We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed so far” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deals Save up to 40%
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palmer, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed so far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We are currently on night 3 of a weeklong stay here. We are staying at Star Island as guests of time share owners (my parents). We stayed a week at a Disney resort then moved here to spend a second week away from Disney in order to enjoy some of the other things the Orlando area has to offer.
The cons: we are staying here with our 7 year old, and the resort bar is open to the pool area. Which means in order to take my son to the pool after 7pm, we have to listen to crappy karaoke while we swim. Also, this goes on until around 11pm. Our room is around 400 yards from the pool/bar area and the noise is too much. It is so loud, it makes it difficult to get our son to bed. We called the front desk about the noise and they told us they'd let security know, but nothing came of it. I could totally overlook the noise if they wanted to do karaoke one night a week, but they have it 4 nights a week, and live music the other 3. So 7 nights a week there is loud music until at least 11pm.
The Internet is crappy and super slow (so much for uploading photos or paying bills while we are here).
The first two days we were here, they were working on the parking lot. I'm assuming they were repaving. The parking lot was a mess and we were constantly being detoured around the entire resort just to get to our room.
They were working on the lake, so they weren't renting out the jet skis, which is one of the things we were looking forward to.

The pros: The unit was clean and much nicer on the inside than I was expecting by looking at the outside.
The whirlpool tub was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    348
    155
    92
    93
See reviews for
513
221
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The recently updated rooms are of much better quality -- they now look more along the lines of a Marriott vacation property (you would have to ask which buildings have the newer renovations upon check-in).

I do agree with previous reviewers that the staff can often be stiff, uninviting and sometimes rude (especially the male manager).

The wi-fi can be spotty at times, which in this day and age, is mind-boggling to me that a resort property does not have top-of-the line equipment, cabling and signal strength. They expect YOU to deal with it by calling the HOTAIR customer service line, which can take upwards of an hour, all the while the technician insinuates that your laptop equipment is to blame for the problem. [As though vacationers want to spend that kind of time on the phone dealing with the resort's problem].

Be aware that any outside phone calls are charged to your folio, including local and toll-free. Yes, this includes calls to their HOTAIR vendor -- be ready to fight those.

Amenities and classes are sparing at this property, and it only has one pool area.

Calls from timeshare salesman are annoying and happens more than once during your stay.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi to complete business work, stay on floor 3 or lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were here for only one night, but were treated so nicely. Upon checking in, Marta Grobelska suggested we stay in a room overlooking the small lake. Her suggestion was a wonderful one
and she made it happen. She was very professional and welcoming.

Room Tip: Room 2027 was a beautiful, clean unit with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The place is a bit of timeshare destination with a few buildings for hotel guests. The rooms have a living room, kitchen, and a master room. Overall, the premises is really nice that includes pool with a bar, games, and a spa. We originally got a room that we felt was a bit small for a couple. However, the service was superb. We called the service desk and one of the agents (had a bit of a western european name) took care of us and gave us a different room that was a couples dream. The master room had ample space and the spa was a nice treat. The bed was not so bad, the mattress and pillow could be bit softer but can't complain too much due to the amenities that existed in the room.

Overall, a very nice place to stay and not over the top in term of price.

Room Tip: worth to stay in the bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Amazing resort, A+++ place to vacation. We went for just one night and stayed in the one bedroom suite. It was our anniversary weekend and we took our 4 year old son, and just swimming in the GIANT Jacuzzi tub in the bedroom was fun for him. Then the next morning we went out to the lake, had him play on the playground, went down to the pool, he participated in poolside arts and crafts. Star Island has it all!! Also in the morning our coffee pot was broken, and when I called downstairs they sent someone up within 10 mins with not only another coffee pot, but one brand new in the box. This is the only place we will vacation with our family from now on. I can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: Having a private balcony with the one bedroom was awesome, we were in building 22 and it overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was basically 2 apartments (A & B) with interconnecting door for 4 adults and 2 kids. One of the bedroom was ensuite with family bathroom as well. 2 lounges both with double sofa pull out beds which the kids found very comfortable. Our air conditioning stopped working and I called reception and they sent someone to fix it within 10 mins. Could not be fixed so they moved us straight away to new 2 bed apartment on next floor up.

Apartment was clean and spacious with a reasonable kitchen which we did use for cooking breakfast. Good location only 15 mins from Disney with restaurants nearby. Had delivery menus for pizza, Chinese and TGI Fridays which we did utilise during our 2 week stay. Good communal pool and bar as well as games room.

We had ground floor apartment facing the lake and in the morning the ducks and chicks used to come to the patio area which kids loved.

Room Tip: If only booking 1 bed apartment, choose the one with ensuite bedroom as this is a bigger apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend and it was a staycation for us and enjoyed it so much we went back and stayed another couple of days this week! The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and so spacious. The staff is very accommodating and the entertainment is great also! We hope to book for Thanksgiving and maybe even before that. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;