We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deals Save up to 40%
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
Longboat Key, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

This was once top notch, but the condo we stayed in needs an update. The master bedroom is impressive with a massive jacuzzi in the room and a large shower space. However, we weren't able to use the jacuzzi because water sprayed everywhere when we turned on the jets. The bedspread was stained and the decorative pillows worn and dirty on the edges. Lovely balcony but no lounge chairs. Must sit by the pool for a lounge chair, but pool is noisy and not conducive to reading and relaxing which is what I wanted to do. I would recommend because it's better than some, but not as nice as others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    372
    163
    102
    102
See reviews for
543
242
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We have stayed at Star Island several times during the past several years. And we have always had an amazing star. Great prices, great service and comfortable large suites! The hot tub in the master bedroom is great and so are the activities for the kids that run all day long. Plus only $100 deposit required at check in and no pre-payment required for your stay when you book online through star-island.com

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We just returned from a week long vacation over Thanksgiving. There were 11 people in our group (ranging from ages 23-60) and we had 4 units. My parents have owned at Star Island (a 3-bedroom and a 1-bedroom) since 1999 and we exchanged the other units through Interval.

Some things about this resort are OUTSTANDING and I want to highlight those first:
-The activities by the pool are awesome for families and there is happy hour every single day. At the upstairs bar, there is Bingo each day at 4pm - our group walked away with quite a bit of cash! There was live music and karaoke each night and the bartenders (especially George) were fantastic.
-The pool is beautiful and was never too crowded that you couldn't get a chair.
-There is a cool outdoor gym facility with a small "track" and a bunch of exercise equipment. This was new since the last time we were there.
-Wifi was free and worked everywhere, but it does kick you off and you need a different password for each device.
-Every unit we had was extremely clean and updated with granite, flat panel TVs and new furniture.
-There is a store on the property that has tons of items if you need anything in a pinch. This resort is in a great location - Publix at the next corner and minutes from the parks.

Now, for the disappointing aspects of our trip.
-The unit we stayed in was advertised on the Interval site as a 2-bedroom that slept 6. Upon entering, we walked into a dark, small space with a teeny-tiny kitchen area. This would be something I would think is a "limited kitchen" and nothing like what we have had anywhere else. (We are timeshare people - rarely ever staying in anything but since we enjoy the larger spaces and kitchens.) There were 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, but no king sized bed in either and hardly any closet space. There were 3 of us in this unit and it was the most depressing and dark place - no balcony, windows looking out to another wall. My dad spent over an hour on the phone with Interval trying to change rooms but no such luck. The problem is that we were on the "Star Island" side of the resort and not the part owned by Wyndham. The front desk was not helpful at all for this reason. The issue is that Star Island needs to communicate with Interval their floor plans so people know what to expect. There wasn't even enough seating in the living area for 6 people - we hardly had enough room with 3 of us. Thank goodness the place was updated otherwise it would have been really awful. We spent very little time in our room - it was building 24 and we got units A and C - the B area is the larger unit with the big kitchen and king sized bed and jacuzzi tub along with a balcony. The entrance and laundry are shared so we had neighbors right there. So my word of advice is if you exchange, make sure you are not getting this type of unit!!! Beware!!!
-One of our units on the second floor had many palmetto bugs that were giant - not a friendly surprise when they are in your shower or shoe! No good!
-WARNING: Do not do the sales pitch!!!!! My parents were told that it would take 45 minutes and you would get a $125 amex card. Nice, right? WRONG! They were there for - you won't believe it - 4 HOURS! 4! We also were going to do the pitch that would take 90 minutes for non-owners - we cancelled since who knows how long we would be there!
-Like another reviewer said, the kitchens have bare essentials. We managed to cook a full Thanksgiving dinner but combined items from all our units. There are other things that are just basic - our unit had not a single hook to hang wet clothes on, and only a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries.

Overall, we had the best trip. The biggest problem was that 2-bedroom unit that was misrepresented through Interval. We will return, but will be sure to double check what we are getting first!

Room Tip: Building 12 has great floor plans, building 19 does too. Avoid building 24!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

1. Poor service - the staff doesn't seem to care about their guests, they don't give you any information about the activities at the reports or in the area, they lied to us and ruined pout vacation.
2. Everything closes at 11pm - the pool, the bar, there's NO entertainment!
3. Screwed up reservations - we spent half our vacation either moving from room to room or talking to the front desk trying to fix our reservation. They locked us out of half our suite the last night saying it was already scheduled for new arrivals so we couldn't pay for it for one more night, but no one ever showed up. The lack of organization and all the confusion completely ruined our vacation!
4. Terrible tv reception - fuzzy on most channels and the tvs had a high pitch buzz the whole time.
5. Wi-Fi - terribly slow and kept kicking us off.
6. Don't accommodate the guests - no extra towels, blankets, or pillows for the entire stay.
7. Bed bugs? - almost all of us woke up with itchy bumps on our legs each morning. The ones on the couch, however, were fine.
8. Pool area - the pool closes at 11pm even though there is never a lifeguard. The spa was out of order the entire week and there is nothing hot about the hot tub! Lukewarm water and there was only one got tub ib the whole resort.
9. The rooms - not only was the decor tacky, but the rooms were unclean. Cobwebs and stains seem to be everywhere.
10. Parking lot - the set up was crappy and you had to spend 15 minutes driving around just to find a place to park.

My stay at Star Island Resort was far from my expectations. Their poor organization and staff ruined mine and my family's vacation. Who really wants to move rooms every night, especially when it was the fault of the staff? Not worth our money and never coming back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We spent 8 days here, 7 of which were in the larger B unit. While the A units are small, it was sufficient for 1 night although we probably would not like a full week in one. When we moved from the B to the A unit, a member of the housekeeping staff came to help us make the move, although we had not requested help. We found the B unit very sufficient of our needs; plenty of room, clean, with everything we needed to live like at home for a week. Lots of activities for the entire family throughout the week also. I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

Since our 1st stay, my husband and I have stayed twice more. It's a GREAT location at a SUPER price! The rooms are clean, spacious and decorated w/taste. Everything you need to make your stay a reminder of home. Overall, the only improvement needed is the friendliness of the staff and this would be a 5star resort!
Will stay many times to come

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are staying at Star Island now. Having read all the excellent and terrible reviews we certainly were aware of its mixed reviews. Some of the negative issues are not apparent ie there are plenty of paper towels, there is no odd smell and the front desk staff were all very pleasant, A/C works fine. However, we decided to take both the A and B side (although we are just 1 couple) and that helps a lot. The walls are paper thin but we are protected from that having both sides of the unit. The A side is very cramped and dark. Don't take the limited kitchen unless you absolutely have to. In asking for the full kitchen you get the B side which is larger and brighter. The facility is very dated and needs major upgrading. There are so many buildings we can't imagine what the pool area would be like in summer season. Now it is just OK and the resort is at the best half full. The pool towels are a joke - like a dishcloth in thickness and small. We take 6 for the 2 of us and that helps somewhat. My wife says the kitchen is poorly equipped - bare essentials - not even a rubber spatula. BBQs are charcoal only. Who travels with charcoal anymore? The property looks very nice on entry but is just average in our opinion - at best a C+. We haven't noticed any bugs and the unit was very clean on entry. The WIFI is a pain - it kicks out very quickly - just not appropriate for today's world. The air conditioners are right outside the bedroom window making sleeping difficult. Would we ever come back - probably not. What really set us off was the language of some of the clientele around the public areas - swearing - vulgar -from many adults. We are not some fuddy-duddy couple - it was just very inappropriate and low class. As well, the tap water is terrible - even a bad odour to it - not drinkable at all so we have gone through a couple of cases of water.

Room Tip: Take the B side only or both. W/D and full kitchen in B side only. We are on 2nd floor and A/C is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#19 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.