeper sofa and remote control color television with a stereo system and safety deposit box.”
There wasn’t a bathtub of any kind in the unit period. Just two old run down bathrooms with showers. I could put many more photos on which would show the same situation in the unit. I went to the front desk to complain to no avail. They all tried to point the finger of blame elsewhere and nobody could give me a number to call and had no idea who either arranges the transactions or who I could call about it. We had company coming to join us and I had assured them that Star Island was as luxurious as the Disney Resorts we normally stay at. To say the least this was an unpleasant situation especially since I had been booked into a beautiful unit at Disney’s Saratoga Springs Resort and cancelled it for this. I don't write many bad reviews as I believe you get what you pay for. The problem here is we did not get what we paid for. It was like they said they sold us a Corvette and when we arrived they gave us an old rusty Ford Pinto!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We needed to add some more rooms to our reservations. The front desk manager was great!! He was able to upgrade our rooms and made sure we had. A great sixth floor view. We will be back next year for another wonderful vacation at star island resort.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our management. We are so glad you were able to receive a unit upgrade with a fantastic view. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

When I checked in, the lost my reservation. I showed them my confirmation letter and they still asked me if I made the reservation too late (Needs training. If a person has a confirmation letter, process them, not question them) I asked for a bottom floor, which they gave me (2313). I was then set to guest services and asked if I wanted to attend a seminar which I did the day before when I was staying at Cypress Palm. They also asked for my identification again which I just gave the front desk. When I got to 2313, I found two beds, a couch with the pillows fastened with velcro, a tub whose walls were above my knee. I was so upset that the contract I did on the 13th, I cancelled. I didn't contact the front desk because, in the past when I complained, I got the I'm sorry speech(I was promised I would stay at tower 6 at Bonnet Creek which didn't happened. The talk was only going to be an hour, which lasted three). Listening to other owners, I feel they were dissatisfied, but were stuck with their membership. Your computer system should be integrated so the history of a client would be upgraded on all database tables when information is entered. I hope finance processes my refund in a more professional manner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. We apologize for any confusion regarding your reservation confirmation. Please know our systems are integrated to reflect accurate reservations. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room and resort accommodations. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home during their vacation with a variety of amenities. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out. Your feedback will allow us to continue improving the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.