We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Save Saved
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good resort in kissimee... Located on rt 192 neAr many restaurants and stuff to do like old town and flee markets.. With private entrance they got as neighbor fridays wich do deliver food to your room with golf carts def a plus.. Nice pool srea with spa.. Litle convenience store inside and kids area rooms are clean and kind big ..ask for a seconf floor or first floor unit , tjey dont have an elevator ..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    325
    143
    86
    90
See reviews for
476
214
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was are first & last stay @ resort. Sub-standard at best. The resort has potential and that`s about it. Kids could not use play ground because ground not leveled off & filled with mud puddles. Also surrounded by fire ant mounds. Grounds not well maintained. Two small pools with slippery surface around pool.We are members of Interval`s timeshare,( who should also be embarrassed for giving the resort 5 stars), and have stayed at many places around area. Why stay here when you pay the same amount of money & can get much more !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is our fourth stay at a resort in the Kissimmee area. We booked a week stay through an RCI extra vacation and it was under $400 for the week. We were located in unit 2154 A & B. It was two units combined with a common door. One area had a bedroom with two double beds, a bathroom and a small living room and efficiency kitchen. The other area had a huge well stocked kitchen with a large living room. It had a balcony (we were on the top floor) which looked out on a nice water feature and quiet area. The balcony had a table and four chairs on it. The bedroom in this unit had a large kingsize bed with an attached bathroom, including a jacuzzi tub and a massive shower, big enough for two! It also had in unit laundry facilities, which we used with no problem . They do provide detergent for the washing machine and also the dishwasher. All in all, this place was HUGE for the four of us, it was awesome having the space. Now, the unit was a little outdated, remember that fake 80's plastic green/black marble bedroom furniture with gold trim...yep, that was in the master bedroom, along with a lot of mirrors on the walls. But hey everything was clean. The kitchen was well stocked. They even had lemonade packages. We ate breakfast and supper in our unit most nights. We grocery shopped at the Super Walmart before we got to the resort and also stopped at the grocery store that is very close to the resort. Target is not very far either.
We thought the grounds were fairly well kept. The "Lake" that you can go jet skiing on looks a little like a weedy pond and we weren't tempted at all to go out into it. But they had beach volleyball courts, a nature trail, a sports trail, a playground, mini golf (again not terribly exciting looking), basketball courts, lots of tennis courts and two great pools which we enjoyed using. TIP: Buy at Walmart or Target a cheap $2 water tube or other floaties for your kids rather than having to shell out money to rent one for a few hours. There were lots of loungers by the pools. The new bar looks great, however we can't comment on the drinks served since we didn't purchase any. The gym looked to be in good repair, but again we didn't use the equipment because we figured we got enough exercise walking through the Parks all day. By the way, our building, #21, was very quiet and away from the pool area...we enjoyed the peacefulness.
There was a sundry shop on the premise that carried a few basic items you may need. There are also many restaurants along Irlo Bronson Memorial Highway.
This time we spent our week at Sea World, Aquatica, Discovery Cove and Busch Gardens as we have done Disney twice and Universal once already. We feel we are getting to know the area quite well. Star Island was only about 15 minutes to these places, except Busch Gardens in Tampa which was just over an hour away. Star Island is also convenient to Disney, and Universal as well, no worries there.
So far we have enjoyed all four timeshare resorts we've been to in Kissimmee, this one not so different than the others. Remember that it is a timeshare and not a hotel with towel changes and room cleaning every day if you do book this. Overall, I would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I don't think I have ever had as much fun at a timeshare as I had here.There staff was absolutely wonderful and helpful.When we first checked in we had an issue with the stove,maintenance was there in 10 minutes to make the repair.
The entertainment was extraordinary.My wife and I were having so much fun we never even left the resort.The man who ran the karaoke was great,everybody had a blast.
We were actually sorry that our vacation was over,we could have stayed another 2 weeks and enjoyed every second of it,but some of us have to work for a living.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This resort is owned by Wyndham hotel Group, we booked a 3 bedroom villa with this resort because it was rated a 5 stars resort by Interval International timeshare Exchange Company. We are giving this resort a 3 stars base on the value. The resort is centrally located with heavy traffic congestion in this area during rush hours. We found the villa outdated with the 70's furnishing and with formica countertop and mirrors, refrigerator with rust on some of the shelves. We had issues with a clogged drain and dryer with not dry our clothes, this was quickly corrected by the friendly maintenances staff. The front desks were not very friendly, they hung up on us on several services call, and I am not sure it’s their practice or it was accidental. We also went on a 90 minutes Wyndham timeshare sells tour, the tour took over 4 hours, they kept passing us from sales agent to sales agent, and we had met six of them. Wyndham have the same sells pitch as the Marriott and with the similar Marriott destination points system (I am a Marriott timeshare owner). Needless to say, we did not purchase any time (points, weeks). Overall, 3 stars, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a group of 13, where we booked two 3 bedroom suites. The family package was great which included free pizza (enough to feed all) and free round of mini golf for the kids. All loved the pools which were clean and decent temp.
Check-in was slow and they originally had us in two different buildings, though they did correct this. This was our only complaint. Check-in took over 25 minutes.
The overall facility was worth the wait and this is my 4th time returning with plans to return again in the future.

Room Tip: I have always used the 3 bedroom full sized suites due to size of party. These are always clean, hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I placed a reservation on March for May travel, but due to some scheduling issues at work my husband and I were unable to travel. I canceled my reservation 3 Weeks prior to our anticipated arrival date. Well....Star island deducted $400 out of my account and are refusing to refund my money!! Customer service is horrible! I've been transferred to dept, After dept and I'm getting the run around!! I will never book here or recommend it to anyone!! I will purchase my time share elsewhere!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.