We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Available Rate
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Star Island five years ago on our honeymoon. We were hoping to see some renovations and/or new activities. Needless to say, not much has changed in the past five years. We requested one of their newest units, which we received; however, our room still looked outdated with pink walls, carpet, and furnishings. We booked a three bedroom/ 3 bathroom deluxe villa. We were expecting a pretty large unit, but discovered a series of lock-offs that were extremely small. The villa included a king bed with its own bathroom, an adjoining room with 2 double bed and a separate bathroom, and a lock-off that had an efficiency room with a pullout small sleeper sofa, and another small queen bedroom that shared a bathroom. This floor plan was not viewable on their website, so we did not realize how small the set up was going to be. Luckily, we had our own washer/dryer because we had the entire villa, sides A and B. If you only have one side, you must share with the other unit.

Fortunately, all the rooms were clean. We did have to have housekeeping vacuum all the floors when we first arrived, but they were quick to correct the problem. There were a few hairs in the shower, but I just made my husband get rid of them. Our room smelled like smoke, so I am assuming the last guests did not heed the nonsmoking room policy. The linens and towels were worn, but at least they were clean. The kitchen was nicely stocked, but we only used the kitchen a few times.

Aside from issues with the villa, the staff was great. Whenever we needed something, they were very accommodating and friendly. We received no sales calls and were never pressured to attend a time share presentation. We did not use the pool, but it looked clean and well maintained. The location is extremely convenient to Disney, shopping, and restaurants.

Overall, our stay at the Star Island was fine. We usually stay at Marriott properties, so my standards are a little high. If the unit was bigger and the villas were updated I would have rated this resort higher. If you have read other horrible reviews and are hesitant about staying at this resort, I would recommend giving Star Island a shot. I am extremely picky, so if you are not traveling with a lot of people and don't need the space, or if you are not concerned with outdated decor, Star Island is not as bad as others have said!

I hope this helps!!

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — size of unit
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    413
    192
    113
    104
See reviews for
613
270
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is probably the most comfortable hotel I've ever been! I went with my husband and my three teenagers and we stayed in a 3-bedroom 2 bathroom villa. It is just amazing. Every time I went to Orlando I slept at a Days Inn or something similar so I appreciate a lot the huge size.

The main room has a king-size bed, a big t.v., a large jacuzzi, and an enormous shower.

The living room has an even larger T.V. with a DVD, a stereo and a couch-bed in which two adults can comfortably sleep.
The kitchen is completely equiped. It has a dishwasher, large fridge, oven, microwave oven, etc.

The 2nd room has two beds and a T.V.,and the 3rd room has a double couch-bed, a mini-fridge, a coffemaker and a small sink.

I loved both swimming pools and sometimes they were completely empty.
The resort has a lot of activities during the week which we really enjoyed. I liked the location (just about 4 miles from Disney).

My family and I recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Liked — The size of the villa.
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Northern Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We have stayed at Star Island four times now and have never had a "bad" experience.
We now know that a one bedroom deluxe is our perfect size. I don't remember seeing any bug inside our rooms at anytime. We have always found the rooms clean without even a "closed up" smell that we have found at other resorts.
The pool is large with several sections, plus another section of lounges just for sunbathers.
The grounds are kept neat and are wonderful to walk around and explore.
I like the security of the gated access road.
My husband now prefers to stay in Orlando because he has become familiar with the streets there, and especially around this resort. Groceries and restaurants are plentiful and close by.
We would recommend this resort to families of any age or size.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

As usual, we had a great 1 bedroom suite. Love this place. No more harrassing phone calls regarding sales tours. Voicemails everyday telling your what events are going on.

Checked in early with no problem. Check out late with ease. Plenty of parking.

Stayed in Building 22. I requested a 1 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms, because my parents were staying one night. Got what I asked for. Had no problem using the washer & dryer in the public laundry room one night. The public laundry is free. If you get a 1 bedroom suite with 1 bath, you will have a washer & dryer in the condo.

Will be staying there again. Might change the time of year we go due to the crowds & the heat. We will miss the Food & Wine Fesitval & Halloween Horror Nights, but less crowds & heat sounds better to me.

I would recommend this resort to anyone. Even my parents who own a timeshare were very impressed with the room. They complimented the mattress on the pull out couch & the shower stall in the second bathroom. I think they were impressed, which is hard to do.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Stayed here once before (it was our first time in a timeshare of this style and was impressed by the size of the room) so we knew what to expect. This trip, we stayed with friends in one of the newer, taller buildings in the back.

Good: newer, slightly better unit; in the back so a little more quite; added WiFi in rooms
Average: they are trying for upscale glory (spa tubs, granite counters) but missing with horrible carpet, old cheap furnishings, linens and older appliances
Bad: cleaning, it is not that hard. TILEX the bathrooms and do a walk through of each unit before you reopen it, maybe turn the air back on. And nix the optional smoking thing and designate buildings for smoking/non.

Speaking of the A/C, we had a 3-bedroom which is really the king master, and the lockout half with two doubles, and half the unit would not cool. Many attempts to fix, had to bring in fans; lockout half was at least 10 degrees warmer than the other side. Pool was freezing cold, complaints not handled.

Would stay again only because a) we always get a great rate for a week and b) we spend all day in parks/at dinner and rarely partake of the resort itself. FWIW.

  • Liked — Plenty of room for lots of people with kitchen for an affordable price
  • Disliked — Older furnishings, general run down appearance, lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed a weekend at the Star Island Resort and loved it. Our room over looked one of their lakes- it was so quiet and peaceful. Our room was decorated beautifully- It had a big jacuzzi tub in our bedroom. We had a wonderful time.

Stayed August 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

A little not about me: my husband and I are in our 20's with no children. We are Fairfield "Discovery" members - not owners but you get to "try" it for a year or so to see if you actually want to be owners. So this was our first stay at a resort.

I wasn't expecting much after reading several of the reviews here but we were pleasantly surprised.

First, our room was HUGE!! We booked the one bedroom deluxe and it was big!! Loved soaking in the huge tub after the long walks at Disney. The decor is as described - I'm really into interior design and I thought the pink carpet would ruin my stay but after the exhaustion that is Disney I didn't really care that everything was PINK and mirrors were EVERYWHERE!!

I wished it was a little closer to Disney - a few times we got out early and were tired so we wanted to take naps but we ended up just staying in because the drive is a little far. I would recommend staying somewhere closer if you plan on making trips back and forth from Disney daily.

We had no problem with parking but we did not go in a peak season - our room was quiet, we stayed on the 6th floor of building 19 and had no complaints about the elevator, noise, or parking.

I think you should take many reviews with the time that you are going - going in september was very hot and we risked rainy days (only had 2 during our 11 day stay!) BUT there were fewer crowds than had we gone during a peak season. (So of course less noise at the resort)

Also we did not do any of the activities the resort had planned - there were tons but I was too nervous about the sales pitches that I did not want to even go to the pool (we did go once and had no problem though)

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.