We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but Uncomfortable!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deals Save up to 40%
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swedesboro, New Jersey
1 review
“Convenient but Uncomfortable!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This resort is very close to all the major attractions, which was really nice. The rooms looked like they were recently updated, and the resort itself had a good amount activities to do. There were some negatives. The beds were extremely firm, and looked really old. The pillows were just as bad! The other issue was all the noise at night. I don’t care about hearing music normally, but bad karaoke at 12 or 1 in the morning is just ridiculous. The other noise issue was in the lock out room that faced the parking lot. The windows were right on the shared balcony, so you would hear the workers all night. Overall the place was just ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    371
    163
    102
    102
See reviews for
542
242
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The entrance was beautiful and the amenities were nice. But we were greeted by an unfriendly young Mr Ortiz, who scowled and painfully performed his job. He did not give us access to our locked portion of the 2 bedroom suite. We had to go back and stand in line again and get another key. Great start. Plus the 2 nd accommodations for our family was a one bedroom suite and it was simply depressing. No one should ever stay in that aweful setting. Too small for anyone on vacation. It smelled of mold and reminded me of a Bates/roach motel. We all ended up in the 2 bedroom suite. The staff photographer was just as inadequate, rude and pretended as though he didn't have the time of day to talk to you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The entrance was beautiful and the amenities were nice. But we were greeted by an unfriendly young Mr Ortiz, who scowled and painfully performed his job. He did not give us access to our locked portion of the 2 bedroom suite. We had to go back and stand in line again and get another key. Great start. Plus the 2 nd accommodations for our family was a one bedroom suite and it was simply depressing. No one should ever stay in that aweful setting. Too small for anyone on vacation. It smelled of mold and reminded me of a Bates/roach motel. We all ended up in the 2 bedroom suite. The staff photographer was just as inadequate, rude and pretended as though he didn't have the time of day to talk to you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The company policy of a $800 deposit was a disturbing surprise. The three bed room suite was beautiful like on the website. Our suite offered us the following: upon arrival the patio door was unlocked, a large cockroach had taken over the living room, a dirty sock(previous renters), air conditioner vent on the floor, and worse of all the mattress were so uncomfortable...I ended up taking my covers and sleeping on the sleeper sofa in the 3rd room. Management: Please have a environmental service quality assurance check completed before renting suites, call Orkin, and purchase new mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the mattress in the unit was uncomfortable and that you experienced some uncleanliness in your unit. We encourage you to reach out to the manager during your stay if this occurs in the future. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you are considering this place because you saw the Wyndham name or typically stay at a Hilton or Marriott, DON'T STAY HERE! The first hint to not consider this place is the address, Avenue of the Stars. Trust me there are no stars considering this place!!

We stayed here from July 20-27th. We booked this resort through a package deal. What a mistake. Our room in Building 28 reminded me of a 50's bedroom with the master having two double beds instead of a king or queen. The room attaches to another one bedroom suite in a similar timeshare model. The divider between rooms was one single thin door. We could hear every discussion that occurred next door, including the lady next door yelling at the property manager, I was cheering her on from the other side of the wall. Her issue was the deadbolt stopped working on their room and it took two days for the resort to fix it. Our issue was the room was not what we ordered. The manager said there was absolutely nothing he could do and we wold not be moving rooms. None of this stopped them from trying to pitch ownership to us multiple times in the week.

There is also a club on the property. The music blares throughout the property until Midnight! We were not close to the club and we could hear the music everynight as if the radio was on in our room.

The hotel is on US 192, a representation of what 1980's Kissimmee looked like. Today is a good collection of Motel 6, America's Best Value, and out of business hotels.

To say the least we will never be back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are sorry to hear the resort accommodations did not meet your expectations and you felt the unit was outdated. We also apologize for the noisy neighbors. It is important to us that all of our guests enjoy their stay and feel respected during their stay. We will be sure to share your review and encourage you to reach out to the manager during your stay if this occurs in the future. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Star Island is partially owned by Wyndham Resorts. But, not completely. It's run by someone else. So, the activities are not all that great. There are several tennis courts. Two nice pools. A descent general store. A nice work-out room. There is also an on-site spa. The resort is right behind TGI Fridays. There are several good restaurants in the area (it's right on hiway 192!!!) About 5 miles from Disney property. The one complaint that we had was the music at the outdoor bar, near the pool, was loud until 1 a.m. on THURSDAY NIGHT!!! Kind of ridiculous. Other than that, it's a nice resort.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that's near the pool, if you want to go to sleep before 1 in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms were very nice. We had a 1 bedroom with full kitchen. Everything was great and updated. The pools were very nice also and there was plenty of seating. We also enjoyed the arcade. My biggest concern was the service was really poor. I travel a lot and stay many places and this by far was the worst service. We had reserved a crib and high chair for our 10 month old and after 4 calls and 5 hours they finally arrived. By this time my child is screaming her head off because she wanted to go to bed. Then they were rude and weird about the towel exchange later in the week. They also constantly leave messages about dumb stuff that I don't care to listen to. The ice cream social is also dumb and over-priced. The bar drinks are also crazily priced. I drank and ate cheaper in Disney World! It is in a good location close to Disney and there is a Publix and Wal-Mart very close. Lots of typical chain restaurants nearby as well if that is your thing. Bottom line is if it weren't for the excellent deal we had I would be really disappointed. I would stay again for the same rate but will also look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#19 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.