We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best, But Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deals Save up to 40%
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palmetto Bay, florida usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not the Best, But Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Service: Excellent! Most of the staff was helpful and friendly. I need some extra supplies, and they delivered. Since this is a timeshare resort and NOT a hotel, room service is not part of the deal (as I expected, no problem). You can ask for a room service that includes cleaning, and new towels for about $9. You can also purchae theme park tickets, and book dinner shows in the lobby.

Staff: Good. Since this is a timeshare resort, they did try to offer a "free breakfast" and some gifts for attending their presentation. I understand that sales involves over-coming customer objections, but no means no, and I would have preferred their "Hospitality Desk" would just accept that at without questioning me farther. This lowered my rating of the staff from Very Good to just Good.

Unit: Very Good. I had the "A" side, or something called the "lockoff". It more than double the size of an average hotel room. It has 2 separate rooms that share 1 bathroom. It has a separate bedroom with 2 double size beds and it's own flat screen TV (no VCR). It also has a family room with a partial kitchen (small fridge, sink, microwave, sick, dishes & glasses, coffee maker). There is a small table with 2 chairs, and a queen size sleeper sofa. A patio would have made it better. However, it's comfortable for a 2-adults, or 2 adults and 1-2 kids. Overall, it truly beats the average hotel room!

Grounds: Very Good. The entrance tells you this place is above average: it's a long driveway lined with tall palm trees, along a small lake, over a stone lion bridge, and a large roman type fountain greets you at the lobby entrance. The resort is very large! All over, the grounds are well maintained landscaping with lots of full sized trees, lots of shady areas. There is a large lake on one side, with docks, and rental boats. Oddly, none of the units have much of a view of this lake. Although there is a space setup for weddings by the lake.

Pool Area: Very Good. located in the center of the resort ground are 2 large pools, with lots of nice trees surrounding it, and a big rock waterfall in the center. There is a poolside bar, and live entertainment on most afternoons. There is only 1 small hot tub for the whole resort, which was often crowded. Another hot tub or two around the ground would be extra nice! The pool does offer towel exchange... just sign out for the towels, sign-in to return when done, and there will be no charge. One pool has a shallow area for the children, and they do enjoy it! It would be better if it was not connected to the larger & deeper area.

Other features: the resort also has a large Spa, but since I did not use it, I can say no more. The Clubhouse overlooks the pool area, has a large bar with overpriced drinks and simple foods. The clubhouse is the center for multiple kareoke contests, which seem to go one daily and into the evening. There is also a game room, and convience store.

Gym/Workout room: Excellent! I must mention this because they have the largest, best equipped gym of any hotel/resort I have even visited! There is a huge selection of weight machines, treadmills, cycles, and Stairmasters. Plus several flat screen TV's, and workout music pumping throughout. If someone prefers an outside workout, one lap around the resort, including the driveway, is about 1 mile. There is also a driving range on-site with a bucket of free balls 8:30 every morning, by the lake.

Location: Average, because there are several hotels in the area, all along highway 192. However this one is setback away from the congestion. The Disney World entrance is about a 10 minute drive away. Universal is about 20-25 minutes away. Old Town is only about 5 minutes away. Factory Outlet shops are about 5 minutes away. Along highway 192 are seemingly endless choices for eating and shopping. TGI-Fridays is located at the resort's driveway entrance, and delivers to your room (Friday's is also the best landmark in finding the resort). For in room eating: Publix is only about 3 minutes away. Cici's Pizza is across highway 192.

Overall: very family friendly resort, and a very good choice for a Disney World area week provided you get a price you are happy with.

Room Tip: Anywhere along the pool, tennis courts, and courtyard area (in the interior) will close to all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    369
    162
    102
    100
See reviews for
541
242
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this resort because my mother & father-in-law own a timeshare here. This was our first big family vacation. The rooms (we had both the A and B units) were very nice & very clean. I was a little amazed that fresh towel service wasn't included, except on Thursday, unless you wanted to pay $9 a day. You get clean towels in a cheap hotel every day! There were a LOT of planned activities for kids & I mean A LOT. However, not really much for the adults. My biggest complaint is that ironically the State of FL has no rules about people under the age of 21 being in a bar after 9PM. Therefore, it's left up to the resort to set policies in place regarding the bar areas of their properties. So, here we are, all day this resort has activities planned for kids yet at 10:30/11PM at night you're dealing with kids screaming on the karaoke machine, slamming ping long balls past your face, & bumping in to you - most of which are unsupervised with not a parent in sight. Mind you, this is all happening upstairs at the bar! I have a 4-year-old dons on who was with us and he stayed in the room with Mimi & Papa when we went to the bar. First of all, a bar atmosphere where beer & alcohol are being served is no place for young kids. Second, why do you have your children up at 11PM at night?!? When we complained to the resort we were told it's not a bar...seriously? You're serving beer & alcohol & no food...if that's not a bar, I don't know what is. This resort needs to put some policies in place regarding children in the bar areas after say, 9PM. Not only would you think it would be a liability but come on, can't the adults get a little time away from the kids? Especially when the kids are unruly & unsupervised? Afterall, these are your paying customers...don't keep them happy & you'll eventually start losing their business!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Star Island for a week and had both sides A and B in a unit located in building 19. The unit was terrific, very clean and well maintained. We booked our unit last minute, before reading reviews here. After booking it and looking at the reviews, we thought "Oh, no!". Fortunately we did not encounter any of the problems that others spoke of. We were very happy with the unit itself. The beds were comfortable. There was a well stocked kitchen to cook a simple meal. The bathrooms were all clean, and functional. The furniture was newer and looked nice. We were very pleased with everything. The only thing we didn't like was that the bedroom with 2 double beds is situated right beside a window that faces the hall. Everyone who walks by is talking, nice and loud, regardless of the time, so if you sleep in this room, you are awakened over and over again, by other guests walking by, oblivious to the fact that others are sleeping at 11pm, 1am, 2am, etc.
The resort is in decent condition. It is older, but well maintained. We saw people renovating other buildings, as well as doing simple maintenance such as painting or patching up holes regularly, all over the resort. The pool area is nice, with areas suitable to small kids, families and teenagers. However, there is no lifeguard, and no supervision of the facility so regardless of the posted rules and policies, ignorant guests choose to smoke and blow their stench for other guests to inhale. Even when asked to take it elsewhere, many still smoke around the pool where it is banned. It would be nice to see someone enforce the rules. People also eat right in the pool. Nothing like finding crumbs in your hair after swimming. Interestingly enough, many people drink...and drink...and drink by the pool. There is a bar, as well as a waitress who can bring you your drinks. People seem to have the bladders of camels there. We witnessed many drinking, drink after drink, but they never once went to the bathroom, located right there. They did however go for a quick dip in the pool regularly. Hmmm. None of this is the fault of the resort. Just the guests you encounter there. Even the DJ who seems to be running the show there, at the pool, runs to the back of his DJ area and has a smoke, so I guess he can't ask the other guests not to do the same. We also saw maintenance workers hiding in the shower area, by the outdoor jacuzzi smoking. If you're not a smoker, this may not be the place for you...even though the posted signs clearly state "NO SMOKING".
As mentionned by many others, the karaoke is endless and annoying. We were in a building, located far, far away from the bar and pool. In fact we drove to that area daily, rather than walking in the heat and humidity. But, we could hear the never ending annoying karaoke going on until 11:30pm, all the way in our rooms with the windows and doors shut.
The location of the resort was good, central to many tourist attractions, and close to Disney. There is a Walmart around the corner to buy groceries and supplies if needed. There are MANY restaurants along the Irlo Bronson Hwy, just outside the door of the resort. However, you really do need a car to truly enjoy your stay here, unless you plan to stay just at the resort the whole time.
We were able to get a unit at this resort last minute for $450 for the week, for both sections A and B combined, so to us it was a good deal. However, I would never return if I had to pay the prices posted on Star Island's website. It's a good base for spending a week in Orlando/Kissimmee, and it was a good value for us. However, if we had to pay the resort's going rates, it would definitely not be worth it, and we would definitely go elsewhere such as the Sheraton Vistana Villages or Marriott Grande Vista, which charge less and offer so much more.

Room Tip: Ask to be far away from the loud nightly karaoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had the three bedroom unit -- A and B side. It is very hard to find villas with doubles in the second bedroom, so this was great for our larger than life basketball players. The units are separated by a flimsy door so I can see it would be a problem if you only rent one side. You WILL hear everything from the other side so be warned. The laundry in the B unit is especially loud and right next to the door. The villas are well equipped and housekeeping was responsive within 15 mins. when we asked for our midweek towel exchange. The grounds and pool are very nice. The lake is depleted and down by 3 feet, so don't expect to enjoy the water sports. The jet skis get fouled in all the weeds so don't waste your money. We traveled with a group that loves to hang out at the bar after games. This was next to impossible to do since the resort has very loud karaoke four times a week. I'm all for a good laugh and fun karaoke but once a week is MORE than enough. It drove us away from the bar. The "off" nights are still LOUD with a DJ so don't expect to have a conversation. I wonder if the resort realizes how much bar business they really lose. One of our group had a unit near the pool and they "forgot" to turn off the music at the pool. FInally at 4am he went to the front desk to complain. The response was "oops". The resort is close to Disney and run of the mill restaurants. TGIF will deliver to your room at night but be prepared for the 19% surcharge on everything ordered. We would stay again but hope they get their acts together at the bar.

Room Tip: Only good if you go for both the A and B units. Would not reserve if you are only getting one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This location was fantastic, we were in Florida to celebrate our moms 80th birthday the room and the location was fantastic..it great for families or single adults like my brother and myself.
great pool and the Lounge was really nice.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi tub is a little to high in our room had to climb up high just to get in to take shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

First off I have a 4 almost 5 year old next month. We we're at the bar every other night while grandma and grandpa where not watching him and there where kids all over the bar all night. I would love to have my boy at the bar all night but he is a big enough kid already that he already knows he doesn't need to be out past 11 o' clock at night!!! If you kids stay out past 10 with you singing LMFAO song's with you this is the place!!! I only heard one kid sing CLOSER by Nine Inch Nails!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed July 21-July 24. The first time we stayed at the Star Island Resort and Club (two years ago), we had a modern room with a comfy bed and a whirlpool tub. We mostly stayed with visiting family and did not stay at the resort very much. It was a 1/2 exchange through Interval. The other half of my exchange was expiring, so we decided to return for a quick getaway. This time we stayed in the A side of a lockoff unit. It was much older. We had two full beds so my husband and I ended up sleeping in separate beds for the first time and this was our 6th anniversary. The best part of this "resort" is the location. You can easily get to most Kissimmee/Orlando locations. I would probably not return. Also - make sure not to fall for the Wyndham sales pitch. It is not 90 minutes - more like 3 hours. Just say no.

Room Tip: Make sure you request the rooms with the whirlpools in the room. They are the newer units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#19 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.