We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 159 hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a recently renovated 3 bed room. We really enjoyed the room and the location. The resort is convenient to most attractions, but is in an older part of town. They do have wireless Internet, but it is not reliable and when it does connect, it was sometimes as slow as dial up. They charge for use of the computer in the front desk area. Also, while the staff at the front desk was not rude, they were not overly hospitable either. The concierge did stop helping us to answer the telephone without an excuse me. Both my wife and I thought this was rude. The pools were nice and we enjoyed swimming there. We were glad to be away from the pools as there were 'parties' or lAte night events sponsored by the resort. While, not that late, we had younger kids and this could have been a distraction to going to bed. Be aware that they do want to try to get you to listen to a sales pitch. We simply said no and that was the end.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    298
    131
    83
    81
See reviews for
428
201
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Traded for a three bedroom unit see picture for third bedroom. Whole unit smells like mold and tried to open windows and the sashes fell out Wyndham managed. Do you think I will attend their sales pitch. Need to have Wyndham boss come and check it out. I do not think this is there specs. Will not come back and will word of mouth to all I know. Did call desk and they said this was the bill of sale I had. Checked with interval intl and they confirmed
Live and learn

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booked room through Canadian Forces Appreciation program. The room/condo came as advertised and an excellent bang for our buck. Only problem was the hot water; not hot enough or enough pressure for a decent shower and took forever to fill the jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here last week.
The condo...was clean and comfortable. The beds and bedding were nice comfy. The kitchen had everything we needed. And even though our condo faced to the road we heard no road noise at all. The balcony was relaxing for our morning coffee. Can't even try to find a negative honestly.
The pools...positives...they were always clean. There were two pools and though they weren't designated kids/adults, most of the time kids were at the zero entrance pool and mostly adults at the big fountain pool. Both pools were warm but not hot very refreshing. Negatives...the chairs could have been set up better for us sunbathers, had to "rearrange" to face the sun(not really a negative just nitpicking to find a negative). The DJ's choice of music was dated, to say the least and seemed kind of annoyed when more current songs were requested. Not that his choice of music was bad, just dated.
The grounds...beautiful! Cant even nit-pick to find a negative.
The amenities/activities (ones we used)...
Game room...pretty good though didnt spend much time there.
Morning driving range...very good, the guy that was there was very friendly and helpful. Honestly my favorite employee. Though I think Star Island should give the poor guy one of the gagillion golf carts they have sitting around to retrieve balls.
Putt Putt...pretty good used it a few times. I did hear others complain of the "debris" on the putts because of the trees, but I enjoyed the shade. So guess a negative to one is a positive to another?
Bingo...its bingo, not my deal but hubby won once so cant complain about that =)
Trivia...liked the emcee, good questions, BUT was a large group that was using their phones(claimed they were using the light so they could see) but truth is they were cheating. I would have lost miserably anyways so I didnt care. But others were upset.
All in all it was a good, relaxing vacation and I would recommend this to just about anyone...kids/parents/couples/retired, something for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I thought it would have at least a daily room service. Even the towel change is once a week. The rooms are very old and the beds are horrible. We found a better, newer and cheaper hotel with breakfast included, Embassy Suites lake buena vista.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as Star Island for a week with our extended family. Each of the three family groups had their own 2-bedroom unit. The units were nicely laid out, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, an open-concept kitchen/dining/living area, and a balcony (upper floors) or patio (ground floor). Note, these were true 2-bedroom units, and not A & B unit lockouts.

Each unit has a stackable washer & dryer and dish washer, as well as a hair dryer in both bathrooms and televisions in both bedrooms and the living room.

We had a total of three units, each a floor above the other (units 2315, 2325 and 2335). Since the units were immediately across from the elevator, being on different floors was not an issue. However, if we had not been so close to the elevators, it would have been inconvenient. Be aware of this if booking multiple units.

The units were clean and it was a nice surprise to find a jetted tub in the 2nd bathroom as well as the master.

Although we were in Orlando during a very busy week (12/28-1/4), there was not a lot of activity at the resort. If you play tennis, you will be in good shape as there are several tennis courts. There is one pool area, I think they consider it two pools, but it's nothing great. There is also a 9-hole miniture golf area.

The resort does several parties each week and will leave you many voice mails reminding you of these parties, including multiple voice mails about each party, which is a little annoying. Also, if you don't want to hear the music from the bar, make sure you ask for a unit as far from the bar as possible. The music was not overly loud, but when the weather is nice and you want to sleep with the windows open, it can affect your sleep.

Finally, beware of the sales pitch. This is a time share, so they will try to get you to attend one of their information meetings. The person who recruited us told us it would be 45 minutes. When we arrived, we were expected to get in a sales person's personal vehicle and driver to another resort a few miles away. When we told that sales person that we had been told it would last 45 minutes, he said that they last a minimum of 1 1/2 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level unit away from the bar. (Floor level units may be near the back of A/C units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

star island resort has a wonderful pool, good food, plenty of parking, clean rooms, and didn't have screaming kids all over. We could stay there or take our day trips to a dinner theatre, disney, universal, etc. It's one of the most conveniently located resorts in kissimmee, main highway to disney, big grocery store 1 minute away, restaurants all over, it's just perfect. If I had to pick out a 'bad' thing, it would the karaoke every night in the outdoor lounge. I think the guy could turn it down because it doesn't have to reach the entire resort. Some nights it would have been nice not to here it. But we also went to the outdoor lounge twice and had drinks and food and enjoyed it. Bob and Doreen Viking, Portage, Wisconsin

Room Tip: we did top floor, we like top floors so there is no one stomping on the floor above us. we do top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel
Star Island Resort
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list